Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Irvine High School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
Irvine high is a horrible school. it may have some great teachers but there are alot of students that do druga and staff doeant care. many conplaits about bullying are made but n othing happens. it is a horrible school with horrible rules and a lawsuit may be put on thwm by parents.it is now being ranked as a bad school in i irvine. It is not reccomended to being studwnts here
1 person found this helpful

Irvine High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Overcrowding, lots of academic cheating, minimal student diversity, and poor administration. One of the better California public schools...that's not saying much!
1 person found this helpful


Irvine High School 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school and this is the worst school ever. Office staffs are very unkind to everyone. They were like born to hate students. There is no lunch table but you are not allowed to eat in building except humanity building. You are not allowed to use your phone at ALL even during break and open period. In library, even though you were using your phone to do your hw, they will take away your phone and you will have to pick it up at office after talking with principal. Staffs are just really unfriendly. They dont care about your schedule or your future but their lunch. I went to school in newport beach before my junior year here, and everything was so better there.
1 person found this helpful

Irvine High School 2

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Irvine High School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a student
I go to Irvine High school and I'm going to be a sophmore next year. The school, is outstanding. maybe not as academic las University High, or as high of performing arts as Northwood High, but it is a equal balanced school with a lot of opportunities. The science program is fantastic, being able to take Biology in your Freshman year. Even though there are not as many foriegn languages offered as in other high schools, but the languges at Irvine High can be placed into solid Fourth period, finishing 2 years of foriegn language in actually one year, unlike how other high schools make you actually take it in two years. To tell the truth, I live in the University High School area, however, i chose to go to Irvine High, because i had friends that went there, and I new it would not be as competitive as Uni. I


Irvine High School 5

Posted May 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Irvine High School 5

Posted February 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Irvine High School 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Irvine High School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends IHS and loves it! They make it very easy for kids to be involved and the families that are involved with their kids are wonderful and friendly. They do have a program for introducing new Freshman students, my daughter was a peer this year. Parents that are worried about the block scheduling, don't be! My daughter loves it and it has made even the difficult classes easier because she had time to question if she needs to. There are a ton of AP/Honors classes and the counselors are always available to help out. This is the best of the Irvine schools!

Irvine High School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a former student
IHS is an amazing school and sincerely made my high school experience a wonderful one. The diversity of the school makes everyone friends. Anyone and everyone is accepted. The teachers are so intune with each individual student. They consider their profession their passion and their goals as teacher is to change their students lives for the better. Although some parents may not agree with the block scheduling, (coming from a graduated student) it's so helpful when applying to colleges and having enough time (90 minutes) in the class room. It allows the students to get as much done as possible in the short four yrs they are there. IHS teachers are nothing but caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irvine High School
4321 Walnut Avenue, Irvine, CA  92604
(949) 936-7000
Last modified Irvine High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irvine High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top