Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Irvine High School 2

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
MOVING IS DIFFICULT ENOUGH, I HAD HIGH THOUGHTS FOR IRVINE HIGH SCHOOL UNTIL I GOT HERE THE REGISTRATION WAS A NIGHTMARE THE HELPING STAFF ARE SO BITTER AND RUDE NOT HELPFUL AT ALL, THE COUNSELOR DOES NOT INFORM YOU PROPERLY OF SCHOOL PROCEDURES, IS NOT AWARE OF MANY RESOURCES OR JUST DOSEN"T CARE. THE CONVERSATIONS ARE VERY COLD, IN A HURRY TO HANG UP.MOST STAFF IS EXTREMELY RUDE WITH STUDENTS TREAT THEM WITH ALMOST HATE. WHAT EVER HIGH RATE THEY HAVE IS NOT THE STAFF IS THE STUDENTS AND PARENTS. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH STAFF MANNERS.

Irvine High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
THE STAFF IS RUDE AND UNHELPFUL TO STUDENTS WHAT EVER INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN TO THEM IS IN A VERY UNPLEASANT ATTITUDE.


Irvine High School 4

Posted October 23, 2015
- a community member
School is great. I request principal to force all teacher for using technology and report progress on my Iusd ASAP.

Irvine High School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Irvine High School is not only Nationally and State of California ranked as one of the tops schools, it is also WASC accredited. It was recently reevaluated by the WASC committee and found to be upholding their standards and continuing to provide an educational opportunity for their students which prepares them for life beyond high school. The students are polite, helpful and eagerly embrace their different cultural backgrounds. For the most part, they have a genial relationship between the students and the staff but always respectful of boundaries and confidentiality. The focus is not merely on academics but also on building character and embracing the whole student. Encouraging them to express themselves on the performance stage, athletic field or through visual art. The Administration, Counselors, teachers and support staff are dedicated to the students and their well being.

Irvine High School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
Irvine high is a horrible school. it may have some great teachers but there are alot of students that do druga and staff doeant care. many conplaits about bullying are made but n othing happens. it is a horrible school with horrible rules and a lawsuit may be put on thwm by parents.it is now being ranked as a bad school in i irvine. It is not reccomended to being studwnts here


Irvine High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Overcrowding, lots of academic cheating, minimal student diversity, and poor administration. One of the better California public schools...that's not saying much!

Irvine High School 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school and this is the worst school ever. Office staffs are very unkind to everyone. They were like born to hate students. There is no lunch table but you are not allowed to eat in building except humanity building. You are not allowed to use your phone at ALL even during break and open period. In library, even though you were using your phone to do your hw, they will take away your phone and you will have to pick it up at office after talking with principal. Staffs are just really unfriendly. They dont care about your schedule or your future but their lunch. I went to school in newport beach before my junior year here, and everything was so better there.

Irvine High School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a student
I go to Irvine High school and I'm going to be a sophmore next year. The school, is outstanding. maybe not as academic las University High, or as high of performing arts as Northwood High, but it is a equal balanced school with a lot of opportunities. The science program is fantastic, being able to take Biology in your Freshman year. Even though there are not as many foriegn languages offered as in other high schools, but the languges at Irvine High can be placed into solid Fourth period, finishing 2 years of foriegn language in actually one year, unlike how other high schools make you actually take it in two years. To tell the truth, I live in the University High School area, however, i chose to go to Irvine High, because i had friends that went there, and I new it would not be as competitive as Uni. I


Irvine High School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends IHS and loves it! They make it very easy for kids to be involved and the families that are involved with their kids are wonderful and friendly. They do have a program for introducing new Freshman students, my daughter was a peer this year. Parents that are worried about the block scheduling, don't be! My daughter loves it and it has made even the difficult classes easier because she had time to question if she needs to. There are a ton of AP/Honors classes and the counselors are always available to help out. This is the best of the Irvine schools!

Irvine High School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a student
IHS is an amazing school and sincerely made my high school experience a wonderful one. The diversity of the school makes everyone friends. Anyone and everyone is accepted. The teachers are so intune with each individual student. They consider their profession their passion and their goals as teacher is to change their students lives for the better. Although some parents may not agree with the block scheduling, (coming from a graduated student) it's so helpful when applying to colleges and having enough time (90 minutes) in the class room. It allows the students to get as much done as possible in the short four yrs they are there. IHS teachers are nothing but caring.

Nearby schools

Irvine High School
4321 Walnut Avenue, Irvine, CA  92604-2239
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (949) 936-7000
Last modified Irvine High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top