Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

939 students|Tustin Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
We are so thankful Hicks is our school. We have seen many new elementary schools growing in the area. As much as everyone are talking and drawn to newer schools , Hicks is an established solid school with great teachers, neighborhood and parents. My kids are very happy and enjoy learning. Some parents may want more quizzing and homework, but I prefer my kids enjoy learning and have positive experiences with teachers and school. The CDC after school program is also a well-run great program. They have thoughtful activities and kids are making friends outside of their classes.

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
We are very happy with Hicks. Academically challenging curriculum, caring staff, diverse student body. I agree with the 10 rating and am happy my boys attend this wonderful school!


Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
Cannot tell enough good things about this school which hasn't been told yet!!!This is surely one of the good things which is actually good. Both my kids went to this school and both are doing excellent in the middle schools. First off they have positive environment and amazing motivational atmosphere for a growing minds. Kids were really involved in the school which showed their belonging. That's not just me but a bunch of parents we are in touch as a common group from same school!. A very big shout out for Ms.Pessy, a truly dedicated teacher...

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter (7) complained that boys were "jumping on her back" and the principal only reaction was to told her "not to go where they are".

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Before my 2 sons attended Hicks Canyon I would ask kids in the neighborhood what schools they attended and what they thought about it. Those who said they went to Hicks Canyon all said ''it's great, I love it'. Now, I hear that every single day when I ask my kids how their day went ' Awesome, school is awesome'. I never said that about my school growing up. Now I know the place isn't perfect, but the lasting positive attitude my sons have about school and life can only be a good thing.


Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son will start next year kindergarten at hicks canyon! So happy to have this school for my son, great personnel, great facility, great technology, I think is going to be a great year for us!

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Coming from a different Irvine elementary school I was really happy to have found Hicks a better school options for my child. I'm extremely impressed at the high levels of education, technology, security, organization, and parent involvement. There's nothing in any other Irvine elementary I've seen better thank in this school. The campus is located in a safe and private area and the building is large, clean and look pretty new. The library is gorgeous, with up to date books and computers. The technology incorporated in each classroom is impressive. This school has been able to provide a much more updated approach for new generations. Kids enjoy using the iPads, computers, etc, which are available for students in classrooms to support their learning activities. Teachers have high end portable microphones and large screens in classrooms to enhance kids' attention and encourage participation. Teachers are super sweet and encourage and challenge kids with positive reinforcements. Teachers are a key part of learning, and I am blessed that my child has great teachers this year, he does not go one day saying: "I don't want to go to school today" and this is so refreshing for me.

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
The principal and the teachers at this school do not care about their students. If your child needs special attention or patience, for that matter, they will not receive it at this school. The teachers are spoiled and allowed to treat their students poorly and are encouraged by the principal to only favor high test scoring children.


Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
This is the best school! Both my kids love it there. They have been going there for 2 years now and I as a parent couldn't ask for a better teachers, better principal and better school. I am so glad we chose Hicks Canyon and we moved here for good.

Hicks Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
While the teachers are great, the extreme parent involvement is annoying, especially during the talent shows where real talent is always sidelined to pick the children of volunteering parents. It's nice that these ladies use their time productively, but if they didn't use it as an opportunity to push their children ahead of others, it will be great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hicks Canyon Elementary School
3817 Viewpark, Irvine, CA  92602-2036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (714) 734-1878
Last modified Hicks Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top