Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwood Montessori School Of Irvine

Private | K-1 | 51 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Irvine

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

Overrated preschool. We pulled out our child after two partial days and were not able to get back hundreds of dollars in fees. The teachers in the preschool room were disinterested, standing around and chatting among themselves while we observed a new girl (not our child) crying and distressed the whole morning. It was heartbreaking to watch. The teachers looked bored. They exerted very little effort to help new students engage and be part of the class. The school is cramped inside and out - not enough room for all of the kids to play. The school may have taken our money, but we chalk it up to an expensive lesson learned. We would never recommend this preschool to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

We were disappointed in this school. They say they are NAEYC certified but it turns out that they tell parents how to fill out their satisfaction surveys so they can keep their certification. When parents raise genuine concerns, such as uncaring teachers/administration or lack of communication, the school newsletter has an article admonishing parents as to why they "incorrectly" filled out their survey which may cause the school to lose their certification. As if parents are just interested in going to a school that pretends to be certified rather than one that actually follows the tenants of a good school. This is indicative of their approach in general in which they tell you how to parent so that it can be easier for them to take care of your child, including when and how to potty train. Overall I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

If you are looking for just a clean baby sitting classes, then this school is ok, if you are looking for any sort of academics as basic as phonetics,,,,,look elsewhere. It is just a day care with rude/unfriendly teachers...I see the same teachers smiling and conversing with few parents but very indifferent to other parents. Lot of discrimination towards children too....which is so unfair of a head teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

Uncaring and unresponsive school director and teachers. The teachers are not available to talk to parents for their genuine concerns. Do not get fascinated by long waiting list, its not worthit at all. Really disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

This year I enrolled my shy daughter into Irvine Montessori. My daughter is just excelling so quickly, I am so excited for her. She's making friends, gaining confidence and the dance program is sparking love for music we have never seen before. The staff is very considerate. Her teachers and everyone know her by name and are committed to her academic enrichment. I know we chose the correct school. We have watched her build her confidence and now we have already planned for her little brother who starts next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

Fantastic head start for your children. I have 2 1/2 year old that has been attending for a little 1 year and we feel like we have given him an excellent head start in life. He counts, sings, and talks non-stop. He has an active imagination, and I believe it is a result of the school's focus on having creative time and time to learn about other cultures. The staff is attentive and communicates well with the parents. I would highly recommend Irvine Montessori for parents wanting more than just daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

What a disappointment!!! The staff is uncaring and unresponsive when parents have honest concerns and questions. Our experience was horrible at this school. Save your money!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

great school with a staff that works with the whole family, not just your child! The all inclusive tuition is such a relief after having to pay all the hidden fees I've found at other schools. The waitlist is extensive, so think long and hard before turning down an opening, as your only likely to get one chance (learned the hard way with my older daughter).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

My son has been attending Westpark Montessori for a year now. The teachers are very effective with the children and there is no chaos when you walk into a classroom like some of the other preschools I have visisted and research. My son loves going to school everyday and has made great progress in the one year he's been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

They have the greatest teachers!!! Very loving and caring. They would answer any questions that i had about my kid. I would recomment this school to all the parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

I cannot say enough about this school. My son has been attending Northwood Montessori for the past 2 1/2 yrs and he absolutely loves it! He tells us every night he can't wait to go to school. The teachers are top notch and the environment is loving and nurturing. My son has learned so much in just 2 1/2 years......way way beyond what we ever expected. I would highly recommend this school to a parent looking for a preschool or kindergarten for their child. The long waiting list and high tuition is definitely worth it!!!!! It just doesn't compare to your typical preschool. This school is like Havard for little ones!!! But the kids love learning here! It's the best school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

This school has alot of 'fluffy' but lacks the amount of care that is needed for the things is boasts about. Save your money and put it towards you kids college fund where it will be useful ! Sure this place is clean and 'seems' to have a dedicated staff but behind closed doors its a whole other ball game. Even if you complain about something reasonable then you're labeled the 'crazy' parent. Also, do a credential check of some of the teachers, you'll be very surprised at what you're getting for your hard earned $$. Some do not even have an AA and are basically certified nanny's who have been 'trained' through an extension course a monkey can do by paying for it! This is an honest review by an honest parent, please be careful before following the 'hype' about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Wonderful teachers who provide young scholars with great skills for success. The inidividual attention is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Amy Martin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12100 Yale Court
Irvine, CA 92620
Phone: (714) 508-0400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT