Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

LePort Montessori School

Private | PK-1 | 165 students

We equip our students with *Knowledge for Life*.
 
 

 
 

Living in Irvine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $556,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 15, 2013

At LePort Schools, we work hard to provide a safe, nurturing environment for the children in our care, and take great pride in offering an authentic Montessori curriculum. Our individualized approach emphasizes guiding each child to reach his/her potential. Children go at their own pace and are respected for who they are as individuals. The classrooms are mixed aged (18 months to 3 years in toddler rooms; 3 to 6 years in primary rooms), creating a community where the older children have the opportunity to be leaders in a cooperative environment. By allowing children to choose what work interests them, we encourage self-motivated learning. Self-motivated learning, making their own choices, and teaching children to respect all members of the community are all part of our motto of offering children, knowledge for life. We facilitate excellence in academics, but also believe that all aspects of the child s development must be taken into consideration for true learning to occur. You will find our staff to be experienced and highly trained. Our toddler teachers have their Early Childhood Education diplomas and have completed (or are in the process of completing) their Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) diploma. Similarly, our Primary teachers hold a Bachelors degree and an Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) diploma. The AMI diploma is the most respected Montessori training in the world, carrying on Dr. Montessori s vision. Several of our staff have earned their Masters in Education, as well. Located in the Westpark neighborhood of Irvine, our campus boasts nine classrooms, a large outdoor play area for both our toddler and primary students, outdoor extensions to many of our classrooms, and a secure facility. We are excited to be having renovations at our facility this summer so that our classrooms will be even more spacious and beautiful. The best way to judge whether a school is a good fit for your family is to come in and see it for yourself. We welcome parents to tour, but we don t stop there. Parents are encouraged to observe in our classrooms during class time, before you enroll, and on an ongoing basis in our, Watch Me Work Wednesday program. Usually, when parents experience our classrooms in action, they comment on how happy, content, friendly and gracious the students are and how patient, gentle and nurturing are the teachers interacting with them.

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2009

I absolutely love this school. Both my children attend LePort Montessori and I am very pleased of the way they have both blossomed. The teachers are very knowledgeable and talented. I love the personalized attention that my children receive from their teachers. My children love it there and are very fond of their teachers. On the other hand, their early registration policy is a bit distressing, and out of touch considering the somber economical climate that we all face. However; I know for a fact that they ll be willing to work with you in case of encumbrance or difficulty. Furthermore, I do believe that they have too many days off, and the Daycare option on some of these holidays is very costly. It is cheaper to take that day off from work to stay at home with the children. They should be mindful of the fact that many parents cannot afford to either stay at home or pay the steep fee and offer a much better alternative; especially for those who are already paying for daycare in their monthly tuition. Other than that, the administration staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and understanding. The school is always very clean and I know my kids are getting the best of care and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

fine academically, but nothing being done about frustrating traffic and parking situation


Posted March 11, 2009

Well structed teaching, the teachers are great. But there are a lot of rules where you have to end up paying fees. I feel like they try to make so much money way ahead of time by making you sign up in advance for each summer, fall term. They have way to many school days off for the amount of money you pay. They should at least not make you pay for all those school days off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

A great start up school! My daughter Aanya had stayed with me completely at home until she turned 3 and started school. I was very anxiuos as to how she would adjust. It must be said to the credit of the friendly and experienced staff that they made a big difference to Aanya's approach towards school. She is learning to be more self reliant with each passing day. I highly recommend this school to all parents who are looking for a school to lauch their child in to this routine. I feel it is an excellent foundation to groom and prepare your child to take the next step in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Great school. Caring, talented teachers helps my kids to learn. One thing that frusturates me is their administration. They have too many day-offs (closing school for a whole day for parents-teachers conference is too much for working parents), fine for simple mistakes etc. Also they ask the parents to register for next academic year (which starts on Sep) in Feb itself. If the administration shows little more concern for parent's thoughts, this school will reach it's highest score. Has a clean environment and good set of teachers, which makes me to continue in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

The teachers are great, but the administration is very disappointing. Everything is rules, no flexibility. It makes me feel they are like robot with fake smiles on their face, they do not care about parent feeling, but money. I do appreciate the teachers a lot, that is the only thing keep me going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

My daughter is excelling beyond my dreams. Even with the rules (tardies and signing in) this is far the best Montessori. My son attending a different school in Irvine and I am so amazed at the difference in quality and care he gets at LePort. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND LePort Schools and I have referred many friends. Thank you LePort Schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

This is an excellent program and I would recommend it to any parent. We have two children there and they both are thriving, learning and so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My son Has been in this school for almost a year. he really love this school and his teacher. The staff members are very approachable too. My son has been enjoying his time in school and he is also been learning a lot of things.everything is well organized and his teacher is one of the most talented and undrstanding teacher i have ever met. I would definitely recomend this Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I am a parent of 2 and this was my first time looking for a pre-school for my 4 year old daughter. I am very lucky to find a school that has a comprehensive curriculum and fine staff members. There are many positives that the Montessori has brought to my child and I will continue to keep her here as long as I can. The teachers are committed to providing the children with quality and advanced work as well as a very trusting environment. I love LePort Montessori schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Susan Locke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (949) 833-0339

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
More from this school
  • Welcome to LePort Schools, where we are more than just a daycare and traditional private school. We equip your child with Knowledge for Life – the essential skills and knowledge he needs to thrive as a joyous child today, and as a successful adult tomorrow. Our Irvine – San Marino campus offers the following Montessori programs (with daycare available before & after school): Montessori toddler* (18 mo. – 3 yrs), Montessori primary* (preschool & kindergarten: 3 – 6 yrs), Mommy & Me Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Technology Dr j728
Irvine, CA 92618
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 551-9020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


LePort School
Irvine, CA




Escalade Academy
Lake Forest, CA


Infant-Toddler Center
Lake Forest, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT