Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Inglewood, CA
Students enrolled: 712
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
We had a kindergarten student in Kelso, and were pleasantly surprised by the progress and advancement over the school year. The classroom was really engaging, and the teaching staff were fantastic. I am happy and proud to have our child in a local public school, and will do everything in my power to support it.

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!!! GREAT STAFF AND ACADEMICS IS A GREAT IMPORTANCE THERE, WISH ALL SCHOOLS WERE THE SAME WAY.


Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 4

Posted November 04, 2010
- a community member
I'm currently in seventh grade and i attended Kelso 2 years ago. My fourth grade year there was probably the worst due to the absence of my teachers for about 2 months. She basically failed in teaching us. However, my fifth grade teacher Ms.Magel made up for all of that. Whatever we didn't review in 4th she taught us in 5th along with the other lessons we needed to learn. She was really hands-on and made us want to learn. The school really does strive to interact and help the students. Overall the school is great. I would definitely recommended this school to anyone.

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
My son came after winter break and he has improved in all academics so GREAT. I just want to thank everyone at the school for the patience and the thoughtful HEARTS:)

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 4

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
Awesome School!!!! The best in Inglewood Unified School District. The school is superior academically and now has extracurrricular activities. Highly Recommended.

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
I have a second grader at Kelso School. I think Mrs. Grigsby is wonderful. She cares about the students. Mrs. James has helped my child. She cares about the staff and students. I appreciate the fact that she is approachable and has a warm, caring repoire with all people. You can stand at dismissal or see her on the yard with the students. They gravitate towards her because they sense her concern. I think the majority of the reviews reflect the strong leadership and high expectations that Kelso's leadership with Mrs. James. I think one person's oppinion when the majority say great things, reflects one person's inability to 'have their way', eventhough it may not have been the 'right way'.

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
As a former student of Kelso Elementary school, I must say that I miss the music programs. It was fun practicing for a Christmas show (I got to present my class) and watching my parents in the audience. My nephew now attends the school and it isn't the same. However, Kelso does CARE about their students. They don't just give busywork. One of the assignments was 'Tell your third grade teacher about yourself and what you like to do'. Their report cards don't just give grades. There is a teacher comment section that lets you know why they got that grade and what they need to improve. What we really want for our kids is a good education. College really does start with kelso. I look forward to my daughter starting Kinder next year and meeting the new principal and staff.


Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2008
- a parent
Kelso lacks any extracurricular activities, has virtually no PTA and very inexperienced leadership. The teachers do not seem to work together and the test scores are falling. There are some great teachers here but the principal needs to create a new plan for success.

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2008
- a parent
Great School! Great Staff! Fair, Consistent, and Caring Administrators!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kelso (William H.) Elementary School
809 East Kelso Street, Inglewood, CA  90301
(310) 680-5480
Last modified Kelso (William H.) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kelso (William H.) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top