Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Bede The Venerable Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 256 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in La Cañada...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,057,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Teachers not only cannot teach but worst, they take pride in punishing children in such a way that will even promote humiliation. These teachers need some child development education! Their policy is "My rules are the only rule and as long as you are in my classroom, you have to follow. I don't care what your parent(s) say!" Adhering to the teacher's classroom rules is not the issue, however, when it comes to humiliating a child thru these rules, that is a problem. Principals and Archdiocese needs to interview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Suggestions are rebuffed with "maybe this school is not for your child." Horrible, unforgivable behavior by some teachers is unpunished. The lack of competitive technology is excused by the view that tech does not teach discipline or self-reliance. Students are left to learn how to live/behave with tech later than peers. iPads are not enough. The school needs online posting of assignments and grades, communication via email, electronic submission of homework, e-books, learning to communicate with video/online, etc. In-class instruction can be spent grading self-directed learning from homework. Many students do well when parents organize work for them. High school faculty report St Bede students have a poor reputation in science, writing, foreign language and arts/music. They do well with math, english and history. Some students were described as "beaten down." The lack of "fairness" or appeal for inappropriate teacher behavior instills a view that authority is illegitimate. The school rejects kids with physical or mental challenges from attending unless the diocese intervenes. Thank God for Bede's active parents and some awesome teachers. The Pasdena privates are much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

My first of 3 kids attended a local public elementary school which was a fine school but missing something for us. We experienced a loss of a close family member which reset the plan for our immediate family. We wanted to belong to a community and we wanted to share more of our faith with our children. We were lucky enough to find and get our kids admitted to St Bede's. We found everything we were looking for and more. I was surprised by how challenging the curriculum is and how well prepared the kids that attend St Bede's are for high school. They also have an excellent iPad program, state of the art computer lab, fantastic sports teams(volleyball, basketball, flag football, etc), scouts and much more I can't fit into this review. You can read these reviews but do yourself a favor and tour the school and talk with the staff. If your lucky enough to greet a student you can be sure they will have learned true character, say please and thank you and make an impression on you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Absolutely fantastic school, I have sent all of my kids there. Teachers and parents are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Very mixed feelings about our child's experience here. The parents and families and church are fantastic. You can not find better catholic values or closer, friendlier neighbors anywhere. The administrators are ensconced in habit and repeatedly have been protected even though they have been told of very bad teacher behaviors. There is an outright refusal to use modern technology for grade and assignment tracking unlike over 95% of schools today...and the post-graduate real world. The emphasis is not on teaching, but instead on punishing students who do not keep up with self study or who make mistakes tracking homework assignments. We know,of physically challenged but able students the school attempted to reject, and a very wealthy family whose donations and efforts to improve the academics were rebuffed. Science, foreign language, extracurriculars -- ie band -- and third grade are particularly horrible per our post-grade standardized tests and how far behind our child was when put in a new school. Physically new building, but the bathrooms were disgusting. This is a place you go only if you value God, the friendships, and are OK with self-directed learning at early ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

After years of hoping for improved student-teacher academics, as springboard into a successful high school, St. Bede failed. Look for other schools. It's too small, and teachers aren't punished for lousy, inferior work. A lot of parents volunteer (a parent "teaches" Writing), and lacks all qualifications and real-world writing experience. Parent volunteer teachers show favoritism. Spare your children from unfairness & improper start in education. Give them better than this "school with a playground of asphault."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I agree with the last poster who says that students should learn to manage for themselves -- they should learn to manage SCHOOLWORK for themselves. However, they should not be required to manage teachers who don't know how to teach! As a parent, you need to maintain a certain level of involvement in every activity your child is involved in. If not, abuse can happen. We've seen this in the Church. Parents should not send their children to school with a blind eye. As the last poster said "there is nothing wrong with personal accountability." Don't you think that statement should apply to the teachers & administrators too? Shouldn't they strive to improve themselves? When wrongs are pointed out by parents, is it best to respond with "parents should stay out of it & let their child figure it out"? Really? What is most important for children is to know that they are loved and cared for by their parents. This starts at birth & does not end when they enter middle school! Teachers at this school should stop pointing fingers and look inward to see where they have gone wrong. Look for ways to be better at your job. Leave moods at home and stay consistant in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

After reading reviews, I feel compelled to respond. I find it amazing that parents are complaining that they are not able to manage their child's homework due to poor technology. As a parent, I am grateful that my children have had to manage for themselves. Just as learning to read is an essential skill for success, so is learning to figure out what is required. I have seen students who have been coddled in their elementary years only to have a rude awakening in high school or even later. There is nothing wrong with personal accountability, and this is something that is taught at this school. I have two children who have gone through this school and they are thriving with their workloads and performance at their high schools. I see their preparation compared to students coming from La Canada public schools as well as other Catholic schools and there can be no complaint about the school. It seems to me that some parents should take their complaints to a forum other than the internet if they are looking for change. As with other facets of life, there is no utopia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Very small-minded school with parents who behave as if they're in a high school clique. Snobbish attitudes prevail and the school is asking for additional monies at all times, as is the church. Many teachers are not credentialed by the State of California! Education is equal or better at most nearby public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

As for technology to allow helicopter parents to monitor their child's every move, the school choses instead to teach students self-reliance, responsibility and has plenty of parent communication vehicles. For technology that matters they have new iPads for Kinders, new lap tops for every teacher, new wifi network, school wide microsoft software upgrades for classroom computers, Edmodo and google apps for 8th grade, and will have an upgraded computer lab next semester. As for teaching credentials being important, why doesn't Sidwell Friends where the President's daughters attend school require teaching credentials, or Polytechnic our locally renowned school require them? Because teaching credentials do not screen for excellent faculty, they are a bureacratic checklist. St. Bede and all Parochial schools have a rigorous criteria for hiring faculy, including prior teaching experience, religious education and commitment to students who can inspire learning. Credentialing is a public school obsession which has done little to improve these schools. St. Bede is a school full of wonderful people of faith giving their children the gift of a lifetime, a Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

The teachers and staff at St. Bede really go the extra mile and the academic success of the students is the proof. The faculty has invested considerable time over the past year in their continuing professional development. In addition to the entire faculty taking religious certification classes, some have attended technology seminars and conferences, other attended workshops on the new Common Core Curriculum, and completed course work towards advanced degrees. Their commitment to continually advancing their expertise and instructional skills has greatly benefitted my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

How fortunate we are to have a school of St. Bede caliber in this community. It is a nurturing place with a great and caring staff. They provide the tools necessary to be sucessful in their future academic and christian lives. Thank you St. Bedes for all that you do for our children.


Posted March 22, 2012

In any community, you will find supporters who will embrace all the resources a school offers along with detractors who are vocal. La Canada and its surrounding communities have excellent schools, public, private and parochial, at a variety of price points that unhappy parents should consider to ensure the best fit for their child and family. Bottom line, St. Bede prepares the students as demonstrated by this year's 8th grade class acceptances to high schools including Flintridge Prep, St. Francis, FSHA, Mayfield, Poly, and Loyola.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

We sent all our children to St. Bede School, and after reading the negative comments below, I felt like I needed to speak up for a family who has had a positive experience. From the first day we started, which was 9/11, we knew this was a special place. The children went to mass and prayed together. This school is a place of faith where children have opportunities to participate in weekly student-led Masses and get very comfortable with their spiritual selves. The students gain a strong sense of service to others through their involvement in Holy Childhood and other service projects. While other schools are getting rid of PE, our students still have have PE at least twice a week--yes on a blacktop-- but who plays kickball or basketball on grass? Academically, the school ranks in the top 5% in the Archdiocese. My children were well prepared for high school and got into their first choices. I agree with the parent below who said St. Bede is not for everyone, but it has provided my family with a wonderful parish school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My children attend St Bede School and have thrived. The school ranks near the top among all Catholic schools in the Los Angeles archdiocese. There are many great families. The kids participate in many service activities. As parents we are fortunate to be part of a unique community of dedicated and caring people who share core Catholic values and provide unwavering support to one another. The school sends out weekly emails to keep parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

We have three children with unique interests and abilities enrolled at St. Bede School and have enjoyed a very positive experience. Challenging academics, caring teachers, faith and character development, tremendous parental involvement and a strong sense of community name a few of the school's many attributes. We are truly grateful to have the opportunity to educate our children at St. Bede School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

Teachers are not helpful with parent questions. They don't use technological advances to communicate, inform, etc. The playground is a parking lot. P.E. is taught on parking lot. The food is pretty good, and the school is newer, so it shows well. A lot of fundraising. Always asking for more money; in a way it seems like the school's mantra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

My four children have had the good fortune to attend Saint Bede school. They are academicaly challenged, expectations for behavior are high and the implimenation of the pillars of character are a daily experience. It is a challnge raising children in this media frenzy time and I am greatful for the support the staff of Saint Bede's continues to give my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

It was a huge mistake to put our children here. A good public or good charter (public) school would've been superior. Wasted critical years in a place that really only accepts families who've lived in the area for generations--unless you're really rich and don't mind sharing with them. Regret the years wasted there. Not strong academically. If you're wealthy, there are far better choices for academics. If you're not, find a great public school and apply there. There's not even a grassy playground!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

Children get injured on the asphalt parking lot (there's no grass). Some teachers are not even credentialed by the state of California; they're not qualified to teach! A lot of homework from things not taught in class. A lot of snobs. They constantly ask for money (not just tuition); lots and lots of fundraising. Good Christian values are buried under nonsense by stuck-up parents. No foreign language.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ralph Valente
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4524 Crown Avenue
La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011
Phone: (818) 790-7884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Bede The Venerable Elementary School
La Cañada Flintridge, CA



Foothill Progressive Montessori Schools
La Cañada Flintridge, CA




Five Acres
Altadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT