Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Van Buren Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
Van Buren has a very caring and dedicated staff. The principal is awesome and he really supports both his teachers and the community.

Van Buren Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
The students are engaged in PBIS each day. These are positive behavior supports that emphasize responsibility, respect, and safety. In addition to that, students are taught the 5 attributes to EAGLE PRIDE, which are perseverance, respect, integrity, determination and excellence.


Van Buren Elementary School 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible.... not safe.... the staff help you with a horrible attitude if they don't know you they help you at the end... the teachers definitely have favoritism and if I had a choice and I could economically pay to get my children transfer I would this school definitely needs more helpfully and non bully staff... the only reason they get a star is because I had to choose it not because they deserve it..

Van Buren Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
My children began attending this school only one of my children have a nice and dedicated teacher. The staff in the office have a horrible attitude but hopefully I could transfer my kids soon out of that school... they only get the star for the teacher my son has that's shows more interest in her students

Van Buren Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
the school is good. the teachers care about their students as does the principal. The only draw back is parent involvement. There are only 4 parents who do everything for the school. They run the bookfair, holiday store, fundraisers, help teachers when they can with activites, put together folders and pass them out at the student of the month gatherings. Those 4 parents try to get other parents involved, but none of the other parents will. I know a lot of parents work and some do not speak English. They always have people who can interpret for them. I applaud those parents. Im a single mom who works and goes to school to be a better example for my child and I participate whenever I can for my child at that school.


Van Buren Elementary School 3

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
The principal has always wanted what is best for my child and has looked into all issues that I have addressed with him. There are some really good teachers, but also numerous poor ones. There is not a lot of parent interaction. I think that there is definately room for improvement, but I'd say that the principal is slowly making improvements.

Van Buren Elementary School 2

Posted March 14, 2007
- a parent
My child is currently attending Van Buren. I am researching other options. Supervisory staff is unprofessional, my child's teacher fails to return phone calls.

Van Buren Elementary School 4

Posted June 27, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has attended Van Buren Elementary school since kindergarten. I have not experienced any serious issues within the school itself. I am a law enforcement officer and saying that I stay involved in the academics, activities and school related functions. What parents have to understand is that the school teaches academics but as parents we must reinforce that daily by assisting with homework, studying techniques and teaching. We the parents are our children' primary educator. Yes, the teachers do teach, but we must reinforce what is being learned. I took my 5 year old from private school and he will be attending Van Buren in the fall. If I see he is struggling, I will make an appointment for a conference.


Van Buren Elementary School 1

Posted June 24, 2005
- a parent
My children just completed their first year at Van Buren Elementary school, and I am very unhappy with the level of education which this school provides to our kids. My daughter was above proficient in all academic areas prior to attending this school, now, she struggels just to make grade level standards. This schools academic ciriculum doesn't meet state dept. Standards, and the teachers and staff dont appear to put in any effort to change that. In regards to the school's principal, I found her to be very uncooperative and not really concerned about investigating serious and or important issue - when they are brought to her attention. I would not recommend this elementary school to any parent. Our children deserve a chance at a decent education, and unfortunately my kids were deprived of that, at this school.

Van Buren Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2003
- a parent
I found the principle to be extremely uncooperative in getting my child into a class with a calmer teacher. The teacher would yell in class at the students, and was too tempermental for young students. I spent alot of vacation time from work trying to resolve these problems. However, my child's first two teachers at Van Buren were great! So there are some really good teachers there, but last year was a horrible year for our whole family, dealing with the results of how the teacher handled the class.

Nearby schools

Van Buren Elementary School
9501 Jurupa Road, Jurupa Valley, CA  92509-3513
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (951) 360-2865
Last modified Van Buren Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top