Students enrolled 1087
School leader Lynn Matassarin
Transportation options Yes
District Irvine Unified School District

Contact this school

2 Liberty
Irvine, CA 92620

School website
(949) 936-6600
(949) 936-6609
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Sierra Vista Middle School address.

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

September 11, 2014
This school has good teachers overall except the math dept. Principal pretends that she cares about students only so she will not get complained to the district. Parents have complained about certain incompetent math teachers but administration just takes teacher's side, will even resort to insinuating that parents are stupid when the parents have doctors' degrees from top/Ivy League schools in areas of science/math. Great parent involvement and good music programs. Don't come here if you're looking for good science/math programs.

- submitted by a parent
December 13, 2013
Principal at this school is disinterested, lazy, dishonest, decietful, incompetent. Teachers are terriffic but the administration is very poor.

- submitted by a community member
May 25, 2013
This school must be avoided since the principal doesn't care about the students and how teachers taught. I have friends who's parents complained to the school, but the staff didn't take action. This shows how irresponsible the school is. Although their music program is good, the others are horrible. For parents who wants to enroll in a middle school and live in the northwood area, don't enroll in this middle school.

- submitted by a community member
May 05, 2013
After having my child attend Sierra Vista for the past 2 years, I can say that it was overall a good experience. The curriculum is challenging and varied. Most of the teachers are very good. There were 2 that I would say need to be replaced or retrained. The vice principal is strict but fair, and coming from a high school, he prepares the kids for what's to come and what is tolerated. The school was a bit crowded, but they managed to keep things organized and even the parking wasn't too crazy. In 2013-2014, the number of students will be cut in half to 650 with Jeffrey Trail MS opening. The only thing I would recommend is that the teachers educate themselves more about Irvine High's requirements and courses, as most SV teachers seem to know all about Northwood and very little about Irvine, and there are SV students that will go to Irvine. If your child will attend Sierra Vista, they will be at a very good school.

- submitted by a parent
December 13, 2012
Sierra Vista Middle School is the worst middle school in the world. It's teaching ways is sucish and is always to crowded. Do not go to this school. it is worth ZERO stars.

- submitted by a parent
March 11, 2012
I have had a pretty good experience at the school. They have a lot of programs that keep us students active throughout the year. The teachers are great(with a few exceptions). There isn't too much work but there isn't too little either.Also, the vice principal is great! He's a lot more hands on than the principal, who you barely ever see. Now for the complaints. It is VERY crowded. Dressing out for PE is a nightmare, there's barely any room. Even though the school has two lunch areas, some students eat in classrooms or even sit on the ground. And don't even get me started on the lunch line. You have to run if you don't want a 15 minute wait and only 10-15 minutes to eat. Aside from crowding, you've got to be pretty social if you're new in 8th grade, or expect a lonely year. I was that person for the first. Sitting alone at lunch can be depressing. And finally, I feel that some classes don't get the same level of education as others. I happen to be in some of the more "lucky" classes, except for PE, which all of the teachers have a COMPLETELY different program, which isn't fair to some. That's about it. A good school, but as you can see, some problems that should be addressed.

- submitted by a community member
March 04, 2012
I have had the worst experience at Sierra vista a middle school. I have attended six schools and this is by far the worst.I hate the teaching styles and am miserable with all of my mean classmates. There is so much bullying at this school and have never seen so much over crowding. This is the only school I have been to and not been able to get a good education. If I could I would give this school zero stars. Please save your children and yourself the misery and do not send them to Sierra vista middle school.

- submitted by a community member
October 13, 2011
I will be coming to the school in January. My parents told me a lot of great things about this school. I am going to be finishing the 8th grade at this school and i'm very excited and i'm looking forward to it.

- submitted by a community member
October 08, 2011
SIERAA VISTA IS A GREAT SCHOOL! Great teachers, plus a friendly environment to learn and make new friends..

