Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids in this school, and they both love it. The teachers are caring, and very competent. The student population is diverse. The principal has a can-do spirit and is highly visible throughout the school. The school worked with us to challenge our daughter more academically.

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Both our children attended the ESL class (4th and 6th graders) from Jan to mid March 2014 and it has been a very positive experience to both our kids and us parents. Even though we were there for only a short period of time, we had the best treatment by teachers and staff. It was amazing how Ms. Sato managed to take care of a large multicultural class, keep the discipline, overview, and appreciative tone. Our children learned a lot, made good friends, made good memories such as the school party, the concert, pyjamas day, punch card system, handball and manymore. Even better; we all got the best with us back home: An overwhelmingly good impression of the American school system, which we think that Denmark can learn a lot from. The children miss UP and if we ever come back to Irvine again, UP would be our first choice. The Ryd n family from Denmark


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
The new principal, Christine Amoroso, is awesome! She is turning this school around. The school also has a new PTA. The PTA and the school staff are working closely together to make this school a top school! The teachers are awesome! It's my child's 3rd year at this school and she loves it! Her teachers are well trained and great at what they do.

University Park Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
I HATE THIS SCHOOL! It is horrible! The lunches are horrible, teachers are soooo mean, (especially Mrs.Allen,she lets students out late,doesn't know what to really.).the grass is horrible,the look of the school is horrible,even though it is a "distinguished school"it shouldn't have that title. DONT GO HERE!!!!!!

University Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Our kindergardener and 3rd children started the school year here, as it is our neighborhood school. This school is the magnet school in the district for English as a first language. However, these children are in a separate class and I was assuming if would not impact our children who are above grade level students. By October we had so many negative issues we contacted the school district board and had our children moved to another school. There are many above average students in this neighborhood. The fact is this school losses these students because it to below average and average students.


University Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!!! wrost school. bad teaching. unhealthy lunches. rude teachers! ( especially 5th grade teacher Mrs. Allen! ) wrost schoolyou can go to. my daughter went and she got lower grade because her teacher Mrs. Allen didnt read her test scores!

University Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
U.P has gone progressively down in performance over the last few years. This year, thanks to its unapproachable and incompetent principal, it finally placed itself under the title of Needs Improvement by No Child Left Behind Act.Parents are totally ignored and no support is given to students.

University Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
This is the worst school imaginable. The teacher are ignorant and arrogant. They accept zero input from the parents and have very bad attitudes. This school is going down hill very fast despite having a student body of strong students. Their goal is to teach to the middle and hold high achiving kids back so they can bolster their numbers at the competency level. If you want your child to excel find a different school.


University Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
they are rewally working very hsard for the sake of our children

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
they are really working hard for the sake of our children

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Park Elementary School
4572 Sandburg Way, Irvine, CA  92612
(949) 936-6300
Last modified University Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University Park Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top