Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodbury Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Irvine

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

Woodbury is an amazing school. They teach you everything you need to. The teachers are awesome. This school is very talented they have musicals, talents shows, and many more things. No one ever gets bullied at this school. Like I said before this school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Been with Woodbury for more than 4 years.... Teachers are extreme... there are GREAT and there are teachers who just don't give their all and it results to a year of waste for our precious children. I registered with greatschools just to post this: WOODBURY needs to control the PARENTS... Too much parents in the school grounds. There needs to be a boundary for parents. Encourage drive-up, pick-up and drop-off.. DISCOURAGE walk-to-the-room drop off. It's just TOO MUCH! Our children needs to be independent. We left Woodbury. We miss our special teachers and a few true friends. That's it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

THE SCHOOL NEEDS REFORM NOW! You have teachers that don't motivate kids to think. The school has mediocre teachers that the district couldn't get rid of. The academic faculty culture needs to change and the only way to break that culture is to change the staff. The previous principal couldn't manage to change the school so she left. My kid went to school there for 2 years. I've complained to the principal but she didn't do anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

The mostly negative reviews prior to the parent who moved across town are more representative of what we experienced at Woodbury. As mentioned below, Woodbury Star tests were lackluster in 2012. However, the principal blamed an influx of new students. Stonegate, on the other hand, had even more new students, yet still managed to increase scores and get an award. Looking at the Great Schools ratings for Woodbury in 2010 & 2011, the average was 4 stars. In 2012 & 2013, it dropped to 3 stars. Just a coincidence that this is when the new principal joined? All schools in IUSD are implementing Common Core, not just Woodbury. Common Core, costing California billions & years to implement, is the worst thing to happen to California public schools in decades. It LOWERS school standards, we ll have no usable test results for years, and it comes with data gathering on our kids. Based on what we experienced at Woodbury, the reviews below regarding the attitude of the principal and the quality of many of the teachers seem spot on. Parents should learn more about Common Core and not just listen to the nonsense coming from the school. They might also consider private or home school options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

We moved across town -- from a highly-ranked school with higher API scores - because we felt that Woodbury's value system, energy, adoption of Common Core standards and academic focus were the right blend for our child. My husband and I both attended IUSD. One of the main upsides of this district is that children emerge with the ability to think critically about information, exercise judgment, and collaborate with others. As senior managers in both our professions, we know that THESE are the skills that kids need -- not the ability to memorize and take standardized tests. Woodbury seems to develop the whole child, academically and socially, and the teachers that I've seen are happy to part of such an engaged community. For the parents that are unhappy with their child's experience...volunteer, speak your mind, get involved. The staff seem open to ideas and feedback -- including the new teachers that seem to be getting a lot of criticism on this board. All great teachers were at one time new...there's not a single teacher I've encountered at Woodbury that isn't doing their best to educate our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Teachers in this school are either close to retirement or fresh out of school. Either way, they don't seem to care much about their students. There are barely any writing homework. I wonder if the teachers even knows how to correct the grammar, because they don't catch grammar mistakes on the corrected works.. My kids are losing their writing skills after they came to Woodbury. The fact that they cannot even be recognized as CA distinguished school tells a lot. The focus is definitely not academics. I am quite disappointed with the new principal who is very showy and has no substance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This school has wonderful facility. I am disappointed some teachers. Some are young and have 3 to 4 years teaching experience. And I do not think they are good at reading and how to teach the kids with the different phonetics. One surprise thing is that as a teacher she does not know how to respect parents. How can she let others respect her and teach kids about the Woodbury's values?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

Here is the issue in my mind: A school should ensure excellence in reading, writing, mathematics, and science. This is the core purpose of a school. Woodbury has many well credentialed teachers. It also has far too many students. Far too many for the school as a whole, and far too many per class. When you place upwards of 33, 34, or 35 young children in a single class - with a single teacher - you cannot realistically expect "excellence" in anything. I contrast this with my sister-in-law who teaches in Connecticut. Her first grade class has 18 students. Yes, she teaches at a public school. Woodbury (like many other schools) is bursting at the seams. Sad. Woodbury attempts to make up for these challenges by focusing on things like a school creed. I am not exactly bothered by this, but I think it is the job of a family to instill morality and values. It is the job of a Church to assist a family with these issues. Woodbury, for some reason attempts to address these issues - of instilling certain moral values - which also makes you wonder about "who" is attending the school and why the school sees a need for this - again, over reading, writing, science, and mathematics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Interesting comment below in the recent news letter by the principal as the API has gone down in the previous academic year. Typical public school attitude - no accountability and the staff doesn't realize their responsibility - just blame it on the students who joined recently. Most probably, the students who moved here came from better schools, and are demotivated due to the standards at this school. The program is not designed to motivate and challenge growing young minds. >>>>> " In addition, students new to our school, on average, generally score lower on the California State Standards tests than their counterparts who have attended Woodbury for a minimum of 3 years." >>>>>>>>>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

After principal was changed, it's not a good school anymore. Now they have over 1000kids, and I dnt think he can handle all of his work. He got sub teacher from 2nd grade, she was supposed to teach 2nd grade 3times of week (that's what we hear from school first) but now she goes just 1time and room mom teach kids other days... I dnt have kids in that class, but If i have, i dnt want my kids in that kind of wired class!! This school does change class every year but they dnt think anything about kids, basically they dnt care about child who attend this school, they just care of themselves too much, try to protect them too much. That's why woodbury elementary's score is getting low and low. Most of mom I know dnt feel any happy about this school. Why we are here bcz we can't move, that's it. You should stay away this school!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

The 5 Stars are for the the wonderful Mrs. Marchese, who made 3rd grade an incredible year of learning and maturity for our son with her firm yet always kind & fair postive reinforcement teaching. We cannot thank her enough for making our final year at Woodbury (relocating to SD) a truly cherished memory and hope the school and her future students recognizes how lucky they are to have her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I couldn't decide between 2 and 3 stars. I would give it 2.5 if I had a choice. We moved to Woodbury community in 2012 and found it to be very kid-friendly. Lots of parks and school is within walking distance. Kiddos spend a lot of time playing outside during afterschool and go on a lot of field trips during school breaks. Can't be more happy about it. Now, not so exciting things. Woodbury is overcrowded. For the size of Woodbury community, they should have 2 elementary school to accommodate kids. There is another elementary school - Stonegate, but it is just as crowded and houses are still being built there. My son started 2012-2013 school year at a very advanced level. He attended an exemplary school at a different state the year before and I was looking forward for him to continue on the same path. Unfortunately, from the very beginning I noticed that he is not as excited about reading or writing as he used to be. He went from writing stories every day at his old school to barely able to compose several sentences once a week, This is what you get when there are 32 kids per teacher! I love the teachers, but they just can't keep track of all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

The one thing I have to say negative about the materials/books is that the students are not given a hard bound math book to take home. It's very frustrating when you have to Google math questions to help your child get through their homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

If you want your children to have an experience that only focuses on s single aspect of education, then you can find that type of school. Woodbury isn't one of them. The creed of Woodbury Elementary is complex and thoughtful, striving to nurture considerate multi-faceted humans that are aware of themselves, their environment, and others around them. Academics are only one element of a larger system of humanity. There are numerous opportunities and a wonderful supportive community of parents that volunteer their time and resources, in pursuit of that goal. If that sounds compelling to you, then come join us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

My son was bullied a lot. When I told the principal about one kid saying that he could have chopped my son's head off, she did not say or do anything about it. As I found out later from other parents, the school does have a serious problem of bullies. I think the attitude of the principal has a lot to do with it. If your kid tends to be an easy target of bullies, this is definitely not the kind of school you want to send him to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

My son has been here for 2 years and we are very happy so far. Parents are very involved with plenty of volunteers. Teachers at the school and the on campus CDC center are caring with good experience. Fun environment. Great school. The teachers make it the awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

Woodbury is an excellent school with excellent staff and a principal who is caring and nurturing to the students and the community. My children love going to school each day. We love everything about this school, education is top-notch, extracurricular activities are great and parental involvement is everywhere. I am proud to be a Woodbury mom and would tell this to everyone I meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I am trying to decide wether I should transfer my 3 kids from Stonegate to Woodburry. My main reasons are a bit closer but mostly the year round schedule seem more attractive. Any recommendations?????? Some reveiws are mentioning favoritisim and not so compationate teachers. What are your thoughts?? Which teachers should we stay from? My kids are in K, 2nd and 4th grade right now. Any insight would help tremendously. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Woodbury is an exceptional school. I would recommend it to everyone that wants a school with high academics, character development, and outstanding teachers. The principal has a nice balance of compassion and leadership qualities. My daughter went to ECR/Woodbury for 7 years. Each year she was treated with respect and was challenged academically. They prepared her to be a good citizen, have high moral character, and be a successful problem solver. I love her Woodbury experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Excellent school with well qualified, caring teachers and staff. Students are challenged academically and focus is on the "whole" child. All students are provided with tools to succeed in the classroom and to be a valuable contributor to society. Compassionate and involved principal supports the staff and student population. Very involved parent community. What a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

915

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

915

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state70%

Math

All Students75%
Females70%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females80%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state76%

Math

All Students93%
Females93%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner91%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females89%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

Math

All Students91%
Females90%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females84%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students78%
Females80%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state78%

Science

All Students81%
Females82%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females86%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

Math

All Students89%
Females86%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 50% 11%
White 27% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 10% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 17%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10am
School end time
  • 2:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Alan Battenfield
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (949) 936-5759

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are very involved in our school. we have a very active pta that promotes school programs and supports many on-site activities. we have an after-school program run by parents. parents volunteer in classrooms and in our media center on a regular basis. the majority of our parents attend school events such as back to school night, conferences, and open house.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 Great Lawn
Irvine, CA 92620
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 936-5750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodbury Cdc
Irvine, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT