Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
750 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crean Lutheran High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
Most of the homework is busy work that's unnecessary and not helpful. The homework is very repetitive and unimaginative. The math homework at Crean is fine but homework from other classes is not helpful or sometimes irrelevant to what we are learning

Crean Lutheran High School 1

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
Although some of the staff at this school have been excellent and very helpful, this school (for the most part) teaches you how to spread hate towards people who do not share the same views as you do. I attended CLHS my entire high school career and not once did we have a chapel on how to love one another as Jesus taught. Instead we had our classes cut short multiple times to discuss topics such as abortion in a negative manner in our chapels. And inside of the classroom, where we're supposed to learn, it's no different. Even as early as freshman year, when students are still impressionable, they are taught to hate the lgbt community and every non-Christian. It very easily reflects in how the students act as well. They go on the internet and hate people different then them (such as Muslims), and cyber bully others. For a short time, students from other schools (IHS) and I were being harassed through twitter by numerous students at Crean and when it was brought to the attention of staff, they decided to do nothing about it. This school does not teach the ideals of Christianity (love, acceptance, etc.) but rather brainwashes students into becoming extremists, bullies, and hateful students. We go to school to learn about topics like math, science, english, and theology. We don't attend school to feel threatened and not accepted. I went into Crean as a Christian but left hating the religion because of the childish ways students and staff have acted. Aside from teaching hate, the academics (when taught) were not challenging aside from AP courses. It's extremely easy to get an A at Crean as long as you share the same views as your teachers. My parents were unhappy as well with the curriculum and teaching staff, but Crean was our only option because the district I lived in is not the greatest. If you live in the Irvine school district and are choosing between Crean and public school, go with public school. Your child will learn a lot more and would be challenged in the Irvine school district. Plus they would feel more accepted and happy at school instead of dreading going to school and counting down the days until graduation. One more note, the drug problem at Crean is very bad. They do have random drug testing but it does not help at all. Only a few students are tested even though most students do drugs.


Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy to be entering another year at Crean! My older son is entering his junior year, and my younger is just beginning as a freshman. We have been so happy over the last two years here. The students are friendly, and have a strong shared desire to achieve, and work toward college. There is are very few issues with drugs, alcohol, promiscuity, and when there is an issue, they do not shy away from dealing with it. We love the security of random drug testing. Our boys are athletes, and have had amazing experiences with the coaching staffs of their sports. These men are coaches and mentors, good at what they do on and off of the field, and many in the classroom as well. The teachers genuinely care about the students, are strong and well prepared. Our son has begun the testing process for college entrance and is scoring extremely well, which is an accurate match to what his grades are at Crean. The school is growing , but seems to be keeping up with the growth with new classrooms, teachers, etc. Our favorite part is the ribbon of faith that runs through every subject, not just the bible classes. Prayer is consistent, and real. This school has been the perfect fit.

Crean Lutheran High School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Crean is a special place. The faculty and teachers are enthusiastic and supportive of each student. It has a nurturing environment and is small enough so that no one gets lost in the crowd. Irvine is filled with top notch schools, yet we wanted a less stressful environment for our son, where he could discover his interests without staying up until after midnight simply completing homework. As a family we believe in raising well rounded individuals with strong character, not kids who are only concerned about their GPA, test scores and how they compare to everyone around them.

Crean Lutheran High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter really loves this school. The students are nice, the teachers are caring and the curriculum is nicely varied. It has an excellent music program and it's nice that all the students are encouraged to join the sports teams. They don't have to be the best of the best to join so regular kids get to enjoy the camraderie and joy of playing high school athletics. Of course the best athletes get the most play time and the teams do really well for the school size. This school would get a 5 out of 5 except I was disappointed with the Old Testament class. A Lutheran school should have a good Bible program, one that points to Jesus. Instead the class seemed to focus on those awkward salacious facts. Other than that a great staff and educational program!


Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Really pleased with this high school. Clean, attractive campus. Strong administrative leadership. A teaching staff that is energetic and committed to both the students and the mission of the school. I checked about the cap on international....they get inundated with international requests and have an informal cap that adjusts from year to year--otherwise, could easily become an all-international school. Orchestra, choir, and jazz ensemble are really impressive! This school has got talent. Pretty mellow bunch of students overall. Not a high drama campus, hallelujah!

Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
this school is getting better and better. I think this school need to be deserved better. anyways, hope this school is getting better next year too!

Crean Lutheran High School 3

Posted March 29, 2014
- a student
There is an inaccuracy in the review submitted by a parent on 01/05/14. The review claims that "the international program at Crean caps their international student admissions at ten percent of its total student population." However, according to the school website, there are "120 students from 15 different countries." The school had 685 students as of 9/21/2013. Therefore, its international students make up about 17% of the total student population. To the extent of my knowledge, the school never has had a cap of 10% on the number of international students.


Crean Lutheran High School 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
For clarification, the international program at Crean caps their international student admissions at ten percent of its total student population. The demographics of Irvine has a high percentage of Asian families who have spent decades in the community. As for teachers in every subject discussing Christ, how refreshing to find a Christian school that does not stray from its mission to "proclaim the gospel". Class size: 18 to 25 students. Language barriers among the students do exist and tend to separate, but not out of snobbery or unkindness; the youth are falling into groups with which they can most easily identify. Academics have been rigorous so far this year, this according to a bright student who knows rigor from laxity. If you are honestly seeking a campus which recognizes the gem of the gospel, Crean does this. The academics are solid. Crean, a new campus, will always be out-dazzled by other more established private schools, but the heart of this school has great integrity. Optional blended classes promote a college campus approach to learning; students can study while minds are fresh and alert . I wish you well in your search for your child's future school.

Crean Lutheran High School 3

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
one more thing about Crean per my previous review. They have very little drug problem in comparison with some other high schools. They randomly test.

Nearby schools

Crean Lutheran High School
12500 Sand Canyon Ave., Irvine, CA  92618
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (949) 387-1199
Last modified Crean Lutheran High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top