Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Our son had a horrifying experience at Bacich. Kindergarten through 3rd grade was fine - overcrowded but decent teachers and an engaged parent community. His 4th grade year, however, a number of factors led to him having some behavior problems. The way the school handled him - from the principal on down - escalated the situation to the point where we pulled him out and schooled him at home for the last six weeks of the year. We were made to feel that something was truly wrong with our child. The principal even said to me one day, "We just don't have kids like this in Kentfield." Fast forward one year. After many hours of tears, testing (there's nothing wrong with him, by the way), therapy, and a new school we finally have our son back. He is thriving and happy in his new environment. No thanks to Bacich and Sally Peck.

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
We moved my son from private school to Bacich and we are very happy we made the move. My son loves his teacher and everything about the school. Every day he is excited to go to school and he won't stop talking about all the fun things he did in class and what he's learning.


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I was apprehensive reading the reviews online . But, it is a great school . Teachers are very motivated . Patent community is very involved with out being elitist . There is good diversity for Marin standards. All in all very happy with what experience . School is very organized . They have music, library, PE. Principal's office is very involved and seem to care . They have a lot of kids and classes . But they are able to keep the ratio low . Having a teachers aid in the class is very helpful .

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love Bacich. Each year we have had wonderful teachers and our daughter continues to thrive and love school. She is consistently challenged in fun, innovative ways. We also love the community feeling of this school. The parents and kids are constantly looking out for each other and helping each other out. It's a fantastic school and neighborhood!

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Yes, but parents need to remember that this is also a job for them at home.


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
After many years in both Kentfield schools, I have nothing but genuine support and love for Bacich. For those complaining about Common Core, please take a deep breath - our kids are not suffering academically. Our schools didn't wait until the last minute to adhere to these mandated standards - they got out ahead of them and have been working tirelessly to find just the right fit for our students. If your child is beyond gifted, then perhaps a public school is not the right place for you. But my kids were more than above average in math, reading, science, etc. and they have been constantly challenged by their teachers at Bacich and Kent. They have developed a genuine love of learning because of these caring and committed teachers and administrators. Is everything perfect? No, nothing ever is. If your kid doesn't gel with a teacher, teach your child how to adjust to an environment that might not be exactly to their liking. Step back a little and let your child discover different ways of learning that may in fact yield more results than you could have imagined. We have highly capable teachers in our District, and with just a little breathing room, they have the opportunity to help your child become an amazing student.

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
I'm passionate about education and couldn't wait for my son (now 8) to attend Bacich. For K & 1st he got devoted, energetic teachers. But his 2d gr teacher was just putting in the time sending us to websites for more math! I heard other parents' complaints and studied Bacich's application of the Common Core curriculum. Hundreds showed up at meetings to contest the low math standards. Read the CCC online. It dumbs down children: schools across the country modify it but Sally Peck refuses. It's totally inadequate given global competition & failing CA schools. But Peck's opposed to ability grouping so the more capable students are bored. After these meetings, Peck's solution: hire a consultant to study the situation. They stopped standardized testing several years ago (convenient for CCC) so there's zero accountability. We parents give over $1M/yr. but they refuse to challenge their brightest kids. Also school lets out every Wednesday at 12:15. Huh? The after school program, Marin Enrichment, is a sad warehouse for children waiting to be picked up. This formerly great school is failing. We transferred to a private school.

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Many teachers and parents are doing all they can to ensure the school stays great even through unprecedented growth (over 700 students in a space built for 450). However, the principal has lost all trust from parents, who describe her as all "Teflon" and "spin." Parent concerns are not directly addressed even when a group of over 100 parents come together to flag an area of concern (eg. Abilities based grouping in math) and attempt constructive collaboration with her. Her behavior has been ongoing for the many years we have been in the district, without clear accountability from the School Board or District Leadership. In short, we moved here for the schools and now regret it and advise others to choose other local districts such as Reed, Larkspur-Corte Madera and Dixie. Note though that no Marin districts offer the GATE program, so if you think that is relevant for your child look elsewhere in the Bay Area.


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We just transferred from a private school in Marin to Bacich. I cannot tell you how happy we are with the School. I continue to be blown away by the standards of excellence and education. The community of families are amazing. We are so happy to become apart of it.

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
As a new family at Bacich we were somewhat apprehensive about sending our daughter to Kindergarten here. While it is a big school, we are impressed with the organization of the staff and the high levels of parent involvement. Our daughter loves it!

Nearby schools

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School
699 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard, Kentfield, CA  94904
(415) 925-2220
Last modified Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top