Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy to be entering another year at Crean! My older son is entering his junior year, and my younger is just beginning as a freshman. We have been so happy over the last two years here. The students are friendly, and have a strong shared desire to achieve, and work toward college. There is are very few issues with drugs, alcohol, promiscuity, and when there is an issue, they do not shy away from dealing with it. We love the security of random drug testing. Our boys are athletes, and have had amazing experiences with the coaching staffs of their sports. These men are coaches and mentors, good at what they do on and off of the field, and many in the classroom as well. The teachers genuinely care about the students, are strong and well prepared. Our son has begun the testing process for college entrance and is scoring extremely well, which is an accurate match to what his grades are at Crean. The school is growing , but seems to be keeping up with the growth with new classrooms, teachers, etc. Our favorite part is the ribbon of faith that runs through every subject, not just the bible classes. Prayer is consistent, and real. This school has been the perfect fit.

Crean Lutheran High School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Crean is a special place. The faculty and teachers are enthusiastic and supportive of each student. It has a nurturing environment and is small enough so that no one gets lost in the crowd. Irvine is filled with top notch schools, yet we wanted a less stressful environment for our son, where he could discover his interests without staying up until after midnight simply completing homework. As a family we believe in raising well rounded individuals with strong character, not kids who are only concerned about their GPA, test scores and how they compare to everyone around them.


Crean Lutheran High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter really loves this school. The students are nice, the teachers are caring and the curriculum is nicely varied. It has an excellent music program and it's nice that all the students are encouraged to join the sports teams. They don't have to be the best of the best to join so regular kids get to enjoy the camraderie and joy of playing high school athletics. Of course the best athletes get the most play time and the teams do really well for the school size. This school would get a 5 out of 5 except I was disappointed with the Old Testament class. A Lutheran school should have a good Bible program, one that points to Jesus. Instead the class seemed to focus on those awkward salacious facts. Other than that a great staff and educational program!

Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Really pleased with this high school. Clean, attractive campus. Strong administrative leadership. A teaching staff that is energetic and committed to both the students and the mission of the school. I checked about the cap on international....they get inundated with international requests and have an informal cap that adjusts from year to year--otherwise, could easily become an all-international school. Orchestra, choir, and jazz ensemble are really impressive! This school has got talent. Pretty mellow bunch of students overall. Not a high drama campus, hallelujah!

Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
this school is getting better and better. I think this school need to be deserved better. anyways, hope this school is getting better next year too!


Crean Lutheran High School 3

Posted March 29, 2014
- a student
There is an inaccuracy in the review submitted by a parent on 01/05/14. The review claims that "the international program at Crean caps their international student admissions at ten percent of its total student population." However, according to the school website, there are "120 students from 15 different countries." The school had 685 students as of 9/21/2013. Therefore, its international students make up about 17% of the total student population. To the extent of my knowledge, the school never has had a cap of 10% on the number of international students.

Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
For clarification, the international program at Crean caps their international student admissions at ten percent of its total student population. The demographics of Irvine has a high percentage of Asian families who have spent decades in the community. As for teachers in every subject discussing Christ, how refreshing to find a Christian school that does not stray from its mission to "proclaim the gospel". Class size: 18 to 25 students. Language barriers among the students do exist and tend to separate, but not out of snobbery or unkindness; the youth are falling into groups with which they can most easily identify. Academics have been rigorous so far this year, this according to a bright student who knows rigor from laxity. If you are honestly seeking a campus which recognizes the gem of the gospel, Crean does this. The academics are solid. Crean, a new campus, will always be out-dazzled by other more established private schools, but the heart of this school has great integrity. Optional blended classes promote a college campus approach to learning; students can study while minds are fresh and alert . I wish you well in your search for your child's future school.

Crean Lutheran High School 3

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
one more thing about Crean per my previous review. They have very little drug problem in comparison with some other high schools. They randomly test.


Crean Lutheran High School 3

Posted November 04, 2013
- a student
Religion School,each student must study for bible until they graduate from high school. The teacher are always busy, the international counselor is very nice. Many Asian in this school, especial Chinese and Korean.

Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
CLHS is an excellent private Christian high school. I have had one child graduate from CLHS and another there now and they both have had great experiences. For any critic who challenges rigor see the list of universities that students are being accepted. Last, the environment is caring and safe. School leadership is strong and faculty work hard to teach and connect to students. You don't find that just anywhere. The arts are budding as the school continues to grow and athletics are being well established in the Academy League. Last, the school is all about it's mission and truly tries to live it's Christian mission centered around Christ. My son is in 8th grade and I plan to send him there without hesitation and he is very excited to become a Crean Lutheran Saint. This school could be the best kept secret in the OC and although tuition is moderate it's not the highest in the county and I'm sure it's costly to do business in Irvine. My daughters went on a "shadow day" to get a sneak peak and enjoyed getting an insiders glimpse. I would suggest you should do the same if you're interested in CLHS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crean Lutheran High School
12500 Sand Canyon Ave., Irvine, CA  92618
(949) 387-1199
Last modified Crean Lutheran High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Crean Lutheran High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews.