Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Vista Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Irvine

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

Principal at this school is disinterested, lazy, dishonest, decietful, incompetent. Teachers are terriffic but the administration is very poor.


Posted May 25, 2013

This school must be avoided since the principal doesn't care about the students and how teachers taught. I have friends who's parents complained to the school, but the staff didn't take action. This shows how irresponsible the school is. Although their music program is good, the others are horrible. For parents who wants to enroll in a middle school and live in the northwood area, don't enroll in this middle school.


Posted May 5, 2013

After having my child attend Sierra Vista for the past 2 years, I can say that it was overall a good experience. The curriculum is challenging and varied. Most of the teachers are very good. There were 2 that I would say need to be replaced or retrained. The vice principal is strict but fair, and coming from a high school, he prepares the kids for what's to come and what is tolerated. The school was a bit crowded, but they managed to keep things organized and even the parking wasn't too crazy. In 2013-2014, the number of students will be cut in half to 650 with Jeffrey Trail MS opening. The only thing I would recommend is that the teachers educate themselves more about Irvine High's requirements and courses, as most SV teachers seem to know all about Northwood and very little about Irvine, and there are SV students that will go to Irvine. If your child will attend Sierra Vista, they will be at a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

Sierra Vista Middle School is the worst middle school in the world. It's teaching ways is sucish and is always to crowded. Do not go to this school. it is worth ZERO stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

I have had a pretty good experience at the school. They have a lot of programs that keep us students active throughout the year. The teachers are great(with a few exceptions). There isn't too much work but there isn't too little either.Also, the vice principal is great! He's a lot more hands on than the principal, who you barely ever see. Now for the complaints. It is VERY crowded. Dressing out for PE is a nightmare, there's barely any room. Even though the school has two lunch areas, some students eat in classrooms or even sit on the ground. And don't even get me started on the lunch line. You have to run if you don't want a 15 minute wait and only 10-15 minutes to eat. Aside from crowding, you've got to be pretty social if you're new in 8th grade, or expect a lonely year. I was that person for the first. Sitting alone at lunch can be depressing. And finally, I feel that some classes don't get the same level of education as others. I happen to be in some of the more "lucky" classes, except for PE, which all of the teachers have a COMPLETELY different program, which isn't fair to some. That's about it. A good school, but as you can see, some problems that should be addressed.


Posted March 4, 2012

I have had the worst experience at Sierra vista a middle school. I have attended six schools and this is by far the worst.I hate the teaching styles and am miserable with all of my mean classmates. There is so much bullying at this school and have never seen so much over crowding. This is the only school I have been to and not been able to get a good education. If I could I would give this school zero stars. Please save your children and yourself the misery and do not send them to Sierra vista middle school.


Posted October 13, 2011

I will be coming to the school in January. My parents told me a lot of great things about this school. I am going to be finishing the 8th grade at this school and i'm very excited and i'm looking forward to it.


Posted October 8, 2011

SIERAA VISTA IS A GREAT SCHOOL! Great teachers, plus a friendly environment to learn and make new friends..


Posted October 8, 2011

Sierra Vista is a fantastic school that has helped my son very much. My only disappointment is that this school is too crowded but other than that, Sierra Vista is the best Junior High School in Irvine
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2011

Sierra Vista is an excellent school! i am currently an eighth grader and i absolutely LOVE it here! the teacher and staff are very friendly and helpful. they will answer any questions in areas you are concerned about. in the past two years, i have only had one unprofessional math teacher (that everyone avoids) but apart from that, all the other teachers are absolutely wonderful! they will honestly go out of their way to help your child succeed with the help of a new "Tutorial" program that is required for all students. if you are looking for a school that will not only boost your students grades, but also help with social skills, Sierra Vista is the school for you! i promise you wont regret it.


Posted June 21, 2009

Sierra Vista is an outstanding school! My daughter transferred from Lakeside, and we both agree that this school is much better. The teachers do not teach boring and unused knowledge but most teachers teach things needed in the future. This school prepares students very well for Northwood High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Overcrowding defines the misery of this middle school. Join the Sierra Vista crowd, get lost, and be herded through middle school by Mr. No, the Vice Principle. Some great teachers. It's a tougher transition for students to this middle school than to Northwood High School. The facility is as jammed as the 5 freeway on a Friday evening. Special needs kids struggle more hear than the other Irvine /Middle Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

My son and daughter goes to this school -- excellent teachers and curriculms! Out of all the middle schools in Irvine, it is the best. Many say Venado and Rancho San Joaquin Middle Schools are better-- however, those are old talks/rumors. I am very glad my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I've never had a problem!! Don't know what all the deal is with negative comments and the thought that Sierra Vista is a 'holding bin' till high school. True about the vice principal being much more hands on than the principal but so what? I love so much about this school and so many of the teachers are absolutely awesome!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

My son has had trouble with his grades even though he scores very well on his state tests. I have been impressed with the teachers as they go out of their way to help him. The problem I have is with the vice principle who is not exactly a people person and the principle whom is rarely if ever seen. But the teachers make up for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

I think that Sierra Vista is a great place for learning with mind challenging and hands on ways of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

The school is underfunded and overcrowed. I had heard negative comments about the school but have found my son is doing OK, he had always gotten A's but now is struggling with getting B's. However I can't really say whether it is him adjusting to class changing and being more responsible or wheter it is the school. He loves the guitar class and his math teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I am not very familiar with this school yet, as we moved into this school's boundaries in the middle of April. I can tell you I was not impressed, the teachers and principal did not seem to care about the students the way they did in my son's previous school in Maryland. We have moved around a lot, and even during mid year moves such as this one my son has always obtained straight a's, but at Sierra Vista his grades were considerably worse. Since he has always scored in the 98-99th percentile on his state tests, I can't help but wonder what made this transition so hard - and it's not that the school's in California are academically harder, as my two daughters maintained their grades at their new Californian elementary school in the same district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Avoid at all costs! Very poor teaching and administrative staff. Many students coming into high school are very ill-prepared for the curriculum. The principal does not appear to like kids at all and is unable to build a teaching team that is focused, competent, and professional. Music program is good, art program is awful. Range of electives is poor. School rules not enforced or enforced inconsistently.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

964

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

964

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

605 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

564 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females91%
Males88%
African American64%
Asian93%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

Math

All Students84%
Females87%
Males79%
African American46%
Asian90%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability54%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state99%

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females90%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state88%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students86%
Females85%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state85%

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students89%
Females88%
Males89%
African American58%
Asian94%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

Science

All Students94%
Females93%
Males96%
African American82%
Asian98%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 52% 11%
White 35% 26%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Liberty
Irvine, CA 92620
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 936-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT