Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Very happy with the school Principal and environment. We are so fortunate to be a part of this center.

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Our son just completed kindergarten, and loved his first year at Kensington. There were 21 in his class, and lots of parent volunteers in the class daily working with a very dedicated teacher. The enrichment programs were solid, lots of school activities promoting community, serious fundraising and extremely active PTA. Looking forward to our son delving into 1st grade with much anticipation and high expectations.


Kensington Elementary School 4

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
Since there have been so few reviews on here for the last three years,I'd like to reiterate the last one. It should be highlighted that class sizes have just been changed as noted, and this is an unfortunate situation for our school. However, I would like to encourage any Kensington resident who is reading this and considering sending their kids to KHS to do so. The benefits to your child of attending their local school with their neighborhood friends, the benefits to you and your family for this same asset, are invaluable. Get involved with the PTA to whatever extent you can, join forces with groups who support your educational philosophy, and help our school district climb out of the hole it's dug for itself.

Kensington Elementary School 4

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
We've had two good years at Hilltop, but people should be aware that the class size for K-2 just went from 20 to 28 due to a school board decision. So it remains to be seen how things will go this year.

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Kensington has a long-standing reputation as an outstanding school and it deserves a five star and an A+ rating! Our older son went there from K-6th grade and now, our younger son has started kindergarten at Kensington. Our entire family, grandparents included have thoroughly enjoyed the community, excellent teachers, comprehensive education and the hospitality that this school offers. The API is constantly evolving in a positive direction mostly due to the supportive leadership of our wonderful principal, Judy Sanders. We are 2 full-time working parents but we make time to volunteer because it is so important to the kids and the overall well-being of our school.


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Kensington is an excellent elementary school. Our teachers go above and beyond and there is phenomenal support from our community.

Kensington Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
There are some teachers with good reputations, some with bad and some new ones. Parents politic heavily to get their kids into the 'good' teachers rooms. As a result, these senior teachers can be very unpleasant to deal with. There is a lot of playing favorites, which is no so subtly encouraged, through the soliciting of volunteers and fundraising. It can be unpleasant for working parents, particularly if you are unwilling or unable to pony up a lot of cash. The campus is very beautiful though, and the enrichment classes are good and convenient.

Kensington Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
A warm, caring environment, with kids of various backgrounds & ethnicities, good teachers and good parent-support makes Kens. Elem. a great school.


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
Kensington is a wonderful school. The principal, a former teacher, is a gem! I have three kids attending and they have had great experiences. Library, art, and science are all funded by the parents. I have found the money drills a bit tiresome but am comfortable just saying no when we can't help. Some parents (moms especially) get into a uber-volunteer mode that seems more about their guilt and too much free time, than anything the school does. We have had great teachers but there are a couple who are pretty dreadful and cause a lot of parents to consider private school (fortunately, they teach different grades). The lunch hour is strange with a real lack of activities. I can't figure who is in charge of this, but the after school programs are cheap and terrific! The annual Halloween parade and carnival are delightful!

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
The community involvement is what sets this school apart...this is the only school in Kensington, and is the center of a lot of community events.

Nearby schools

Kensington Elementary School
90 Highland Boulevard, Kensington, CA  94708-1023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (510) 231-1415
Last modified Kensington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top