Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Huntington Beach, CA

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hope View Elementary School 2

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
The last post is what's unfounded and false. There is no monetary gain in Special Education litigation. You will never recoup the money you spend, you are only entitled to compensatory education for the past failure of services. The teachers at Hope are average-good teachers for general ed. General Ed students will get the education defined by the law. Special ed services are lacking due to the tight budget of the district. Their are some teachers who won't provide the additional help the child may need or can't because they don't understand the needs. Many Hope teachers will not acknowledge their duties in IEP meetings, they have false interpretations of the law because our district neglects to inform them. Therefore, they break the law without knowing. Many parents can not afford to be out the cost of litigation and hold the teachers and district responsible. The teachers need to be advocates for the student and listen to outside doctors/professionals. That is where many Hope teachers make their damaging mistakes. That child may never recoup socially, emotionally or educationally. The teachers need to know all aspects of their jobs in order to be great teachers.

Hope View Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
The previously written reviews sadden me and in my opinion are completely false and unfounded. Unfortunately, the school has been cursed with a few very well known parents who would rather sue the district for monetary gain than accept that their child may or may not have a learning issue. These parents have done nothing but personally attack the integrity of the teachers and other staff members that are working under less than ideal conditions dealing with these individuals. I have yet to meet one teacher there who doesn't have each child's best interest at heart. Yes the homework quantity might be less than ideal depending on the grade level, but overall, it's an amazing school with a dedicated staff. In regards to the previous negative posts of the school and teachers, I stand by my statement that their claims are completely unfounded.


Hope View Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Hope View gives teaching a whole new spin, and not in a good way. This is a school which will say whatever they need to, in order to gloss over the glaring problems at hand. They're hypocrisy knows no bounds. They will say one thing and do another. The volume of homework is large. If you want your child to know their math facts and cursive, you will be teaching them these skills. It is totally overlooked as a curriculum requirement. Never have I met a staff at any school that views themselves as above the law, and superior to anyone, and knows your child better than you do. They have a God complex. They believe they are above the law. Unbelievable. Parents voices and concerns are dismissed all too often. Hope View needs to stop taking advantage of kind-hearted Parents who volunteer, and put so many extra hours into the school and their child's education, to get the scores that reflect the school. The teachers need to be teaching!! The obvious corruption and lazy attitude starts at the Administration level and has funneled down to the Teachers, who you thought you could trust. Until Hope View and the District get a complete overhaul, these problems will forever be prevalent.

Hope View Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
It is clear teachers and PTO parents were asked to beef up the reviews here in April. If your child can live through the mean girl/cool dude attitude of many of the kids in 3rd through 5th grade, if you are okay sending your child to a school that is still encouraging unhealthy junk food parties in 2014 despite the rise in diabetes in kids and the increase in food allergies, and if you are okay with teachers acting based not on what is best for the individual needs of her students but the individual wants of the teacher, and if you want your child to have a fairly bland at best elementary school experience, then you will love Hope View. If you are looking for a school that focuses on education instead of homework volume, move along. You will get phone calls telling you the monthly character trait that the school is supposedly working on, but, sadly, many of the teachers are too self-centered to practice them in daily school life. Hope View used to be a wonderful school. Ocean View used to be an amazing district. When did this district become so self-serving that helping kids and caring about their individual needs became too much trouble for the educators and leaders here?

Hope View Elementary School 1

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
I'm not surprised to read about the Sp. Ed problems at Hope View. My child is special ed and failed to make much progress there. Most staff at this school have been no help and show little interest on mastery of state standards. This is one of OVSD top schools and yet it fails at teaching some of our reading disabled children. What's wrong with this picture? You learn a lot about how good a school truly is when a child has a reading problem. Hope View spent more time trying to mislead me to think he was making progress then actually making progress. Watch your progress reports and classroom assessments they may be flawed. Hope View isn't the school it used to be and frankly it's lacking the teachers that do make the difference (only found one so far). You know, the ones that take the extra time, are available after school, honest, and want to help. The teachers who will let you cross the imaginary line that divides parents from teachers upon pickup, you may have better luck with. You won't find Special Ed. help here or at the District. Most posts on April 28th and 29th were by staff. Never a good sign when they have to post comments themselves to keep a good rating. Good Luck


Hope View Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Hope View Rocks! I gave three kids and couldn't be happier than we are at Hope View. Principal is excellent, office staff A+, Manny is awesome, and our teachers are the best in the district. Two thumbs up for Hope View!

Hope View Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Hope View Elementary is a top notch school. From the moment you walk into the front doors you and your children are greeted warmly and welcomed like family. The Teachers have your childs education at heart but manage to teach in a fun way, keeping the kids active listeners and participants. I was surprised to learn that when my daughter missed school there was a Saturday makeup session. This allowed her to make up the missed day and allows the school to get the credit from the state. Now my daughter BEGS to miss school in order to go to Saturday class. There are tons of wonderful activities class wide and school wide that bring everyone together in school spirit. My daughter has a special education accommodation in her record given to her by a previous school where she was treated like a second class citizen. Once we got to Hope View she was treated just like every other student and since being at Hope View no accommodations have been needed. She is reading up to grade level and is eager to do her school work now. Really can't say enough wonderful things about this school!

Hope View Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Hope View is amazing because of the teachers -- but also because so many parents are pro[-active to support our school. We have more volunteer parents than most schools and that is what makes a school run better for our teachers to continue an amazing job TEACHING...!!!


Hope View Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Hope View is an awesome school. We have a middle school child and she was very well prepared for middle school. The 5th grade teachers do a fantastic job of preparing the kids. We also have another child at Hope View and both of our children have had excellent teachers. The staff and teachers work so hard and always do what is best for the kids. The front office staff is always pleasant and helpful. We will be sad to leave and will always have fond memories of Hope View.

Hope View Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Hope View has been a wonderful experience for my kids. We moved into the neighborhood in the middle of 3rd and 5th grade for my two girls. The teachers and students were almost ridiculously helpful and kind with the transition. My 5th grader is now a middleschooler, was well prepared for 6th grade, and has a lovely group of friends she made at Hope View. My 4th grader loves school, friends and teachers. Only reason not 5 stars is that there is not much of a program for gate students. District wants to send kids to a gate magnet school, but we choose to stay here for all the other benefits of this school and community. It would be nice if Hope View provided a more robust gate program, but overall, a great school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hope View Elementary School
17622 Flintstone Lane, Huntington Beach, CA  92647
(714) 847-8571
Last modified Hope View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hope View Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top