Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brywood Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
This is the worst school ever!!! The principle, assistant, school councilor, school rep, and wicked witch kinder teacher who needs to retire. They told my child she was slow they called her a baby to my face and they threatened me with child services if I didn't agree with What they said. They did not let my child interact with the other child. Anytime I would try to ask questions every single person I spoke too would stumble over their words, they would not have an answer. They need to shut this school down.

Brywood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
They do not care about the students, they only care about the money they get for funding.


Brywood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
They are dishonest, they are telling children they are slow, they have threatened myself. They say one thing on paper and another thing to your face. From the principle down, they all lie.

Brywood Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
The school may be good but the basic foundation of Kinder is flawed. Teaching wrong values to Kids. Kids are taught to live in fear and not be themselves. Com'on they are Kinders...they are to be dealt accordingly. If teacher is complaining about most of the student, one can imagine how the teacher will be. I will not put any names but rising the kids are raised in wrong environment. No compassion, no smile...I am surprised how a Kinder teacher could be like that. Its not that funds are not available...certainly can hire a lot better teacher to build the foundation of a student. Kids are in constant fear......

Brywood Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
The principal would not acknowledge individual accomplishments by students. They got rid of academic awards, student council, and any recognition at the Talent Show. Poor behavior was minimized. It was an, "everyone gets a trophy" approach that feeds the lowest common denominator! Eliminating opportunities for kids to strive for better and compete doesn't serve anyone!


Brywood Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I can't believe people are going to rate an entire school,on one office person. If you have a problem with a staff member contact the principal. The point of a review is to let caring parents know how the school as a whole rates. I think the school is great. It's a public school with great teachers and a string PTA.

Brywood Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Brywood is an excellent school the teachers are great. My granddaughter has attended Brywood for the past four years. She is in the special needs class. The teachers have worked very well with her and her needs. She is doing wonderful every year she does better. The you

Brywood Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Parents, every school/teacher is different. Brywood is an excellent school. My son attended K, 1st and now is in 2nd grade here. He has had great teachers! When you read negative reviews remember that every school has grumpy parents too. As a parent, we must work with our kids to help them work towards their potential. Brywood is a wonderful school.


Brywood Elementary School 2

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
Just wanted to second the a parents review that the front office lady is STRAIGHT RUDE and UNFRIENDLY. I am a single working mother. I pick up my son during my lunch. It is very hard to pick up kids when you cannot depend on teachers to release children on time and when your a few minutes late that the lady at the front is so SNOBBY that she give you a judgemental look. She is the first person to represent the school they should really take a look at her professionalism and how it affects the parents.

Brywood Elementary School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
If you are looking for Kindergarten teachers who don't care about your child or his/her needs, then this is the school for you. One of the Kinder teachers really needs to retire and the kids say she is mean - she never smiles and doesn't want to be inconvenienced with any communication or needs you or your child may have. The other Kinder teacher is a minimal effort kind of person, uncompassionate, disorganized, poor with her communication, and very mistake prone. My neighbors warned us about the Kinder teachers and told us to go to another school for Kinder and then transfer there for 1st grade. We should have listened to them. The Principal is leaving so you won't have to deal with her. She supported the teachers in whatever they wanted to do, even when it was totally inappropriate or not in the best interest of the child. One of my neighbors said it well of the Principal, "she doesn't manage her staff, they manage her". We are disappointed that this is what we got for the solid reputation of an "Irvine school".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brywood Elementary School
1 Westwood, Irvine, CA  92620-6200
(949) 936-5500
Last modified Brywood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brywood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top