Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
64 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vista Verde
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
The children have a long day, especially the younger children who attend from 8:30am to 3pm. The amount of homework is too much for the younger children.

Vista Verde
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
Again, how can you develop caring and empathy when your behavior expectations are so unreasonable and deprive many of the younger children of some joyful childhood experiences?


Vista Verde
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
How can you promote fairness in students when your own response to the students is unreasonable so often?

Vista Verde 3

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
After initially being thrilled to have been admitted, now after almost two years I am realizing that there are certainly some problems with the school culture. The school heavily relies on parent volunteers and even goes so far as to expect parent helpers to come in at certain times to fulfill their duty. However, what most scares me are two things. For one, I have heard from several parents now about a really mean 5th grade teacher, knowing who she is and knowing she is tenured and parents have pulled out their children because of her meanness scares me - no matter the fact that we have to teach our children to deal with difficult matters in life, no 10 year old deserves to be so roughly treated. The fundamental issue I have, and am strongly considering this to be our last year here, is that there seems something fundamentally ill with the school culture. I understand that there is a great number of spoiled children at this school, for which the parents are to be blamed by the way, however, that does not justify the ill mannered way that I am noticing a significantly large number of staff members using toward students. They are unnecessarily strict, taking away childhood by not allowing any slight deviation from what is expected. We noticed this in first grade, we notice it with staff during recess. My 7 year old son complains that he is not allowed to do anything with being reprimanded...for unstructured games, for playing in the grass, for running, you name it. And it is first and foremost the tone. Interestingly the staff is extremely friendly to the parents - I am guessing because we contribute so much financially and spoil the teachers with $200 gift cards - but constantly snap at the children. I have not noticed such unreasonable strictness toward the children at other IUSD schools. Again, this bothers me to a degree that we are considering changing.

Vista Verde 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I have twins and they both go to Vista Verde. This is their 6th year @ Vista Verde and we did'nt have one single problem within the last 5-6 years. We love the teachers, staff and their approach. We have moved to another neighborhood in Irvine far away from Vista Verde but still and rather to drive 20-30 minutes each way and my kids stay @ Vista Verde


Vista Verde 5

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Do not be swayed by the lunatic parents who say they "visit their kids during break" or "come into class to watch how the teachers treat the kids" because those are the types of parents that will never be satisfied, no matter where their kids go to school. The truth is that Vista Verde has a long waiting list and it is for a reason. Every teacher is not perfect. Every employee is not perfect. BUT, if you find yourself complaining about any FREE school in Irvine, then you need to double-think what you are doing. Go try San Bernardino or Los Angeles and then come back and complain about the best free education system in the United States. 97% of the students at Vista Verde love the school and so do their parents. There will always be the nutburger fringe of parents who don't get what they want and then obsessively scour the internet to find ways to get revenge for how they have been "wronged". Vista Verde is in the upper 1% of all schools in the U.S. and people flock to this area for that reason. They prepare the students wonderfully for Uni and any other high-level high school in the area. The biggest problem at the school is BY FAR the few borderline-insane parents who think the rules don't apply to them and think that their child should get more attention than everyone else's. Again, not every teacher is wonderful. This is true at EVERY school in the country. 90% of the teachers are wonderful and I can promise your child will thrive here. My children have gone here for a cumulative 14 years and, yes, they have had a few issues with teachers, but that is life. There are tough events in all facets of life. If you are a helicopter parent who tries to guide your children away from any tiny bit of strife or anything challenging, then you are not preparing your child for the real world in any way. Learning to deal with when things are not perfect is one of the best lessons you can teach them. No school is perfect but you will find Vista Verde is close to it. If you are a "normal", non-insane parent, you will love Vista Verde and so will your children.

Vista Verde 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
It is obvious that the last two reviews (posted on Feb 7, 2014) were written by the same parent.

Vista Verde 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
We drive across Irvine to have our kids attend Vista Verde. Our kids have varying degrees of special needs. The staff is really trying to help my kids succeed, which has not been the case at other schools private and public in multiple school districts. We have great relationships with the principal, school psychologist, teachers, nurse, health clerk, and speech teacher. The other staff is also very nice and supportive. With the high standards of education at this school I don't worry as much about extra academics, and focus on extra curricular activities to target other areas. The main suggestion for this school is to reprogram language arts to be accessible to the dyslexic population at the school. We are so pleased with Vista Verde.


Vista Verde 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
After reading some recent reviews, it obvious nothing had changed at Vista Verde. This school is a disaster. If you are a busy body with nothing better to do than follow your kid to school and play politics, it ismost llikely a good fit. If you have an average kid (not too smart) that likes busy work this is the perfect school. However, if you ate familiar with education law and have a high functioning kid, or a disabled kid or both you really have three choices. Run! Get a lawyer and sue (please pick this one) or be miserable and buy all their lies. I had hopes that when the former principal left some miracle would happen but it is still in IUSD so I guess not. You are not crazy they are. Teachers are so spoiled with parent helpers they don't know what's up with any kid. They don't grade or record the papers....hod knows there are a lot of dead trees because of VV.

Vista Verde 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
teacher do not teach, being spoiled by volunteers. if they have to compile 2 pages, they are already overworked and they will inform you about it ;) the staff would try to sell lies to parents 24/7. hostile atmosphere. if you contribute some good money then you can have some kind of feeling of private school for public money and all families are aware of it. definitely they do not work for the best of students. ask parents and they will tell you: "average". you might stay but you'd better RUN.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Verde
6 Federation Way, Irvine, CA  92603-0100
(949) 936-6350
Last modified Vista Verde is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Verde Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. Top