Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
La Canada, CA
Students enrolled: 714
 

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Love this school! My daughter never went to preschool and by the first 6 weeks of 1st grade she was already reading Dr. Seuss books! Small class sizes, caring, loving and involved teachers. Cannot say enough about this school!

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergarten at PCY and I cannot express how happy I am with the school and the community. She loves to go to school and looks forward to all the available activities. Although there were some budget cuts, they retained all the key activities such as music, art, and computer classes. Also, there is a science club Spanish actually starts in 1st grade. We're so happy to get top education in a public school. The new principle is great also, very involved and believe she will lead the school to the next level with investments in technology tools to help the school. The best!


Paradise Canyon Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
Visit this school and you will find the atmostphere tangibly Happy! The children have a real comraderie, and parents are nice too. Events such as the Spirit Rallies, field trips and the Medieval Faire strenghen unity and develop a real sense of community at this school. The teachers are SO excellent and dedicated, just awesome. The curriculum is thorough, not easy! and the children are challenged to do their best. The Libary, Art and Computer programs round out the classroom instruction. Among the extras: the children can play in the mornings on the playground before the bell rings, there is opportunity to take a spanish-language class in 4th grade, and Choir beginning in 1st Grade. All the wonderful details that make up Paradise Canyon are concerted with the great leadership of our long-time dedicated Principal. Thank you Mrs. Robinson, we are so happy to be here!

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
Great school, but not perfect. We moved from New York, and were a little disappointed. Part of the cause is the Prop 13 school (under-)funding problem in California. Here the local Educational Foundation raises over $1,000,000 per year, but 4th-6th grade still has 35 kids/class, and art/music only twice a month. Constant fundraising events are tiring because the burden is on parents to ask friends and family to buy stuff or donate yourself. I learned about charity from March of Dimes, etc, but here it's only for their own school, though it's a very wealthy community. As for academics, there is a lot of homework, and 'achievement' is a high priority. I don't think that instruction is up to the level of expectations of student performance (parents make up the gap). Many parents are a bit over-protective/hovering. Atmosphere of respect and courtesy is what I like best.


Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Excellent teachers and atmosphere. A great facility.

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
Exceptional principal and parent involvement. The scores are high and there is a real sense of 'community' at the school.

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted December 25, 2005
- a parent
Paradise Canyon is a wonderful neighborhood school with terrific teachers. The school sponsors art, music, and foreign language (Spanish) classes as a result of funds donated by the local educational foundation. Parents are very involved in the classroom and with helping support the school via fundraising, etc. Our family has been exceedingly happy with our move to La Canada and PCY.


Paradise Canyon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2005
- a parent
Parent involvement is extremely strong. My son loves the school.

Paradise Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paradise Canyon Elementary School
471 Knight Way, La Canada, CA  91011
(818) 952-8340
Last modified Paradise Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paradise Canyon Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top