Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwood High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
Sure, these students are all working hard to get into Ivy Leagues. But once they get there, they can hardly hang on. Alot fall behind the rest of the class and graduate with lower GPAs. There is this entitlement thinking once they reach college, that just because they are valedictorian they deserve the world. And once they get a B, they can't cope. They're too perfectionist to be resilient.

Northwood High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
Despite the elitist, cut-throat atmosphere, I did find a few sparkling gems, like the special needs kids. They were the most sincere and loyal folks I've met.


Northwood High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
The teachers are nice for the most part. But the cirriculum is just so perfectionist and rigid (see last part) that it's silly. Making matters worse is that the math classes are like the Common Core before there was a Common Core--it makes simple topics so much harder by forcing students to "discover the concepts and proofs themselves" and write essays on why the binomial theorem is true.

Northwood High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
They hardly offer any APs to lower-classmen, so they have to cram alot more APs into their junior and senior schedules. Also, you have to Ace Algebra II to get into Honors Pre-Calc (and there's no regular Pre-Calc; you'll have to take an extra year of math if you don't Ace Algebra II). Then, you have to Ace Honors Pre-Calc to get into AP Calculus BC (There's no other Calculus--didn't get an A in Honors Pre-Calc? No Calculus). Plus, they don't offer AP English Lang, so the only course you can take to clear college writing is AP English Lit. But before you can take AP English Lit you have to excel at an insanely challenging Honors Euro Lit class that doesn't give you any AP credit. All in all, compared to schools like Mission Viejo High, it's twice as much work--and you'll end up a semester behind kids in college because of the silly AP policies. Even in 9th and tenth grade Humanities, it's a bit much. They're very perfectionist about writing these mammoth term papers called Anchors.

Northwood High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
This is a school where you are judged by your GPA, not your character. Alot of valedictorians bully less-achieved students--and they're still popular. Everyone blindly praises high-achievers, even if they treat more average students as second-class citizens.


Northwood High School 2

Posted June 15, 2016
- a student
Ok, it's safe and clean because it's in Irvine. And the teachers are nice. But it goes downhill from there. Get ready for competition and workload that rival Singapore. This is a school of perfectionists fixated on Ivy Leagues, 4.5 GPAs, perfect SAT scores, Debate Champions, chess masters, violin prodigies, and the Math Olympiad. Still in Algebra One as a Freshman or planning to go to community college? You will be stigmatized. People are impractical--they can't swallow their pride. They'll take out big loans to go to Columbia University and major in low-paid, liberal arts majors, thinking that all that matters is the name and that their PhD in journalism will be worth fortunes just because it's from Columbia. Nope. Financial Experts agree that an Accounting graduate from an average school, say Cal State Fullerton, will earn way more than a Sociology grad from Harvard (not to mention have less debt and a higher GPA). Alas, the ellitists are "above" Cal States. For all the Ivy League bluster, expect to go to college a semester behind kids from other schools, especially if you're in STEM. Unlike places such as Mission Viejo or Aliso Niguel High, They don't offer any practical APs here, like Calc-based Physics, Microeconomics, and AP English Lang. Also, unlike Mission Viejo or Aliso Niguel, they don't let any freshman or sophomores take any APs except for Music Theory, Art History, and Statistics. Which means you'll have to cram more APs junior and senior year than kids from other schools. And the system is so all-or-nothing. There's no regular Pre-Calc; all the B students in Algebra 2 have to take an extra year of math. There's no AP Calc AB, just Calc BC; all the B students in Honors Pre-Calc just can't take Calc at all. Then, to even get a chance to get into AP English Lit (the only course here that clears College Writing), you have to get a B in insanely challenging Honors Euro Lit. Less opportunities, more work, and less learning. Finally, if you're a Conservative Christian, you will be stigmatized. This is probably the most liberal high school in the OC south of the 55 Freeway. Parents, think twice for your kids. There's so many schools like Mission Viejo High that offer a safe, clean, conservative environment where your kids can relax more AND do better in college. Northwood's not worth it!

Northwood High School 1

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
Never have I gone to a school where the administration has been disrespectful to me on multiple accounts. Never have I been to a school where the teachers do not teach yet blame you for your not understanding. Never have I been to a school where a teacher has laughed in my face during a vulnerable moment. Northwood staff is incredibly disrespectful and takes no account/responsibility for anything. I'm a new student to Northwood this year and absolutely hate it! I'm an all honors/ap student with good grades, I've never ever had problems with any school I've ever gone to except for this school.

Northwood High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
Teachers try to promote higher level thinking by placing a problem you have never seen before and have no clue how to do it in front of you and having you and your table group figure it out.. No instruction has ever been given, you need to be self motivated and teach yourself


Northwood High School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a student
I'm a sophomore here and so far I've liked it. If you get involved in school, whether it be clubs, or student government, or sports, you'll enjoy your time much more and feel more connected to the school. Our pep rallies are fun and the dances are too, especially homecoming. The people are nice, and while some think they may be snobby most are pretty chill and genuine. Like every school, there's going to be both good and bad people. The campus is beautiful. Better than any other campus in Irvine, and I'm not just saying that because I go here. People always bag on our athletics, but most of our teams win league and our football beat irvine this year so we're getting there lol. However, the academics here are hard, and competition is very high. Everyone is taking the hardest classes they can and doing the best they can to ace them. So you have to stay on top of that. Other than that, it's a great school with a good environment. I've found that the only people who dislike it are the people who aren't involved and only show up for their required classes. Some teachers are bad, but most are okay and want you to succeed. There are so many events, clubs, and programs that it would be stupid to not take advantage of it!

Northwood High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
My son run into a couple of bad and lazy teachers who either lost many of his work or forget to enter his grade properly into the system even if his papers were graded. When I challenged her on the last day of school, she still refused, citing that the change wouldn't make any difference anyway. WTF. The assistant principal blamed us for not bringing this up sooner. In fact my son repeatedly reminded the teacher to correct his grade.

Nearby schools

Northwood High School
4515 Portola Parkway, Irvine, CA  92620-2200
(949) 936-7200
Last modified Northwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top