Advertisement
Advertisement

Tarbut V'Torah Community Day School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Irvine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $755,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

We have children in the elementary school at TVT. TVT is an outstanding facility with so much potential. Unfortunately, morale is incredibly poor lately. Leadership and staff turnover and staff shifting (demotions) are rampant. Explanation by leadership to families is unclear and confusing. Some families have children stay for the K-12 duration but many move on as they get fed up. Sadly, secular and Jewish studies are mediocre. Yiddishkeit is lacking. TVT is important for the Jewish community in Orange County. We look forward to celebrating a tremendous turnaround.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This school really helped my son to develop and succeed in Middle School with small class size and teachers who care. We left public school after 5th grade when my son asked for a jewish experience and the people that my son has befriended and the families that we have met are so nice, that this alone makes the school worth every penny. Regardless of the level of observance of the child - this is the place for jewish kids to finally "belong."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

TVT offers an incredibly enriched program and whole-child approach, along with a warm, compassionate environment, that makes this school truly outstanding. TVT instills in its students caring about the larger world and those around us right from the start and teaches excellent values. Our children are enjoying learning and feel empowered to reach their potential and express themselves creatively and uniquely. TVT uses many modes for teaching, most of which are very hands on, and offers an excellent academic curriculum. The class sizes are small, allowing the teachers to give each child plenty of attention and truly get to know each child. Our teachers have been outstanding, and the children have wonderful friends at school. The teaching Staff and Administration are easy to communicate with and have a refreshing "'partnering" attitude with families with respect to educating the children. The Art and Music programs are truly phenomenal, and the PE programs are also top-notch. There are plenty of opportunities for parent involvement on campus, for those that have time or wish to participate in this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

My Daughters started TVT in Kindergaten and both have had an amazing experience to date. Once we started our first daughter at TVT we knew we could go nowhere else. Each year the girls have had an amazing experience with excellent teachers that help them soar. The girls thrive in TVT's academically and Judaic rich environment that helps them achieve academic success but also reinforces our family's Jewish values and help them to be a "mench". Our girls are receiving an excellent education where they are becoming critical thinkers. TVT offers an amazing lesson plan which provides the children not only the basics, but also includes as part of their curriculum, a robust science program, music, art, computers, foreign language, and Jewish Studies. We have one more child who will be joining the TVT family in 2012 when she starts kindergarten, and I am confident that her experience at TVT will be the same as her siblings. TVT's kindergarten set the stage for children to have a passion for learning that will stay with them for the rest of their lives. If you are looking for a private school K-12 please take a tour. You will see why I am so excited by TVT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My son has attended TVT since Kindergarten and is now in the 3rd grade. He absolutely loves school and all his classmates. It is amazing to me all that he is learning and I love how the teachers make each class so interesting and fun. My son gets good test scores and he is very proud of himself, as are we! The teachers really show an interest in the students and want what is best for them. They are always there for you( the parent) and have many opportunities for parents to get involved. I feel that Tarbut has an excellent learning environment and a well-rounded academic and cultural curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

We have three children at the school. One child in high school, one in middle school and one in elementary school. We are reform and not observant. We started our eldest there 10 years ago. Our children have been very happy and have thrived in the small classrooms. One is an advanced learner and one has special needs. The school has accommodated both. You will not find better arts or music programs in elementary or middle schools in the area. We love not having to shlep to hebrew school or Sunday judaica school as it is part of the school day. Having free nights and weekends to do other things is great! Our children are not athletically gifted, but each can play three sports a year in middle and high school. Both our children and we as parents have made good friends at the school. The school is not inexpensive and the local public schools are excellent...If you can afford it, would you drive a Rolls Royce or a Cadillac? The school does have generous financial aid for those who need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

Have a son who has attended the school for middle school and is entering the high school. We love the school, the families we have met, and the amount of access we have to teachers and administration. Our daughter has attended a nationally known public school for her first two years of high school and has just enrolled at Tarbut. Despite being an "A" student in the public school, she feels that there are more opportunities for her at Tarbut. The public high school had some fabulous and very committed teachers. Unfortunately, it also had some who were just awful and one who even bragged that the kids could complain all they wanted, but that the district wouldn't fire her. And that, in a nutshell, is one of the reasons private schools have like Tarbut have an advantage. Tarbut also happens to have an excellent college advisor who is responsible for about 40 students per grade vs. 1,250 per grade in the public school. Expensive, no doubt. Worth it? No doubt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

At TVT, the student body has an advanced curriculum and is ready to take on the real world once graduated. The average SAT score for the class of 2008 is an 1868. (National average just above 1500) 16% of the class of 2008 was accepted to UCLA, and students have attended prestige universities such as: Yale, Princeton, Cornell, MIT, Dartmouth, UCLA, UC Berkley, USC, Brown, Northwestern, and NYU.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

The staff, in general, cares a lot about the students and wants to see them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

I have been to Tarbut V' Torah for 10 years now and through out those years, I have met friends that are going to last forever while still working in a very organized and well structured manner. The curriculum is fantastic and the options or privilidges and level of maturity is there for students who are really going for it and those who really aren't at that level yet. So overall, it is is great school with many oppertunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

I'm a student at TVT, and I feel that the grading is unfair. Some classes are easy A's, while others I and fellow classmates constantly struggle with just to get a B-. Some of the teachers are also very laxed, and seem to care only about the students in their eyes that will succeed in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2006

School is great; tuition is very high, but school is doing the best it can to deliver high quality as well as fun environment. School is modern and new; staff is friendly and cares a lot about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 98%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5 Federation Way
Irvine, CA 92603
Phone: (949) 509-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT