Students enrolled 473
School leader Ray Witte
Transportation options Yes
District Knightsen Elementary
Before school Yes
After school Yes

Contact this school

1923 Delta Road
Knightsen, CA 94548

(925) 625-0073
(925) 625-8766
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Knightsen Elementary School address.

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

September 11, 2014
I feel it is a privilege to send my kids to this school. Class sizes are small, the staff is supportive of each other, the parents are actively involved. Supplies are abundant. The food is healthy, the kids participate in swimming, music and art from Kindergarten on. The principal has made some not so popular decisions but has stuck to his convictions and I commend him for that. All in all Knightsen turns out compassionate, caring well mannered educated children who are learning to THINK not just "do something"

- submitted by a parent
May 20, 2014
I completely agree! There were several Knightsen grads in the top 20 of the Freedom High School class. Thank you Knightsen. Credit where credit is due.

- submitted by a parent
May 19, 2014
The Liberty High School Valedictorian for 2014 is a Knightsen Grad!! Many of the students in the top tier at LHS are Knightsen Grads. They have been prepared well.

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 27, 2010
Our family's experience at Knightsen has been extremely positive. Teachers are dedicated, open, honest and respond to parent interest well. The school is like it's own community, everybody takes a part in everything, people don't look the other way when it's not their student or their child who needs help or 'direction'. The students that are being 'raised' in the atmosphere that Knightsen School provides, are extremely aware of Others, I find this to be noteworthy. This school is working well for us and our family is proud to be part of it.

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 15, 2009
Here's an update. Knightsen is indeed going through some rough times, but the teachers there for the most part are dedicated to the kids. This is small, close knit school that continues to garner top state test scores for the county. HS teachers I have spoken with say they are glad to get Knightsen students because they are ready to learn. I have found discipline of both teachers and students to be even handed when parents are willing to speak up and do so with civility. Special ed is good. Severe budget problems and a general sense of foreboding are probably the most negative factors here. It's going to take a few years before we know if those will bring down a marvelous school community. I certainly hope not. For those looking to move to the area, the other district with similar high standards would be

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 09, 2009
this needs to be updated. the last review was 4 years ago. This school is nothing like those reviews. its about to be taken over and the education there no where near prepares kids for high school. joke

- submitted by a parent
October 15, 2005
Knightsen is a public school with a private school feeling. I have the honor of being a teacher and a parent. My daughter and I have been at Knightsen for 6 years and we love it. The school is like a family. The parents are so supportive. They help out with time, they provide us with necessary funding, and they do whatever it takes to give their children the best education possible. This is the only school that I have ever worked at where the school board prepares and serves a back to school breakfast for the teachers! Did I mention that the students at the school are the best? They are certainly a different class of kids and it makes my teaching day so much better.

- submitted by a parent
May 05, 2005
Knightsen is a Godsend, the closest to private school as you can get, old fashioned a tight knit, like family!

- submitted by a parent
February 23, 2005
Lots of parental involvement; Prinicipal and VP know, and care about, every student; special needs/resource program is decent (and improving); they are open to suggestions and ideas re: special needs students; bullying not tolerated and dealt with appropriately. One downfall is that they do not have a PA system. I see this as a hazard as it is impossible to announce an emergency to all classes at the same time.

- submitted by a parent
May 25, 2004
As parents of an A/B student of this school for all nine years we cannot recommend this school. Though we are firm believers in a student getting out of an education what he/she puts into it, the state's testing of the school's student body reflects fairly accuratly the quality of education you can expect at this campus. Administration micro-manages it's staff's curriculum and materials resulting in a curriculum that is geared specifically to maximize performance on state testing (which doesn't work) as opposed to a well rounded and logical presentation of carefully selected meterial that maximizes understanding and retention. The net result to the parent only becomes apparent once the student enters high school, finding themselves missled by their Knightsen report card grades and not as well prepared for this transition as expected. The principal's leadership concept is at fault and as with any school, drags the entire institution down.

- submitted by a parent
February 28, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 10, 2003
The teachers are amazing! The work, care, and dedication of Mrs Rinehart (the superintendent/principal), and her staff make Knightsen School the best school in the area...period!

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

What does this school offer? Arts? Sports? Share what you know »

Student diversity

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

816

Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Knightsen Elementary School
1923 Delta Road, Knightsen, CA  94548
(925) 625-0073
Last modified Knightsen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Knightsen Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top