Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miles Avenue Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
They have not reached then how to act and speak on school grounds. These kids cus at each other hit each other and are seriously hurting one another

Miles Avenue Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
This group of kids from 5th grade are terrible behaved and are not being taught in school how to respect and Treat other students they say awful things to each other my sister gets told at school by other ten year old girls that they hope she dies and the school did absolutely nothing about it


Miles Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
They are terrible at giving parents the attention and communication they deserve and taking parents concerns seriously

Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
This school continues to do nothing about bullying, daily I hear stories from the kids about them getting dumped into trash cans, girls being slapped by other girls, threatening to beat them up and these are all ten year olds doing this and the school somehow has not managed to get his under control. I have been to the school many times to ask them to take disciplinary actions and they do nothing my younger sibling comes home with bruises very often, dangerous ones such as hits on the heead and stomach. They do nothing except complain and the staff such as the secretary in the front desk who does nothing but ignore parents is extremely rude, do not know what do at this point maybe filing a police report is the next step

Miles Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2012
- a teacher
This school has a caring and supportive administration,faculty and support staff Teachers are highly trained several of which have achieved their National Board Certification. Some of the teaching staff are former students and some students are the children of staff members. The teachers and staff are committed to providing all students with a quality education in a safe environment. It is common for parents who have transferred their children to other schools only to return to this school. In spite of the budget cuts everyone from the paraprofessionalsl,office staff,teachers,administrators,and support staff ,cafeteria workers and noon aides is committed to do the best they can for the students.


Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
very unhappy with that school my son was there since kinder now he is a second grader took him out of that school because another student punch him the principal did'nt suspend him . SOMETHING ELSE THAT IS NOT RIGHT AT ALL STUDENTS CAN"T SPEAK DURING LUNCH !!!! If they speack during lunch time they get bench and can't play.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
The new principal is more involved than the last. The school is much cleaner. This principal cares. I hope she stays a long time. Maybe now the regular school will be as good as the magnet.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
My children attended this school for 3 years and the teaching methods are horrible!! I couldnt believe that a child that could'nt even count to 100 was passed to the 1st grade! I transferred my children to a magnet school and the teachers, principal, and staff are far more superior.


Miles Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
This school is huge but it has so much to offer our kids. The focus is always on instruction. The magnet center within the school has seven teachers who are very dedicated. The focus is math, science and technology and is open to anyone who applies. I highly recommend this school.

Miles Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
Great school i went there myself and my children are going there now.They have afterschool programs that help the children with their homework. have summer intersession school too! I recommended this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miles Avenue Elementary School
6720 Miles Avenue, Huntington Park, CA  90255-5012
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (323) 588-8296
Last modified Miles Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top