Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


College Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be so wonderful. The previous principal was amazing with my children. He was so caring and understanding. The principal who came two years ago is the complete opposite. I don't know why she feels it necessary to target some students and do everything in her power to belittle and demean them. I believe she wants those students out of the school. She has done this to one of my children. It seems that she is only focused on test scores. She seems to also micromanage everything. She won't let the kids run when they are outside, and she makes them kneel on the ground when the bell rings. Who hired this person??? The other issue is the front office staff. They are extremely rude and argumentative. It's ridiculous. On a completely different note, the teachers are fabulous. I really appreciate their communication, passion for teaching, and compassion for the students. The teachers are great, but the principal needs to go.

College Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2014
- a community member
In addition to regular/mainstream classes, this school has specialized classes for students learning english. They do not have classes for Mandarin immersion, nor do they teach foreign languages.


College Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful teachers. Front desk staff can definitely use some training for respectful interaction with parents and being helpful.

College Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
I am in the 6th grade at this school. All the teachers are great, but the school's new principal who came 2 years ago basically changed everything the school offered. In awards we got pencils instead of little dog tags with the award name on it. On birthdays, we got more pencils. She even stopped people from bringing in treats for birthdays. If we did something wrong but little, we would have to have a full length conversation with her, not getting benched, recess detention outside. Otherwise this school is excellent. The curriculum is just right, the supervisors are sometimes alright, the homework isn't too much, the works of a great school. How should I know? I've been going there since kindergarten

College Park Elementary School 4

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
This school is great and my son is loving the Mandarin immersion program. My only complaint is the horrible front office staff. They have messed up nearly every interaction I have ever had with them and seem fairly unhelpful in general.


College Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
This school is AMAZING. The teachers are friendly and creative. Too bad the secretaries are so mean. "Fake nice" doesn't count as helpful, welcoming, or friendly.

College Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
We have many great schools in Irvine. We are blessed!! College Park is a wonderful school. Teachers are devoted and they really care. The staff are nice and helpful. It is a friendly school! The principal is a man of great character. There is no perfect school if one expects the school to do all the right thing and somehow generate great students. Education starts at home and parents need to get involved . Support your children and your teachers. The great school is where you are!

College Park Elementary School 3

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great. Don't like the principal. If you disagree with the principal, you can be assured you won't get the support you needed or be treated fairly . I took my child to another school.


College Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

College Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
It has the most caring and devoted teachers!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

College Park Elementary School
3700 Chaparral Avenue, Irvine, CA  92606
(949) 936-5550
Last modified College Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
College Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top