Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

LePort School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

We equip your child with *Knowledge for Life*.
 
 

 
 

Living in Irvine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $556,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 7, 2013

At LePort Schools, we work hard to provide a safe, nurturing environment for the children in our care, and take great pride in offering an authentic Montessori program for infants through third grade, and a rich, stimulating curriculum for our upper elementary and junior high students. Our individualized approach enables each child to reach his/her potential, and we are thrilled to do so in our brand new campus, which is beautiful, peaceful, and safe. Our goal is to welcome not only your child, but also your whole family into our community. You never really know a school until you meet the team that works there, so please do call us to schedule a tour, and to observe in one of our classrooms. Once enrolled, we welcome parents in on a regular basis, for "Watch Me Work Wednesdays," class celebrations, and Parent Education Evenings. When parents experience our classrooms in action, they comment on how content, friendly, productive, and gracious the students are and how patient, enthusiastic, and committed are the teachers interacting with them. We look forward to meeting you soon!

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2009

While my daughter has been enrolled at LePort, I have observed exponential development in her, both intellectually and socially. LePort Montessori provides her with a vibrant center of academic achievement, collective service and fun. The school presses for excellence with great teachers and the administration's responsiveness to parent concerns. By not asking how smart is the child but how is the child smart, LePort is able to guide the student to see their full potential, and equip them to pursue it with passion and purpose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My son recently transferred to LePort after spending the last several years in another private school. The results from transitioning from a large classroom (36 students) to a smaller classroom (13 students) were significant. My son is now more engaged in school than ever. I have seen a dramatic improvement in his schoolwork and in his interest in learning. The teachers are very dedicated and genuinely interested in the success of each student. I think that the most significant change has been my son's attitude toward school -- he is so much happier at LePort than his prior school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

LePort Schools Mission Viejo campus is amazing! The environment is safe, warm, and caring. The staff is exceptionally trained, organized, excellent at communication, and deeply committed to providing the best education possible. Students are taught to think about what they learn--making all the difference in the world. The teachers take the time to review the student's work and everything (and I mean everything) is marked. No busy work is done here--and students learn quickly to finish what they start. Another great thing LePort teaches is organization--which was something that has tremendously helped my children at school, and has greately benefited our family at home. Where else could an 11-year-old read Shakespeare--and love it? The tutoring they offer is great--truly targeting areas of need. The only problem I have with LePort is that they don't have a high school program...yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I first became aware of LePort Schools by looking at their web site and reading about their unique curriculum. I was very impressed and excited to finally see a school who s focus is on teaching the child to think; not just blind repetition of facts and figures, but actually thinking about why the facts are important and how they effect our lives. The teachers have a real passion for not only the subject that they teach, but in sharing their knowledge and love for the subject with their students. LePort sets very high standards and the students rise to the occasion with vigor! My son has flourished in the past three years at LePort and now this is totally true he thanks me almost every week for allowing him to attend LePort Schools! Beat that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I have a four year old and a ten year old at the LePort Mission Viejo campus. After extensive experience with other schools, I am confident that my kids are finally in the right educational home. The curriculum is incredibly thorough, exciting and challenging. My fourth grader is always expected to do her personal best, a first for her. I can t rave enough about the quality of the teachers. They are incredibly dedicated to meeting the needs of each child. My children have only been at LePort for four months, yet the teachers deeply understand their individual needs, learning styles and personalities. They go to great lengths to evaluate how to best teach each child. I wish more children could experience the level of learning the LePort students receive. Heck, my husband and I wish we could go too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

LePort has cherished my child, helping him to find his confidence and challenging his intellect. My son was close to dropping out of public school due to persecution and boredom. In the two wonderful years we've been at LePort, his outlook, his options, and his life have undergone an incredible turnaround. The team of staff and teachers at this school have the passion, and the TIME, to care for each individual child. I feel truly blessed that our family found LePort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I heard about this school from another mom in my pediatrician s office. Coming from other private & public schools, this school outperforms everything we had attended. The curriculum is challenging and individualized for each student. The teacher s communication and follow-up is excellent. They are creative and demanding in a unique & positive way. I wish they would offer 9 12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This is hands down the best school we have found for our children and we are very picky. The only thing that makes me sad is that the school has no compeition because all children deserve to have an education this outstanding. I have never seen such a dedicated faculty. They love children and love educating them. My hats off to LePort!!! 5 stars aren't enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lindsay Journo and Jane Erickson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Knowledge for Life Curriculum
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • High School Test Prep
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • LePort Montessori Preschool and Private School offers more than daycare for infants, toddlers and preschoolers. Our preschool students are led by passionate, expert, caring teachers who have Bachelor’s degrees and specialized, year-long AMI Montessori training. Our elementary/junior high students have small class sizes led by teachers with Bachelor’s degrees, deep subject matter expertise and love for teaching. The unique Knowledge for Life curriculum makes LePort a great private school choice.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Technology, Building A
Irvine, CA 92618
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 544-1047

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Vista School
Laguna Hills, CA




Escalade Academy
Lake Forest, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT