Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love Bacich. Each year we have had wonderful teachers and our daughter continues to thrive and love school. She is consistently challenged in fun, innovative ways. We also love the community feeling of this school. The parents and kids are constantly looking out for each other and helping each other out. It's a fantastic school and neighborhood!

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Yes, but parents need to remember that this is also a job for them at home.


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
After many years in both Kentfield schools, I have nothing but genuine support and love for Bacich. For those complaining about Common Core, please take a deep breath - our kids are not suffering academically. Our schools didn't wait until the last minute to adhere to these mandated standards - they got out ahead of them and have been working tirelessly to find just the right fit for our students. If your child is beyond gifted, then perhaps a public school is not the right place for you. But my kids were more than above average in math, reading, science, etc. and they have been constantly challenged by their teachers at Bacich and Kent. They have developed a genuine love of learning because of these caring and committed teachers and administrators. Is everything perfect? No, nothing ever is. If your kid doesn't gel with a teacher, teach your child how to adjust to an environment that might not be exactly to their liking. Step back a little and let your child discover different ways of learning that may in fact yield more results than you could have imagined. We have highly capable teachers in our District, and with just a little breathing room, they have the opportunity to help your child become an amazing student.
1 person found this helpful

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
I'm passionate about education and couldn't wait for my son (now 8) to attend Bacich. For K & 1st he got devoted, energetic teachers. But his 2d gr teacher was just putting in the time sending us to websites for more math! I heard other parents' complaints and studied Bacich's application of the Common Core curriculum. Hundreds showed up at meetings to contest the low math standards. Read the CCC online. It dumbs down children: schools across the country modify it but Sally Peck refuses. It's totally inadequate given global competition & failing CA schools. But Peck's opposed to ability grouping so the more capable students are bored. After these meetings, Peck's solution: hire a consultant to study the situation. They stopped standardized testing several years ago (convenient for CCC) so there's zero accountability. We parents give over $1M/yr. but they refuse to challenge their brightest kids. Also school lets out every Wednesday at 12:15. Huh? The after school program, Marin Enrichment, is a sad warehouse for children waiting to be picked up. This formerly great school is failing. We transferred to a private school.

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Many teachers and parents are doing all they can to ensure the school stays great even through unprecedented growth (over 700 students in a space built for 450). However, the principal has lost all trust from parents, who describe her as all "Teflon" and "spin." Parent concerns are not directly addressed even when a group of over 100 parents come together to flag an area of concern (eg. Abilities based grouping in math) and attempt constructive collaboration with her. Her behavior has been ongoing for the many years we have been in the district, without clear accountability from the School Board or District Leadership. In short, we moved here for the schools and now regret it and advise others to choose other local districts such as Reed, Larkspur-Corte Madera and Dixie. Note though that no Marin districts offer the GATE program, so if you think that is relevant for your child look elsewhere in the Bay Area.
4 people found this helpful


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We just transferred from a private school in Marin to Bacich. I cannot tell you how happy we are with the School. I continue to be blown away by the standards of excellence and education. The community of families are amazing. We are so happy to become apart of it.
4 people found this helpful

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
As a new family at Bacich we were somewhat apprehensive about sending our daughter to Kindergarten here. While it is a big school, we are impressed with the organization of the staff and the high levels of parent involvement. Our daughter loves it!
3 people found this helpful

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 1

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Must be teachers reviewing this school, as I have yet to speak to a parent who is not considering placing their child in another school (e.g., Brookside, Glenwood). One parent is a prominent realtor who advised me that housing adjacent to Bacich has dropped in value for the first time (even after the bubble burst), although other Marin Housing (e.g., Mill Valley, San Anselmo) continues to rise. Housing value is directly connected to the school district. Pulled both my boys and placed in Marin Country Day and love it. Noticed the declining API score, Bacich is not getting a pass based on exclusivity anymore.
1 person found this helpful


Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a community member
My child attended this school and I am happy to say that we moved out of this district. I was not impressed with the attitude of some of the teachers and the principal is not hands-on at all. This is a school with a very bad vibe and my child was never made to feel welcome. We are much happier now. There are good schools out there, this is not one of them.
2 people found this helpful

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Bacich elementary is a great school! ! Teachers are great, working close with patients. Teacher will let you know how your kid is progressing and what needs to be done if your child is behind. Parents contributions to kick program helps our kids continue with their art and music classes. Those classes are very important in our kids overall development. Overall great school! Great community! Happy to be part of it.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School
699 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard, Kentfield, CA  94904
(415) 925-2220
Last modified Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anthony G. Bacich Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top