- submitted by a community member
October 08, 2011
Sierra Vista is a fantastic school that has helped my son very much. My only disappointment is that this school is too crowded but other than that, Sierra Vista is the best Junior High School in Irvine

- submitted by a teacher
January 03, 2011
Sierra Vista is an excellent school! i am currently an eighth grader and i absolutely LOVE it here! the teacher and staff are very friendly and helpful. they will answer any questions in areas you are concerned about. in the past two years, i have only had one unprofessional math teacher (that everyone avoids) but apart from that, all the other teachers are absolutely wonderful! they will honestly go out of their way to help your child succeed with the help of a new "Tutorial" program that is required for all students. if you are looking for a school that will not only boost your students grades, but also help with social skills, Sierra Vista is the school for you! i promise you wont regret it.

- submitted by a community member
October 20, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 21, 2009
Sierra Vista is an outstanding school! My daughter transferred from Lakeside, and we both agree that this school is much better. The teachers do not teach boring and unused knowledge but most teachers teach things needed in the future. This school prepares students very well for Northwood High.

- submitted by a parent
no rating June 02, 2009
Overcrowding defines the misery of this middle school. Join the Sierra Vista crowd, get lost, and be herded through middle school by Mr. No, the Vice Principle. Some great teachers. It's a tougher transition for students to this middle school than to Northwood High School. The facility is as jammed as the 5 freeway on a Friday evening. Special needs kids struggle more hear than the other Irvine /Middle Schools.

- submitted by a parent
May 26, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 20, 2009
My son and daughter goes to this school -- excellent teachers and curriculms! Out of all the middle schools in Irvine, it is the best. Many say Venado and Rancho San Joaquin Middle Schools are better-- however, those are old talks/rumors. I am very glad my children attend this school.

- submitted by a parent
May 20, 2009
I've never had a problem!! Don't know what all the deal is with negative comments and the thought that Sierra Vista is a 'holding bin' till high school. True about the vice principal being much more hands on than the principal but so what? I love so much about this school and so many of the teachers are absolutely awesome!! :)

- submitted by a parent
February 06, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 10, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
February 10, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 10, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 12, 2007
My son has had trouble with his grades even though he scores very well on his state tests. I have been impressed with the teachers as they go out of their way to help him. The problem I have is with the vice principle who is not exactly a people person and the principle whom is rarely if ever seen. But the teachers make up for them.

- submitted by a parent
December 11, 2007
I think that Sierra Vista is a great place for learning with mind challenging and hands on ways of learning.

- submitted by a parent
September 22, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
September 15, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 30, 2005
The school is underfunded and overcrowed. I had heard negative comments about the school but have found my son is doing OK, he had always gotten A's but now is struggling with getting B's. However I can't really say whether it is him adjusting to class changing and being more responsible or wheter it is the school. He loves the guitar class and his math teacher.

- submitted by a parent
August 16, 2005
I am not very familiar with this school yet, as we moved into this school's boundaries in the middle of April. I can tell you I was not impressed, the teachers and principal did not seem to care about the students the way they did in my son's previous school in Maryland. We have moved around a lot, and even during mid year moves such as this one my son has always obtained straight a's, but at Sierra Vista his grades were considerably worse. Since he has always scored in the 98-99th percentile on his state tests, I can't help but wonder what made this transition so hard - and it's not that the school's in California are academically harder, as my two daughters maintained their grades at their new Californian elementary school in the same district.

- submitted by a parent
August 05, 2005
Avoid at all costs! Very poor teaching and administrative staff. Many students coming into high school are very ill-prepared for the curriculum. The principal does not appear to like kids at all and is unable to build a teaching team that is focused, competent, and professional. Music program is good, art program is awful. Range of electives is poor. School rules not enforced or enforced inconsistently.

- submitted by a teacher
July 31, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

964

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Vista Middle School
2 Liberty, Irvine, CA  92620
(949) 936-6600
Last modified Sierra Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra Vista Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top