Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Huntington Park, CA
Students enrolled: 1,524
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miles Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2012
- a teacher
This school has a caring and supportive administration,faculty and support staff Teachers are highly trained several of which have achieved their National Board Certification. Some of the teaching staff are former students and some students are the children of staff members. The teachers and staff are committed to providing all students with a quality education in a safe environment. It is common for parents who have transferred their children to other schools only to return to this school. In spite of the budget cuts everyone from the paraprofessionalsl,office staff,teachers,administrators,and support staff ,cafeteria workers and noon aides is committed to do the best they can for the students.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
very unhappy with that school my son was there since kinder now he is a second grader took him out of that school because another student punch him the principal did'nt suspend him . SOMETHING ELSE THAT IS NOT RIGHT AT ALL STUDENTS CAN"T SPEAK DURING LUNCH !!!! If they speack during lunch time they get bench and can't play.
2 people found this helpful


Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
The new principal is more involved than the last. The school is much cleaner. This principal cares. I hope she stays a long time. Maybe now the regular school will be as good as the magnet.


Miles Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
My children attended this school for 3 years and the teaching methods are horrible!! I couldnt believe that a child that could'nt even count to 100 was passed to the 1st grade! I transferred my children to a magnet school and the teachers, principal, and staff are far more superior.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
This school is huge but it has so much to offer our kids. The focus is always on instruction. The magnet center within the school has seven teachers who are very dedicated. The focus is math, science and technology and is open to anyone who applies. I highly recommend this school.


Miles Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
Great school i went there myself and my children are going there now.They have afterschool programs that help the children with their homework. have summer intersession school too! I recommended this school.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 05, 2008
- a teacher
Miles is a bug school with its share of mediocre teachers and excellent teachers. the best way to make sure your child is getting what they need is to get involved! The admins and teachers at this school are extremely receptive to positive, contributing parents. The Magnet center is amazing- every teacher in this section of the school puts in so much effort. The bilingual program is also incredible with high test scores and rigorous academics. Both of these programs have a large amount of accountability between teachers who are working within them. The Principal (Gutierrez) at this school has really pushed the teachers to be their best, to raise scores, and better their practice. This school has potential to be 5 star and parent involvement is the key to your child's success here!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miles Avenue Elementary School
6720 Miles Avenue, Huntington Park, CA  90255
(323) 588-8296
Last modified Miles Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miles Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top