Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Irvine, CA
Students enrolled: 908
 

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Creek Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
They allow students to be socially ostracized and they do little to stem behavior that socially isolate students who are a little different.

Oak Creek Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
There is bullying behavior, and they do little to encourage kindness and integrity in play.


Oak Creek Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Oak Creek elementary may be academically a fine school, but from a social perspective, the school is hostile to any child that is in the least bit different or socially awkward. If your child is not entirely docile in the classroom, they will seek to mitigate and constrain the behavior, mostly in a thoughtless manner that demonstrates no consideration of where the issues are actually coming from. The result is an environment that is overtly hostile to children who do not 'fit in'. Also (and related), there is almost zero effort put into addressing the needs of advanced students, and this is especially true in the lower grade levels. Oak Creek seem instead to focus their efforts on the average kid, and to the special needs of children who lag behind. But if your child is advanced, you can forget about the school doing anything at all to provide an enriched environment for your child. Worse, if your gifted child is prone to boredom, they will brutalize him / her with constant correction, but they won't address the underlying reason for the behavior. If your gifted child is socially awkward and has trouble fitting in, they will pathologize it and conduct interventions that while ostensibly meant to help your child, are in actuality targeted at simply expunging a behavior they find troubling. The end result is, for a bright student, the obvious communication that the child is broken, wrong, and sub-standard. In other words, the un-insightful focus the school puts on behavior actually causes more psychosocial pain. And when that pain arises, they won't do anything to actually address your child's feelings of isolation and pain. Other schools have tools like recess buddies, friendship benches, and the like to deal with kids who are feeling lonely and isolated. Oak Creek does NONE of this - they simply correct and admonish. If you are looking for a school that will care for your child's heart as much as their intellect... Oak Creek is NOT it.

Oak Creek Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
I love this school because, unlike many other Irvine schools that are heavy on the academics, this is a well balanced, fun place to learn. The kids are all happy, well adjusted, and the parents well involved. There is the odd bullying issue, the odd bit of trouble, but nothing more than normal. When you get 900+ kids together there is bound to be the odd thing that crops up. All the teachers we have experienced have been wonderful, but if we had to name names - Mrs. Rosebrough is truly amazing, and Mrs. King has an almost unearthly ability to get the best out of each and every student without stressing them out! I greatly appreciate the music teacher this year (strings) who has given my daughter so much confidence in herself. The principal is pleasant and caring, and the kids seem to adore him! What`s not to love, with Toons at Noon and Pizza Parties?! The rewards system that encourages good behavior is wonderful! The only downside - as someone else has mentioned - is the loss of the fantastic science lab teacher from last year, who seems to have been replaced by someone the kids are terrified of! Big shame. You don`t get the best out of kids by intimidating them. But other than that - great school. Even the front office staff - Stacey and Cathy - are lovely.

Oak Creek Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2015
- a parent
Excellent staff , amazing teachers my kids have learned a lot at this school ,I just love it..


Oak Creek Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
We had wonderful year with the 4th grade teachers. They were fun, creative & attentive. The science teacher (who has now moved to another school) was such a great teacher. She made science so interesting that the kids couldnt wait for their next classes & they loved spending their recess/lunch time with the teacher in the lab. The 5th grade teacher and the new science teacher are the opposite of our 4th grade teachers. I am so disappointed. They yell, they swear in class!, they give punishment without explaining what the kids have done wrong (at the end the kids learn nothing). When the students ask why, the teacher would say "Go away!". When the student lets the teacher know about something, the answer is "Don't care". A good teacher is supposed to encourage his/her student & display positive examples to his/her students, and unfortunately this is not happening in my child's class. If these teachers are not happy with their jobs, they should do themselves a favor and quit! One bad apple spoils the bunch! We can't wait for this school year to end quickly..
3 people found this helpful

Oak Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
I totally agree with other reviews about the principal. When you want to meet Mr.Grasso with all your concern, he's gonna close his ears. There are kids who bully other kids but their parents hardly get notice about their kids's behavior. Teachers just expect them to be OK and do not see their behavior. I left the school 2years ago and I think I made a great decision. So happy that my kids are now in far much better educational and social school enviroment!!!
3 people found this helpful

Oak Creek Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
This School Is Excellent in every manner. All teachers are very good and they always encourage kids to excel in academics, music, sports, arts and technology. There are wonderful events throughout the year. Teachers and principal put their 100% efforts to make this school the best and as a parent we should encourage our kids to learn the best from this school. Oak Creek Wise Owl Rocks!
1 person found this helpful


Oak Creek Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy sending my kids in Oak Creek Elementary because this school excels in everything like academic, sports, music, arts, science and health. All teachers are very good and parents can easily reach out to teachers and principal about any question regarding their child or school, even any email sent is responded the same day. There are wonderful yearly events which let parents to participate with their kids. This year with introduction to Common Core standards my kids found the assignments tough but later it was interesting with the support of their highly skilled and very friendly teachers:) I always tell my kids to grab whatever teacher teaches in class with their hands and mind open and they love going to Oak Creek Elementary!

Oak Creek Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
I will give 10 rating for this school, as in last 2 years I have seen drastic change in this school. My kids are in GATE programme and are doing excellent in their studies, sports, music and the credit goes to all very hard working, dedicated teachers as well as school principal whom kids love and respect alot. I will say if this school gets support of more parent volunteers then Oak Creek Elementary will be one of the best schools in Orange County.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Creek Elementary School
1 Dove Creek, Irvine, CA  92618
(949) 936-8550
Last modified Oak Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top