Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crescenta Valley Adventist School

Private | K-8 | 130 students

Building character through academic excellence in a caring, Christian environmen
 
 

 
 

Living in La Crescenta

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $503,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

I love this school. I was once a student here. I Remember that the teachers were always if great help. The school has a great christian environment. The best thing about this school is how close the students, parents, and teachers are. I would recommend this school to everyone I know.


Posted June 8, 2014

This is a great school with a great christian environment. All the teachers are great. All the families and students are close too.


Posted April 12, 2014

My kids love CVAS. My daughter started K in 2007, now she is in 6th. My son is in 4th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

My daughter started at CVAS in 4th grade and graduated in 2010, My son started in pre School and is currently attending and will be graduating this year 2014. My wife and I as well as our kids are so greatfull to this school for helping us sculpt our kids future spiritually and academically , we are blessed to be part of the CVAS family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Fantastic school! Both our children started in this school since kindergarten, with one graduating this year from 8th grade. Not only do they receive excellent academic learning but they also receive the spiritual nurturing you would hope for them to receive outside of your home, to prepare them not just for higher learning but for life. Our children have been blessed through the years with dedicated administrators, staff and teachers who love The Lord and are passionate about giving of their best to each student and their families, as well. Academic excellence, leadership mentoring, sports and physical development, creative arts and music, and a wide range of extracurricular options, have given our children a well rounded foundation in their growth and development in becoming upstanding and outstanding. In addition, the close knit sense of community and camaraderie within the school and between families have given our children invaluable friendships that we know will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

I can go back to when my first son now attending USC as a Sophomore first attended CVAS and later my second son currently attending 8th grade and I can't think of anything else but being blessed for that decision. The school is also our family and my sons have made relationships that they will take into adulthood. As a parent I have made many friends from the same families sending their children here. This is a transgeneratial school, I have met so many parents that they themselves attended this very beautiful campus as well as some of their parents themselves. Academically I can't say enough about the school, it has prepared my sons for the next step and they had the opportunity to work with great teachers, principals, parents, staff over the past 18 years for my family alone. My sons have had opportunities to learn from so many different cultures, to see places they would not have seen in other schools, thru educational fieldtrips, that have only open up their horizons and made them more aware of the world and all the beauty it has to offer. I believe CVAS has done that an more and we wish the school the best. Once my son graduates this year, we will never forget CVAS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

CVAS has been a blessing for our family! It has been a great Christian environment for our children to grow up and learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

This is an amazing smaller private K-8th school. The teachers and principal are fantastic. They embrace all kinds of learning opportunities and it is common to see the different classrooms spending time outside for play and for learning. They actually have a giant grassy field, and not just a cement jungle. The Christian environment is so appreciated and the quality of education and character development is outstanding. Wouldn't dream of ever sending our kids any where else. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

This school has many great attributes: subjects are taught well, all students have choir or band, homework is a respectable amount, after school activities including sports teams, teachers and staff have graduated great universities including Loma Linda, La Sierra, and USC. The K-8 curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming. If you find your child should skip a grade they will help with that process too. It's exceptional in that there are international students from S. Korea, China and Japan. The kids develop lifelong friendships with peers and teachers and parents. Parents are highly motivated and are encouraged to support the school and see the programs succeed by volunteering every day. In addition, the family atmosphere is extended to seeing their friends, classmates, and teachers at their church as well. Students come from all walks of life and graduate with a solid foundation for high school and beyond. Wendy Newmyer is the principal and loves her job and the kids. Her leadership is contagious and motivates others to see her vision of a great school getting greater. Visit the school and visit the school's website: www.cvas.net .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

This school has enriched my family for generations! My mother attended, my siblings and I attended, and now my own children attend this jewel of a school. I see my classmates dropping off their own children here in the morning as well. We all continue this tradition because we want the quality education in a caring, Christian environment that this school has given for 90 years. Small classroom sizes, high academic scores, and daily worship in the classrooms are only a few reasons why I encourage you to come and visit this school for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

We love this school! And more importantly our kids love this school. I have never seen another school where the 8th graders know the Kindergarteners and work and play with them. This one aspect creates such confidents in the younger students that its benefits are beyond measure. The school motto is We Are One and it holds very true to that. It really is a school family and NOT just a place to send my kids. The school emphasizes the values and lessons that we instill at home and at church. Academics are very important at CVAS but I love the way lessons are NOT taught to the test. Instead information is conveyed in a non-pressure way that encourages the kids to want to learn. This allows for learners of all development stages to truly grasp the information. And an interesting fact is that students typically score at two grade levels above their public school counterparts. If you re looking for a safe, secure, loving environment for your children, you ve found it in Crescenta Valley Adventist School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

Both my son and my daughter attend this school. My daughter recently graduated from this school as well. It's filled with kind and loving teachers. It's an absolutely great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Crescenta Valley Adventist is not just a school, is a second home for our children. From the safe enviroment to the loving and caring staff, not to mention the principal,Mr.Brown, who knows each and everyone of the students by their first name. Crescenta Valley Adventist, not only has an awesome academic program but also teaches our children great values.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 11%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 1st Place for Academic Bowl (2012)
  • 3rd Place for Academic Bowl (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. wendy Newmyer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • secretary@cvas.net
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Hand Miming
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Robbin's Nest Preschool
A+ Preschool

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Church Sponsor

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Glendale Adventist Academy
Maranatha Highschool
Crescenta Valley High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6245 Honolulu Avenue
La Crescenta, CA 91214
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 249-1504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Verdugo Academy
La Crescenta, CA


La Crescenta Montessori School
La Crescenta-Montrose, CA


First Steps
Glendale, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT