Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Knightsen, CA
Students enrolled: 473
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Knightsen Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
I feel it is a privilege to send my kids to this school. Class sizes are small, the staff is supportive of each other, the parents are actively involved. Supplies are abundant. The food is healthy, the kids participate in swimming, music and art from Kindergarten on. The principal has made some not so popular decisions but has stuck to his convictions and I commend him for that. All in all Knightsen turns out compassionate, caring well mannered educated children who are learning to THINK not just "do something"

Knightsen Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
I completely agree! There were several Knightsen grads in the top 20 of the Freedom High School class. Thank you Knightsen. Credit where credit is due.


Knightsen Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
The Liberty High School Valedictorian for 2014 is a Knightsen Grad!! Many of the students in the top tier at LHS are Knightsen Grads. They have been prepared well.

Knightsen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Our family's experience at Knightsen has been extremely positive. Teachers are dedicated, open, honest and respond to parent interest well. The school is like it's own community, everybody takes a part in everything, people don't look the other way when it's not their student or their child who needs help or 'direction'. The students that are being 'raised' in the atmosphere that Knightsen School provides, are extremely aware of Others, I find this to be noteworthy. This school is working well for us and our family is proud to be part of it.

Knightsen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
Here's an update. Knightsen is indeed going through some rough times, but the teachers there for the most part are dedicated to the kids. This is small, close knit school that continues to garner top state test scores for the county. HS teachers I have spoken with say they are glad to get Knightsen students because they are ready to learn. I have found discipline of both teachers and students to be even handed when parents are willing to speak up and do so with civility. Special ed is good. Severe budget problems and a general sense of foreboding are probably the most negative factors here. It's going to take a few years before we know if those will bring down a marvelous school community. I certainly hope not. For those looking to move to the area, the other district with similar high standards would be


Knightsen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
this needs to be updated. the last review was 4 years ago. This school is nothing like those reviews. its about to be taken over and the education there no where near prepares kids for high school. joke

Knightsen Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2005
- a parent
Knightsen is a public school with a private school feeling. I have the honor of being a teacher and a parent. My daughter and I have been at Knightsen for 6 years and we love it. The school is like a family. The parents are so supportive. They help out with time, they provide us with necessary funding, and they do whatever it takes to give their children the best education possible. This is the only school that I have ever worked at where the school board prepares and serves a back to school breakfast for the teachers! Did I mention that the students at the school are the best? They are certainly a different class of kids and it makes my teaching day so much better.

Knightsen Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2005
- a parent
Knightsen is a Godsend, the closest to private school as you can get, old fashioned a tight knit, like family!


Knightsen Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
Lots of parental involvement; Prinicipal and VP know, and care about, every student; special needs/resource program is decent (and improving); they are open to suggestions and ideas re: special needs students; bullying not tolerated and dealt with appropriately. One downfall is that they do not have a PA system. I see this as a hazard as it is impossible to announce an emergency to all classes at the same time.

Knightsen Elementary School 2

Posted May 25, 2004
- a parent
As parents of an A/B student of this school for all nine years we cannot recommend this school. Though we are firm believers in a student getting out of an education what he/she puts into it, the state's testing of the school's student body reflects fairly accuratly the quality of education you can expect at this campus. Administration micro-manages it's staff's curriculum and materials resulting in a curriculum that is geared specifically to maximize performance on state testing (which doesn't work) as opposed to a well rounded and logical presentation of carefully selected meterial that maximizes understanding and retention. The net result to the parent only becomes apparent once the student enters high school, finding themselves missled by their Knightsen report card grades and not as well prepared for this transition as expected. The principal's leadership concept is at fault and as with any school, drags the entire institution down.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Knightsen Elementary School
1923 Delta Road, Knightsen, CA  94548
(925) 625-0073
Last modified Knightsen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Knightsen Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top