Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Irvine, CA
Students enrolled: 753
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stonegate Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
VERY DISAPPOINTED that there's so much politics at this school! Teacher assignment is a "black box" but it's clear that parents can influence assignments through politicking or donating. When the highly desired Teacher of the Year has a class chock-full of kids whose parents are influential in the school while remaining classes are loaded with new students, it make you wonder if this is a public or private institution. Parents who want to exert that much influence should just send their kids to private school, but shame on Stonegate for allowing itself to be influenced in this manner.

Stonegate Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
These teachers and staff are top notch. The whole culture of the school helps to build character as well as stellar academic critical thinkers. We have enjoyed our time here thus far.


Stonegate Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
My child attended this school. The demographics do not offer enough diversity. The student body is predominantly Asian. Unless your child is, too, then they may not feel as though they fit in as my child felt. It is a pressure-cooker environment with the parental mentality to push the kids. A lot of families here transferred from Woodbury Elementary so your child may not even attend school with neighborhood kids from Stonegate or Portola Springs. I gave the score an extra star for having a newer campus with some technology for the kids.

Stonegate Elementary School 3

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Lots of after school program on campus and in CDC. Students are hard working and well behaved. lots of extra curriculum activities but the core curriculum program of the school is not strong. Teacher relies a lot on parent volunteering.

Stonegate Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Great school because of great students and involved parents, not the teachers and administration. Teachers I've met seem detached and only there for the paychecks, and also seem lazy because of great, motivated students. Hope the teachers see this review and take it as a challenge and maybe a wake-up call.


Stonegate Elementary School 2

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
The Principal at this school puts his teachers first and the students second. I agree with the other parent about him being less and less caring. I would also add that he is unethical. Make sure you keep and document everything, because if you ever deal with him your dealing with a snake. I see the reason why they didn't want him at the district. The children at this school seem to be well behaved. The front office staff is great! The Teachers are good however there are a few that should retire.

Stonegate Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is getting out of control and increasing the number of students is compromising the quality of education our kids are getting. The principal seems to be less and less caring and attentive to our students and their families.

Stonegate Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
In response to the last post... "Only problem: The School majority is Asian and the Parents expect them to study as if they are in college." That is a negative and stereotypical comment. When did Asians being a majority at a school become a problem? Please stop evaluating schools based on the ethnic background of students! The principal, teachers, parents, and students make Stonegate a great school! To my knowledge, (due to budget cuts) it is the PTA that funds the PE and Music program.


Stonegate Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
My son ended her kindergarten year with success and is looking forward to first grade.

Stonegate Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
Best Elementary School in Irvine!! Staff is top notch! And children are well behaved. You really get the Irvine school district experience at this school! The test scores show what's going on at this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stonegate Elementary School
100 Honors, Irvine, CA  92620
(949) 936-6450
Last modified Stonegate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stonegate Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top