Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Huntington Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 527
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
My last of three children has gone to this exceptional school. The teachers are very well qualified, motivational, and help instill creativity in students. Students not only learn by conventional means, but also by conducting hands on experiments in science, learning by cooking, and helping out on the farm. This school has a diverse population of students including special ED and many english as a second language students. The atmosphere of the school is friendly and caring. The only draw back to this school is that it doesn't offer a GATE program, so every year it loses its brightest students to Circle View (OVSD GATE school comprised of 65+% of Asian students). Overall this is a great school!

Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
i'VE HAD 3 KIDS AT gOLDEN vIEW AND i LOVE THE TEACHERS. PARENTS AND THE WONDERFUL FARM.


Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school that provides a great education and a nurturing environment. Parent involvment enables lots of extras like running club and school wide events. The farm is very unique and gives fun learning opportunities you wont find at most schools.

Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
My families experience with Golden View started in 1995 with my oldest son entering Kindergarten. It ended after my 3rd child graduated 5th grade in 2003. We loved the school, the teachers, the families, and the farm. We watched new playgrounds come in and the farm getting many overhauls. We partcipated in most fundraisers. My children still have many friends they have made from kindergarten. (the Brat Pack). Now, I have a 4th child and he will be entering Golden View next year. I am so very excited for him and myself to do this all over again. I know that many teachers are probably gone and I know there is a new principal since we last attended, but I'm confident that the basis of education and family has not changed. Look out Golden View, here comes Mikey.

Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Golden View (3 children) and we have been extremely satisfied with all aspects. I had heard negative things about the open floor plan and this was my biggest concern going in. However, fast forward 5 years and you find classrooms with children who actually sit and listen. From the time they enter kindergarten they are taught on a daily basis that disruption is not acceptable. I have one child who entered another school with a closed classroom and the noise level was a shock coming from an environment where you can hear a pin drop sometimes. The teachers and prinicpal make positive behavior a top priority here and the children's ability to learn follows from that. The PTO does just enough fundraising without bombarding you. And you can't beat the farm. It's a hoot for kids to have recess next to the goats and chickens.


Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2011
- a community member
this school has the best teachers i'd ever had and shows the best performance in teaching each and every single student there..

Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Golden View focuses on developing a well-rounded individual. The many hands-on examples he had in class (such as growing baby chicks) serve to reinforce what is being taught. My son was able to grasp advanced concepts and explain them to me after learning them in class. A highly energetic (and distracting) little boy, his teachers worked with him on his concentration until he excelled in his studies. We have attended for 3 years and have had many contacts with teachers and principals and can say that they definitely provide support. The extra-curricular activities are also excellent, such as the farm, literary picnic, Halloween show, and many others. Parent and community involvement is extremely high compared to what I have seen at other schools. We came from a private kindergarten and were extremely cautious about choosing a public school - that being said, I have absolutely no regrets about Golden View.

Golden View Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2011
- a community member
I went to Golden View, now I'm in 8th grade. I'm very fortunate that I went to this school. Its an amazing school but the only thing that I didn't like was that the class rooms had open walls so you could see and hear the other teachers and students talking and it got very distracting. But they have a farm and it was really fun and taught you to be responsible,They have a monthly art class, weekly music class for 4th and 5th grade and every year they have a carnival. Most of the teachers are very nice and supportive. I wish I hadn't took this school for granite and If you're choosing a school for your child Golden View is the perfect place!


Golden View Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school, amazing farm with animals and a garden, and an open floor plan for the classes...its perfect.

Golden View Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
This school has a good family base and a farm that is totally hands on for a great learning experience. Emphasis is great on reading comprehension and family and student involvement in activities and education. Needs improvement in helping students that are struggling as the school seems to favor those who are doing well academically

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden View Elementary School
17251 Golden View Lane, Huntington Beach, CA  92647
(714) 847-2516
Last modified Golden View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golden View Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top