Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plaza Vista School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
The teachers we had were of no help at all. Its just unfortunate. If the teachers were helpful the school would be better.

Plaza Vista School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
This school just takes away their confidence and teaches nothing in the name of morality and social ethics.


Plaza Vista School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I heard kids use abusive language here multiple times and no one.. not even their parents stop them.

Plaza Vista School 1

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I would have given this school zero stars if there was an option to do that. If you love your child then please DONT send him/her to this absolutely ridiculous school. The amount of bullying and negligence that our kids experienced here was beyond imagination. Our kids used to love going to school but after going to this one they started begging us to homeschool them. My daughter lost her confidence and was always unhappy and cranky until we switched schools. The worst part is that every time she would go to her teacher with a problem the teachers answer would be solve it yourself and my daughter is only in 1st grade.

Plaza Vista School 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
This school is fantastic. From the principal down to pretty much every other staff member, they are enthusiastic, involved and excited about education. You really get the feeling that everyone who works there really love their jobs and care deeply for the students. I can't rave enough about this achool!


Plaza Vista School 3

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been attending this school since Kindergarten and is now is 3rd grade. Her first year was a good experience. 1st grade didn't go well. The teacher was unrealistically strict and my daughter even left school crying one day. 2nd went better and my daughter loved her teacher. For 3rd grade my daughter loves her teacher and I think she's the best as well. My daughter received a death threat from a fellow student and the assistant principle confirmed it. My daughter doesn't want to go to the school anymore because she says the children aren't nice.

Plaza Vista School 4

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school and wonderful teachers. Kids get individual attention as per their requirements. Teachers make sure that kids are always learning be it in class or extra curricular activities. I have son in grade 6 and daughter in grade 2. Teachers are supportive even before and after school. Teachers communication with parents is smooth and is really helpful in keeping parents up-to-date

Plaza Vista School 4

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
From an educational standpoint, Plaza Vista is a wonderful school. The curriculum is challenging but is well taught. But, I guess with any organization there are some down falls. Some of the staff--Gretchen Hill, S. Waterman (teacher), Heather Phillips (principal), to name a few can be outright rude at times. It can be frustrating when the ones you hope will help be an advocate for your child are the ones who are tearing down their self-esteem.


Plaza Vista School 4

Posted January 22, 2014
- a community member
I was enrolled at Plaza Vista for three years. I recommend this school for children that aren't challenged enough and like smaller schools. Each grade has only around 100 kids, enabling students to make wonderful bonds with each other especially if they've been there since kindergarten. I enjoyed my time at Plaza Vista and have made some good memories and friends. The teachers are very dedicated to their students and some of them are cool. Although I do recall a couple teachers being bias and frustrating at times, even the principal. Plaza Vista definitely prepared me for highschool (I feel like a genius sometimes, something I didn't know I was capable of) and helped develop my thought process and information retainment. Remember: This school is good for children that like challenges and small schools.

Plaza Vista School 1

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
I pulled my son out of this school after 15 incidences (10 of which were documented) in just a few months time. The staff did nothing to fix the lack of supervision or bullying that was occurring on the playground. The lack of care or attention from the teacher regarding this matter was appalling. This is not the environment I expected from a "Blue Ribbon School".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plaza Vista School
670 Paseo Westpark, Irvine, CA  92606
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (949) 936-6950
Last modified Plaza Vista School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top