Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palm Crest Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 27, 2016
- a community member
I feel that our principal, Karen Hurley, is exceptional. She constantly strives to improve the learning environment, is accessible, and always open to new ideas. Her enthusiasm and caring demeanor to everyone in the Palm Crest community make attending the school a joy.

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a community member
My children have had exceptional learning and social experiences at Palm Crest. The teachers and the principal are accessible, enthusiastic, and work hard to ensure that all students succeed.


Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
We appreciate reading the reviews on GreatSchools.org. Palm Crest is an awesome school, has excellent teachers, and an amazing educational foundation that supports the school. It has a supportive community of generous parents and neighbors. For us, the highest ratings on each dimension. LC is a great place to raise our growing family. Thanks! :)

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
Excellent school, just love Palm Crest! So much positive, going far beyond their outstanding test scores. Great teachers and environment. Our son and daughter are happy and smiling after each day. Glad we made our family move to La Canada, and this gem of a school has been a huge bonus for our family. Thank you so much, and great to be part of this wonderful community.

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
I completely agree with the last review, such a wonderful, caring, and top rated school district in Calif. We moved into the area, and Palm Crest was a very easy, and positive transition. Our kids love school and their teachers, and have made great friends there. The teachers really care, are supportive, and love their students. It made our relocation to the area very positive. We so appreciate living in this area of La Canada, and feel fortunate to be here. Our kids are energized by the experience, and show more enthusiasm for learning every year. Keep up the great work!


Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
We had 2 children go through Palm Crest, and found the environment very positive and supportive. Our kids really thrived and were happy, and it was the perfect balance of a thoughtful and challenging elementary school experience. Wendy (the current district superintendent), used to be the principal there, and seems to really appreciate the teachers and their efforts. We give the school our highest rating, and the neighborhoods around the school are awesome. Our kids always walked to school, and just loved it! :)

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
Incredible school in every way, from the kids to the teachers to the parents to the principal.

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
My wife and I have been thrilled with our experience at Palm Crest. We currently have 4th and 1st grade children attending. What sets Palm Crest apart from other top schools is the level of parental involvement. n addition to the music, art, drama and Spanish that is available to all students there are numerous after school classes offered included band, strings, chess club, robotics, tennis, GATE enrichment classes. The Palm Crest PTA also sponsors music and art docent programs (LA Philharmonic parent) and View the Stars night involving telescopes (run by NASA parent) There is a Dad's PTA, a Panther Partners (new families welcoming program), a thriving Science Fair, a summer reading program among other things. There were times in my son's kindergarten class last year where there were 4 parents volunteering in the class at the same time. The PTA sponsors events for parents and children that encourage folks to really get to know each other which makes the environment feel like a close-knit community. Palm Crest just received the California Distinguished Schools Award two years ago. This is a school of exceptional teachers, parents and students like none other out there!


Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
Palm Crest has fantastic new and veteran teachers, a spectacular principal, and believes in teaching beyond the tests. It's in a beautiful area away from the exhaust and congestion of the city. The kids are vibrant, creative, and engaged. Best school in the area by far.

Palm Crest Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
A really good public school with caring teachers (for the most part) and a very hands on Principal in Mrs. Hurley. Palm Crest has a warm, caring environment, a good program for kids with special needs, and an active PTA. As at any school, there are a few less than steller teachers and our daughter had one in 4th grade. But for the most part the teachers are committed, caring, and dedicated.

Nearby schools

Palm Crest Elementary School
5025 Palm Drive, La Canada, CA  91011-1518
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (818) 952-8360
Last modified Palm Crest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top