Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
88 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


University High School 4

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Good environment and teachers. Especially count sellers are very helpful to prepare classes and courses. My daughter also very satisfied at school.

University High School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
I had a phenomenal experience in my 4 years at University High, ultimately getting into Stanford as a President's scholar along with 9 of my classmates. The student body was filled with some of the smartest, most dedicated people I know who I am still close with to this day. The teachers were always top-notch, noble, and loved what they did. Could not have had a better experience and would highly recommend it.


University High School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter received a well-rounded education at University High, choosing to be very involved academically, socially, and artistically. She is not Asian and earned a 4.3 GPA. She is doing great at the UC she chose; most of her friends chose UCs, NYU, and a few are at Ivy Leagues. Two of her best friends since preschool switched to private schools in 10th grade, as their parents felt the school's academic competition was not a good fit for their child. If your child has a great work ethic, outstanding study habits, can teach herself math concepts (or has a tutor), isn't bothered by competition, is confident, has strong leadership qualities, is optimistic, and outgoing, UNI will likely be a great choice where your child will thrive.

University High School 4

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
We moved from out of the area. There's been no problem whatsoever getting into AP classes, quite the opposite, thanks to the very helpful counselors. Science and Math classes are very very challenging and require a lot of work, but do prepare extremely well for college (choose those AP courses at your own risk). Humanities and Social Sciences are as difficult as at any other Blue Ribbon schools in CA, but not more difficult. The students are not as social as those at some of the other schools, so the "fun" factor is lower. Some sports are top notch (swimming, tennis), developing camaraderie and enriching experience; some sports are not run as successfully. The music program is okay, but most focus is on the marching band, not the orchestras.

University High School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
My two sons go to Uni and the school is great. The school has very high standards and it is not as scary as most parents want to portray it. The staff and counselor are very helpful. If your son has good work ethics he/she will do well.


University High School 1

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
I completely agree with both previous posts. We moved from out of state and were told that my student couldn't get into the AP classes because this school was very hard. Even though came with an A+ in Honors English was not allowed to get into AP English. Teachers were not helpful most of the time, with some exceptions of course. The environment is very far from welcoming. It is fake like everything in the area. In general the experience has been bad, I hope to get a better environment for my other child.

University High School 2

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
I completely agree with previous parent. This has been disappointing. Staff have a saying they use over and over...Your child may be getting b's because this school is difficult. Wrong! Many students have tutoring outside of school and take courses to review the next year curriculum. The teachers donot need to teach the students but merely give assignments because a large majority of students do not participate in class because they go to private tutoring to actually learn the material. This also make for very talkative class rooms. There is a discrimination of white students. Look into any Honors or AP classes and you will find 1 or 2 white students. Which doesn't fit the fact that there are 25% white students at the school. If you are not asian, and you are in these classes there is question that you belong there.

University High School 1

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
We are one of those families that moved from out of state and chose our home because it was in the UNI district. That was an enormous mistake. I had two children go through this school and can honestly say it has been a terrible experience for both. The majority of the teachers could care less about the students, some answering cell phones during class or not in their classroom during office hours. The administration is not much better always assuming the students are wrong, not the teachers. The counselors are even worse because they pretend to care but have so many students, they can't even begin to know one from the other. My first child, accepted to an elite college, tells me not one semester of college comes close to how hard UNI was. My second used to be an enthusiastic learner, a straight A student until UNI. Averaging 4 hours sleep in order to get B's in high school is just not right. The kids that get A's are, and I hate to say it, Asian. They take summer prep classes in the AP subjects so when they take the class at UNI they can get an A. This is what the teachers teach to. So unless your child takes a prep class, they can forget about doing well in the AP classes.


University High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
University High School in Irvine is truly a great school, which offers high academic and sports standards to all of its students. The faculty is wonderful, and they not only teach our children. They make them think and prepare for the future.

University High School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a student
This is an awesome school and i really love it, the teachers are awesome and it is very competitive, just as i like it

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University High School
4771 Campus Drive, Irvine, CA  92612-3298
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. (949) 936-7600
Last modified University High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top