Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
565 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At The Pegasus School, we are committed to the education, well-being and safety of our students. We take pride in our community, especially our teachers, who continuously exude enthusiasm and dedication to each and every child attending Pegasus. We welcome prospective parents and students to schedule a visit, ask questions, and experience our unique community.
May 12, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Pegasus School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My son is an eighth grader and has attended Pegasus since Pre-K. He has received nothing but positive and nurturing feedback from the teachers and administrators. The teachers recognize the uniqueness in each child, accommodate him/her, and provide a wonderful curriculum that engages learning. Beyond academics, my son has developed essential skills that will help reach him be successful. It's best to visit the school, experience a day in the classrooms, and learn more about this warm community.

The Pegasus School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
"Character is how you act when no one is watching." These are the words instilled into the minds and hearts of every student at The Pegasus School by our beloved PE teacher, soccer coach and mentor. Known simply as, "Coach," this amazing person has warmed the hearts of many at our school, especially my son, who will be graduating this year from Pegasus. Coach has been an instrumental role model for my son since his first year in pre-K. Not only did Coach exemplify the importance of life-long moral values, but he also provided my son with genuine nurturing and support he needed to flourish emotionally. As my son grew older, he discovered his passion in both math and sports, especially soccer. With a positive attitude, a beaming smile, and a distinct voice that can clearly be heard across a noisy field, Coach gave my son, among other children, the tools to persevere, overcome challenges, and exhibit good sportsmanship qualities—on and off the field. My son shares, “Coach will never give up on any of us because he cares for and loves each one of us.” Thank you Coach for your dedication and love for each of our children. You impact many lives daily.


The Pegasus School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2016
- a school leader
At The Pegasus School, we are committed to the education, well-being and safety of our students. We take pride in our community, especially our teachers, who continuously exude enthusiasm and dedication to each and every child attending Pegasus. We welcome prospective parents and students to schedule a visit, ask questions, and experience our unique community.

The Pegasus School 1

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Considering leaving the school next year. Ideally, schools should just be about education. We have had some good teachers, some very average and one downright rude to students. Despite receiving specific feedback, she still remains a teacher here. Well, I guess issues like this will happen everywhere. My issue is I understand it's an independent school and does depend on fundraising but please stop using my child in the classroom as a messenger for fundraising. Don't resort to that level. It appalls me. Thanks

The Pegasus School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
Pegasus is a fantastic school. No school can cater to their needs of all parents and all children, but this school and teachers go the extra mile. And parents doing extra supplementation is going to happen regardless of their school curriculum, it's a mechanism of capitolism. As for three cell phone tower, show me a medical study demonstrating there harmful effects of this tower, versus the cell phone tower used by each of the parents used to write these comments. The school may start slow academically but picks up in later grades, it's public speaking and debate programs are the tops. In the end it all depends on what you are looking for and if you have the means and driving then find that holy grail, we have been satisfied here. Good luck


The Pegasus School 3

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
The school is good if it was only about education but it's not. And that's quite a shame. Very cliquish

The Pegasus School 3

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
We considered The Pegasus School this year but we were disappointed. The pre-k outdoor classroom is very nice and the importance of outdoor learning is awe-inspiring but the academics are mediocre and the school is lacking in the music and arts programs. The curriculum is intended to be for gifted learning. However, the school does not conduct true gifted testing to facilitate gifted learning at all. We have a gifted child but we would not say that Pegasus is for true gifted learning. This term has become misused and so misunderstood. We met with a few current parents to discuss the academic programs and what we learned was that these parents felt the need to provide their children with tutors and extra academic classes regularly after school because they are not satisfied with the academics Pegasus provides. We would not recommend this school for the gifted child and would advise that parents carefully consider the academic vision and current curriculum of Pegasus. It would be just as well to attend a public school, we have been far more satisfied with touring public Schools in Irvine and some in Newport Beach academically.

The Pegasus School 3

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
We joined Pegasus last year and have not been impressed. They have some good teachers but the parent community is not happy right now. The parents and the school are fighting about a cell tower that is on campus. We are thinking of leaving this year as the school has not been very responsive to the parents concerns and also we are very confused about the Board of the school as they have very small lower school representation and nobody knows and/or understand what they do. The academics are average and the school doesn't have a good music or art program.


The Pegasus School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of the Pegasus family over the last four years, and we are extremely happy. We currently have two children at the school. From day one, our kids have come home from school absolutely ecstatic about their classrooms, teachers, and curriculum. Our children are naturally quite shy, however they have blossomed with confidence over the years at Pegasus. All of their teachers have placed a huge emphasis on public speaking and memorization. Their abilities have soared! I can only imagine how great they will be when they are adults. I am also amazed by all that they learn in a given day. From Readers and Writers workshops to math, science, art & PE, they are exposed to so many different thoughts and processes of which they retain. The consistency and flow of the topics that are reinforced from classroom to classroom really do foster a great place for our children to learn. If you are considering Pegasus as an option for your child, I highly recommend the school.

The Pegasus School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
My kids have been at Pegasus for the last few years and we have enjoyed every moment of being at the school. However, this year the energy and enthusiasm at the school are amazing. The new head of school brings his amazing experience and wealth of knowledge that is already impacting the school very positively.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Pegasus School
19692 Lexington Lane, Huntington Beach, CA  92646
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. (714) 964-1224
Last modified The Pegasus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top