Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northwood High School 3

Posted October 03, 2014
- a student
I just entered Northwood this year as a new student, and I'll rate this school by making a Pro and Con chart: Pros: - The kids are extremely friendly and open to new students; I had a lunch table to sit the first day of school! - This school offers a wide variety of clubs, which is great because you get to meet a bunch of new people who share same interests with you. - The academic program is overall excellent and demanding, and there are ample Honors and AP courses offered. - The student committee often hosts events to make you feel well engaged in the community. Cons: - The class sizes are way to big; you REALLY have to stand out to get the teacher's attention. - Despite the good academic program, the amount of homework is overly excessive. It's NOT uncommon to sleep past midnight even if you don't procrastinate. - The library is disappointing. The librarians there always close it at lunch because they claim there are too many students inside, even though this is clearly false. So there's basically no quiet place where you can study, that has the AC turned on during the hot summer. The librarians are also very unfriendly. Once one of them kicked me out without addressing why.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High School 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a student
Let's get this straight - it's a great school if you are fine with having some of the worst athletics in the state, okay with being considered "below average" in academics if your not in geometry as a freshman, or okay with being in a school of snobby kids who think they are so much better than you, when they are really not. Back to athletics. This school is a joke athletically, all sports, especially football. The coaches think they are professional league coaches, and so do the athletes. Every now and then there are a few good athletes that come out of this school but they are definitely few and far between. There are a couple really good teachers, but the problem is the teachers are either really good or really bad. Then the academic levels. Basically every College Prep class here would be AP or Honors in any other school, and the amount of nightly homework and projects is downright ridiculous. There is also the anchors which are completely stupid, and useless. Like I said earlier, all the students here are snobby and spoiled and think they deserve everything, it's really hard to respect any of them when they don't give you the same respect, same goes for most of the teachers.
1 person found this helpful


Northwood High School 2

Posted February 03, 2014
- a student
I am a sophomore, and I believe the school's teachers are alright, but their class policy sucks because if you are in a classroom that has a bad teacher and class, you HAVE to stay in it for the rest of the year which to me, is a devastating effect on my grades and GPA.

Northwood High School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a student
Sierra Vista is a great school in Irvine District and the United States and California!

Northwood High School 3

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
This school says their athletic programs are good, but in reality, some of the coaches in some athletic programs are really lousy and don't know how to motivate students. In particular, an athletic program which starts with a letter "c", I found the coaching to be very poor, which is pity because the school should really take athletic programs as seriously as their Arts or Music Programs.


Northwood High School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Great school that offers students a full dimensional educational experience that goes far beyond academic excellence! Our son who is a freshman has grown tremendously not only in the classroom but also in the athletic field and the symphonic band. While there are couple courses that can use some better equipped teacher, overall NHS has offered our children a great, full dimensional education.

Northwood High School 5

Posted December 27, 2011
- a parent
No words to describe about Northwood High School Academic Performance. It is simply Astonishing and two thumbs up.

Northwood High School 1

Posted December 18, 2011
- a student
I am a junior. Although the instruction and counseling are decent and the material not too challenging, the workload is overwhelming. It would easily rival (or outrival) that of Asian countries. For so much work, the test scores are still not as impressive as Uni High. Also, the honors students are arrogant and intolerant. An elitist attitude prevails, and the honors students ridicule the non-honors students. Basically, they are ardent believers of survival of the fittest. Worse yet, the school is rigidly structured, limiting opportunities for non-honors students but maximizing those for honors students. There is also a lot of ethnic tension between different groups of Asian students.Furthermore, the students are hostile towards conservative politics. So if you are a non-honors/conservative student, expect to be utterly suppressed.
1 person found this helpful


Northwood High School 5

Posted December 18, 2011
- a student
I'm currently a freshman at NHS, and it is the best experience I could ever ask for. I'm taking both honors and non-honors classes, but the teachers genuinely want to prepare you for a sucessful future. There are tons of clubs to choose from during lunch, and the campus is breathtaking. We have 45 minutes twice a week to ask teachers questions, which is very helpful. I hope this helps!

Northwood High School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a student
The school is absolutely breathtaking; building designs, academics (education received), teachers, and even the people roaming the campus. Northwood is a great school where the competition to achieve perfection is well sought throughout each student. Even as its birth since 1999, it has climbed up the ranks and is now situated to be 7th in the top ten best schools in Orange County. Northwood High is a multicultural high school where top-notch students expand their learning in a competitive environment as well as mature and discover their identity through elective classes such arts (visual, performing), business and technology courses, world languages, science/history/social science courses that go beyond core subjects (Horticulture, Psychology, Economics, Anatomy/Physiology, etc), as well as English courses exceed the core subject (Journalism, NHS Howler Newspaper, Speech and Debate, Broadcast Communications, etc), and also our vast range of award-winning sports. Northwood provides an elite education as well as a community filled with students that are motivated, highly determined, welcoming, and admirable.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwood High School
4515 Portola Parkway, Irvine, CA  92620
(949) 936-7200
Last modified Northwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top