Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peralta Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Peralta is run by Principal Shanz. She lacks interpersonal skills. She makes no attempt to interact with students and is only seen when she comes into classrooms to "observe" the teachers and classrooms in action. The teachers are no better they spend 90% of their time telling the students about their personal lives! If you are new to the area please utilize the inter district transfer and send your child to another school! You will avoid having to pay for tutoring outside of school or spending nights and weekends teaching your child skills that they are not taught at Peralta. The school is failing as a whole. All the staff including playground supervisors are involved in gossip! And will ask your child about your personal life, in order to spread gossip to other staff. In addition to this they state they have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to bullying but this is a complete lie! The staff has no training on how to handle bullying and will simply dismiss your child's claims. Peralta is filled with incompetence from the Pricipal all the way down to the playground staff. If you value your child's education and happiness do not send your child to this school.

Peralta Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
My school is horrible, the new Principal is very, very rude she needs to focus on the benefits of learning and not so much disicipline, for this method is not working. They need to fire her immediately, students that have been attending that school for years are moving to different schools because of the new Principal. Also the more that 1/2 of the staff dislikes her but they need their jobs so they are afraid of saying anything. The Principal I'm referring to K. Schanz


Peralta Elementary School 1

Posted September 20, 2011
- a parent
The new principal is rude and so is the front office staff. If any parents have any dealings with these people that are unprofessional, I recommend reporting it to the district, as I have.

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
I have had both of my girls attend School of the Holy Child and they were so happy. The teachers were wonderful and were always available to both student and parent. All the girls that have graduated have attended very prestigious colleges. I would highly recommend this school to all young women.

Peralta Elementary School 2

Posted August 06, 2010
- a parent
The Principal of this school is clueless at how to run it effectively!!! Every year test scores have dropped since she's been in charge. The moral of the staff is low . There have been no field trips for the kids except for the occasional trip to Shakeys or Chuck E Cheese. Other schools in the same district went to science camp this year, why not Peralta? There needs to be an administrative change so that Peralta can get back to the top where it once was. Parents are concerned and the school district should be too!


Peralta Elementary School 3

Posted July 31, 2010
- a parent
Peralta was once a California Distinguished school, but now has the 3rd lowest API in the district. I'm very disappointed in the staff, especially the Principal, and wonder if my child is getting the best education she can get.

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a parent
Peralta is a wonderful school! The teachers are caring & work extremely hard. The principal is full of energy always open to new ideas. Parents are always welcomed to participate in any and every way. My daughter attended Peralta for 4 years and safety was never a concern.

Peralta Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
I have been very happy with Peralta for the past 5 years. The staff knows their kids and families so well. I feel my kids are quite safe on the campus. They love having parents in the classrooms and a part of the school activites and the fundraisers. They are proud of their kids hard work and they provide help and encouragement to those in need.


Peralta Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended Peralta for Kindergarten only, the quality of the teachers in K was impressive. They were willing to challenge the children academically and encourage them also. She was introduced to music appreciation and developed a love for art by drawing and coloring pictures that have won first prize and second prize in art contests.

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
I must admit I was very hesitant to send my child to public school. I came from a private school background. My sons preschool teacher suggested to try it out I am sure glad I did. My sons kindergarden teacher was outstanding and from what I have seen most of the teachers are just as good. The teachers seem to really enjoy what they do and it shows in the way they treat the students. They are not only teachers but great role models for the children. They are very involved in each child individually and take the time to make sure they give each child the attention they need. My hats off to the principle and all the teachers at Peralta elementary

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peralta Elementary School
6450 Peralta Place, Jurupa Valley, CA  92509-6352
(951) 222-7701
Last modified Peralta Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peralta Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top