Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
72 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 90 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alderwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
My Grandson attended Alderwood K-4th. I had the pleasure of taking and picking him up daily and also during that time was able to volunteer much of my time to this school. If your children are fortunate enough to attend this school you will without a doubt realize what a perfect environment the entire teaching staff strives to make for their students. The entire staff in my opinion go way over and beyond any expectations one could possibly have in dealing with and educating our children. The only negative thing you could possibly run into may be occasional gridlock in the parking lot and in my opinion this problem is not created by the Staff. Something to think about!

Alderwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Teachers at this school that I personally have delt with were always able to solve or maybe a better word would be resolve issues regarding my concerns.


Alderwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
It only takes one meeting or presentation from this Principal to know that she is not capable. She lacks personality and if the district has not noticed, the school has not received a National Blue Ribbon recognition since she has arrived. If the staff is not happy, then they do not perform and the children suffer. I expected better of IUSD and a school that has been so reputable.

Alderwood Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
If you consider changing school and if your kids are boy, I wouldn't recommend this school. We left Alderwood last year because of same reasons the other parents posted. It was the best decision we ever made for my kid. We tried Summer Camp at the Alderwood this year, noticed there are many new teachers. Unluckily, we have young inexperience teacher who was complaint every little things about the kid if he doesn't follow her direction or doesn't know what she wants. I don't think many of the teachers there are perfect teacher (I've been volunteering for 2-3 days a week and saw how they teach in the class), but they expect the kids to be perfect!!! Come on!! You are not the God to make every kids to be perfect!!! It's just kids and they make mistakes sometimes and they also learn from mistakes!! And it's Summer Camp! It should be fun for them to learn new things, not criticized by teacher every day. Never ever go back to Alderwood again! Thank you for giving us so much bad memories about your school to me and my kid.

Alderwood Elementary School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
What has happened at this school is very sad. District placed a principal here who has no ability, personality, or knowledge to oversee a school with such a fine reputation. Ten staff members left her first year. Office staff quit mid-year and some teachers will retire early in her second year. Some parents have left PTA, School Council, and principal has assigned her tasks to other staff members and this will increase next year. Wake up, IUSD! Don't keep going the wrong way with your eyes closed.


Alderwood Elementary School 3

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
As this school year ends it is evident that the teaching staff is getting "clicky" and god help you if your child doesn't end up in one of the "clicky" teachers classrooms. The divisiveness between staff members is being reflected in the classroom and the children. Hopefully the principal will make some drastic changes but I don't see that happening. So sad to see the path this school is currently on.

Alderwood Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
My child has been in this school for 5 years and is the 5th/6th combo class. We have been lucky to have the best teachers every year. But I have been most disappointed this year by the Administration. The principal does not participate in any activities. She seems to have appointed 2 asst principals to handle issues. Most parents do not know who she is. One of the reasons this was a distinguished school was parent participation. Now all I hear are complaints. New teachers do not seem to get any support. Who appoints a brand new teacher for a upper grade combo? That is setting her up to fail. The computer access is limited for that supposed GATE class and the students have been bringing computers from home. The teacher has been phenomenal, very creative and excellent in implementing common core. That is the only reason I have not complained.Now my child tells me that the teacher (I shall not mention her name) is not going to be retained. I now understand why many parents of younger children are selling and are moving away to other parts of Irvine.. The number of teachers retiring or leaving seems to be above average for any school. site. Hopefully IUSD will do something about this.

Alderwood Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
Worst Principal. she doesn't know to manage. my kid was in a joint 5 + 6 class. all the kids loved the class teacher, Ms. Ward. most kids in my kids class did not know a complete section in thier California Math test that would have qualified them for a more advanced Math class in middle school. The students in the other 6 grade classes were able to take that section of the test because they were taught. when asked, the class teacher says that the principal asked her not to teach this section. i dont know why the pricipal sis this, but the consequeence of this is that the kids in this class will not be able to get into advanced math classes in middle school. careless staff. i would give this school an 8 / 10 i would give a 0 / 10 for the principal.


Alderwood Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Alderwood seemed great at first. I even volunteered at the school on a weekly basis. I am not the type to hear rumors and believe them, until it happened to me. Bottom line, the principal at this school is not qualified to have that position and does not belong here. The rest of the staff are nice, my son loves his Kindergarden teacher, he made great friends and only attended kindergarten. There were a few instaces where staff was not watching my special needs child be bullied by a child in another class. The staff investigated and the incidents were true, yet they are considering it as "not bullying." As a result, I am moving out of this school since the incident with the principal and won't come back to this school, unless a brand new principal is assigned to it. The district has been good and attentive to listen to my concerns so I will give IUSD another chance by attending another school. If this does not work out then I am considering a private school for my child. Overall the school is great in academics. So sad that we had that happen to us and the principal is the main cause of us leaving the school. Hoping what happened to us will never happen to anyone.

Alderwood Elementary School 2

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I'm very disappointed with the front office staff. Two out of three memebers don't smile, make eye contact or greet you. They don't even know their own forms. You can tell they dony care about their job. I now truly understand what the previous posts meant about the front office.

Nearby schools

Alderwood Elementary School
2005 Knollcrest, Irvine, CA  92603-1600
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. (949) 936-5400
Last modified Alderwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top