Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake View Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntington Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Great teachers that take the time for every student. In school robotics and hands on technology classes better prepare students for middle and high school than other elementary schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

This is an amazing school. The staff is the best- with it being such a small school the teachers are able to create a lasting relationship with the children. Lake View has a great robotics programs for the upper grades that teaches the kids how to build a robot and program it through a computer to do tasks. Lake View is also becoming a STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) school. Last year the 4th grade class was ranked #1 in the district at 94% of the students receiving proficient or advanced on the state math test. We have loved it here and will miss the staff when our child graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

With budget cuts nation wide, no school is perfect. But, we have had 2 of our daughters at Lakeview since Kindergarten, moved mid year during the 2011-2012 school year to Los Angeles, after 5 months in the LAUSD we moved right back to Huntington Beach and to Lakeview Elementary. The difference was incredible, I appreciate how caring, supportive, and capable the teachers are at Lakeview. Both of my girls have had excellent teachers for the past 5 years, if we ever had to address an issue with the Principle it was handled professionally and quickly. Kids are treated as individuals, not a test score, parents are treated with respect. I would absolutely pick this school again, and again if we had to chose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

Lake view is a great school, the staff is great and the principal is wonderful. My children love this school and can't wait to go back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

Enrolled my child here for the 2012-2013 school year and have never had any issues with any other school before this. The children are unruley, the principle is not doing her job well at all my child's teacher in particular feels it OK to gossip with children and call other children out in front of the class and ask them questions reserved for parents, total unprofessional behavior. I went to lake view during my entire elementary school years asDid my siblings it's really sad. I would not recommend this school for a dog, let alone a child! We're moving this summer to a much better school district that rates a 10 as my child deserves it, lake view staff should be ashamed of themselves for t treatment of parents that pay their salaries via tax payer money. I expect more for my child. I feel sorry for my nieces as they will be attending lake view, hopefully they will weed out the principal as well as the teacher's that don't belong there. I would think twice before sending any child there you get nothing but drama from a bored staff that should spend less time gossiping and more time educating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

Lake View is a small school, which gives the staff the ability to really get to know the students. My child is getting an incredible education. The things he comes home knowing blow me away! The principal is caring and great. The PTO is so involved, and can address most kids on campus by name! We love Lake View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I really dont know why this school is not a 10! The Staff and the parents at this school really make it such a wonderful place to be, with smart boards in every class room and new things to try to help develop an ease of learning and the wonderful test scores these kids are getting tells me this school should be a 20.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I love this school, My older son was entering 5th grade from a different school and I was worried that he might feel like a totallt outsider, but it was the total opposite. He was a shy kid who was no longer shy and was so happy he went into lake view. The previous school we were in had a few teachers and a tough principal that looked down at the children. But here all the kids are so happy as well as the staff. I believe that a school is a school but with the Principal at lake and the staff being so motivational Its great being there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

We love Lake View. Like most schools, the quality of the academic program can vary throughout classrooms and grades, depending on the teacher. We have found that the teachers at Lake View take the time to make each child feel important, a key to their academic success. My three children that attend Lake View honestly enjoy attending their classes and the learning environment is enriched through art programs, musical instruction, physical education, computer lab, smart boards in use throughout the school, and most recently our NASA Explorer program. Parent and community involvement is extremely high and the PTO is very tuned in to the needs of the teachers and students. Special assemblies, guest poets and speakers, monthly family nights, and fieldtrips happen regularly. My children had attended 3 other elementary schools prior to moving to Huntington Beach. We're staying put at Lake View. Go Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

I have no knowledge of this school as of yet. I'm moving to the Huntington Beach area and am trying to find the best public shool available. California has some of the lowest scores in the nation. We need to change this, we have to change this for our children. Hopefully Lake View is tryign to make this happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I was shocked to read a negative review about our school. I love it here. My kids have met an astronaut and talked to a space station. Learned about Vincent Van Gough and Claude Monet and their different art styles. I've never heard of Paul Cezan but they know all about him. My second grader learned Multiplication and Division in the second grade. My first grader managed to save $250 in her savings account because she learned the value of money. They know the continents right off the top of their heads. They have learned things at such an early age and retain everything. The school has one of the best staffs and Mrs. Wright is so solid she holds it all together. The teachers are outstanding, caring and patient. The teachers know each child individually which I find impressive. Great parent volunteers always ready to help. Mmmmm... Is that Bad?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I have 2 children enrolled. A 1st and 5th grader and feel that all the teachers are great and caring people. They have made great progress in the past 4 years we have been at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I also had a student in 2nd grade at this school and have an absolute opposite opinion. I thought the school was very organized and I felt free to speak what I felt to the principal. I hear the principal will be leaving the school this year, so it could be a different environment. Our teacher was caring and wonderful and the parent group is amazing. I just got my childs test scores back and she did great. I think the school had tremendous spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

My child is only in 2nd grade but it only takes a few weeks to see that this school is in need of help. The teachers and staff are unprofessional, the principal is argumentitive, the kids are out of control and learn some pretty bad things as early as Kindergarten. Terrible school and I am not alone in this. Most are scared to speak up but they all agree. If you are considering bringing your child here, you might as well kiss their education good-bye.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

+26

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+26

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females66%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females69%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females27%
Males30%
African Americann/a
Asian33%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females50%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females71%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females93%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate93%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females61%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females64%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students62%
Females64%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate73%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 52%
White 30% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 11%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anna Dreifus
Fax number
  • (714) 375-9269

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17451 Zeider Lane
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 842-2589

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oak View Elementary School
Huntington Beach, CA


Liberty Christian School
Huntington Beach, CA




Warner Avenue Christian Academy
Huntington Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT