Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
285 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is enjoying her experience here after transferring from another school. She is excelling in her classes, making friends and also enjoying extra-curricular activities. The principal and teachers are great and the parents are amazing.

St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
My son has had his ups and downs but he is learning so much. Physical and mental maturity is the true measure our children's genius... ...


St. John Chrysostom School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
We have 2 daughters in this school and have been very happy with the quality of learning. The principal Mr. Kim is a rare gem who goes above and beyond what is required of a principal. He is innovative, compassionate, respected and a visionary. He takes the time to know students names and engages them personally. When you walk through the school you will see him constantly interacting with student in the hallways, during recess or school activities. He has an open door policy, is open to parents concerns, suggestions and opinions and is truly dedicated and constantly finding ways to improve the school. He has created a powerful community of learners and genuinely cares about the kids, teachers and overall school community. The overall feel is one of large supportive family! The great thing about the school is it offers small class sizes in a positive, warm, disciplined, safe and nurturing Christian environment and parents feel valued and respected. The school is highly academic, teachers are outstanding, students perform well, parent involvement is high and sports and after-school programs are great! We have had nothing but positive experiences and would highly recommend the school to families!

St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a community member
As a former graduate of SJCS, I was extremely blessed to have been able to be apart of such an amazing community like this. SJCS has such an amazing faculty and staff, and the principal is outstanding! The teachers are VERY dedicated and kind towards all the students. They offer a variety of sports as well as clubs! I must say that I miss the music programs. It was extremely fun practicing for a Christmas show. I definitely recommend this school to family and friends!

St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
The school is a happy and clean place of worship and learning. Quality of education is high and so are expectation from staff and students. Knowing the sacrifice parents and teachers make to positively impact our children, as a volunteer, I find myself wanting to do more.


St. John Chrysostom School 4

Posted June 30, 2014
- a community member
My three girls graduated from St. John's. All are college grads and professional women who are still best friends with their former SJCS classmates. This school has very fine, dedicated teachers and a dynamic principal, all committed to high standards. In addition to Common Core curriculum in a faith based community, school boasts a comprehensive sports program, art, music (choral and instrumental, theory and performance), and foreign languages, focusing on Spanish for most grades and Latin or Italian for designated grades.School partners with LMU Place Corps, which produces exceptional teachers. Strong parental involvement, before and after care, and a safe, friendly campus make this a place where a child can build a strong skill foundation, develop talents, make lifelong friends, then go on to the best high schools. Limited financial aid is available, but tuition is competitive with schools in surrounding areas - SJCS costs maybe slightly less. Weekly Mass, instructions in faith and morals (students of all faiths admitted). Great educational bargain!

St. John Chrysostom School 3

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Institution offers an amazing sense of student nurturing necessary for positive and safe environment conducive to learning. The academic infrastructure requires a bit of work as its not fundamentally structured for student success. For example, mathematics is clearly a task that requires fundamental understanding of one concept before engaging in the next. Its disheartening as a parent , taking the extra steps to ensure your child receives attention / timing to progress is not received academic enthusiasm.

St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at St. John's for the last 3 years. it is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and the school is making great improvements towards the right direction. Foreign languages are being offered at every single grade level including the transitional kindergarten level. I also have a son in the transitional kindergarten and the teacher is very wonderful. She is very patient and works with the parent when the child is having an issue. I really love all the teachers and I look forward to many more years at St. John Chrysostom.


St. John Chrysostom School 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
I have been a part of St. John Chrysostom for five years. When I first arrived, I was welcomed and made to feel a part of a family. The atmosphere was nurturing and inviting. The academics was on point. The teachers challenged my children, but provided support when needed. The school has a new Principal now who brings many exciting and innovative ideas. We offer foreign languages, iRead programs and music instrument instruction. Our athletic department doesn't rely on the normal sports but goes beyond and offers, golf, swimming and karate. I am very proud to be a part of St. John Chrysostom

St. John Chrysostom School 4

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
My daughter and I like St. John Chrysostom and the staff, and we're looking forward to returning in September 2012. The academics are improving, the staff is helpful, respectful, and courteous. We felt the Love of God when we walked in the door. I'm an educator, and I know schools like this are hard to find. St. John is a good school! My hope is that more parents will participate and get involved in their children's learning experience and work with the teachers to improve students learning outcomes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Chrysostom School
530 East Florence Avenue, Inglewood, CA  90301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (310) 677-5868
Last modified St. John Chrysostom School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top