Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Crescenta Montessori School

Private | K-5 | 24 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $503,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2013

We have two kids a two year old and a three and a half year old that have been at this school for the past 18 months. WE LOVE the teachers and the program. The academics are incredible and the teachers are very loving. Can't imagine leaving our children anywhere else. Thank you Ms. Gail and staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My infant has been at La Crescenta Montessori for almost a year and she loves her teachers. She never cries when I drop her off and she loves to hug her teachers good bye when it's time to leave. I know while she is there she is in the best hands, learning colors, shapes, animal names and sounds. Each child learns at his or her own pace and they all have fun. These are babies and they are almost always smiling and laughing! The care they receive is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

I've had my two children at this school for the last four years. They are in an educationally rich and loving environment. The teachers are very caring and there is good structure to this program. My children stay until about 5:30 p.m., and although it's a long day for them, there are activities scheduled after school ends. The teachers help them to complete their homework by about 3:30 and the rest of the time is spent playing. For those who commented that the kids are watching movies in the late afternoon, that is after completion of the school day, homework, outside playtime and snack time. Believe me, my kids are enjoying the playground: I can tell from their clothes!! The school is safe (number coded doors to prevent intruders) and the play equipment is well maintained. The elementary grades use the same curriculum as La Canada schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Overall a wonderful school. We are very happy with our daughter and son's progress. However, some of teachers are much-much better than the others. Some of teachers seem to be teaching for the pure joy of it (and it shows), while others lack the same passion. If your child is a 'free spirit', beware of an occasional conformist mentality with some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

My child has been a student at LCMS for nearly three years. The staff is caring and very motherly towards the kids. The kids do watch videos after the school portion has ended, at 5:00 p.m. There are three things I would change if I could: 1-make sure that all the aides have decent reading skills, 2-make sure that all the staff has FIRST AID & CPR training, 3-make sure there is a correct teacher:student ratio on 'holidays' (i.e. - days where the school would normally be closed but for an extra $15-20 they will open. But with these aside, this is still the best daycare/preschool I have seen in the area. At 3 years of age, my daughter can count to 50, read the alphabet in upper & lowercase, tell her shapes and colors & has developed a level of compassion & empathy that I associate with a Montessori education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

My daughter attended this school for Pre-school. The staff was always helpful and friendly. My daughter loved her teachers. She entered public school Kindergarten 1-2 grade levels above in most abilities and so school was never a stress for her. Yes, every now & then they watch tv or stay inside if it's too hot - but they have extended day care! Some kids are there all day while their parents work. It's a very flexible and wonderful situation for working parents - I wish other schools had great care arrangements too. It's very academic, but nothing is forced on the children. The children want to learn because they see the other children doing it. I think it's a wonderful school and it has great opportunities for supplemental programs like gymnastics and dance. I will send my son when he is old enough too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

We sent our daugter to this school for preschool and KG. They taught her phonetics first and she began to read words very fast. They also taught music & dance. Overall we were satisfied with the learning she did from this school and making her first year of the public school much easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I brought my son to this school as a baby, he did learn the first two years. After that I realized I was putting 480.00 dollars in the trash each month. No homework, not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

I would not recomment this school. The staff are rude and there's no structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

I would not recommend this school to anyone. There is no structure. The children are not disciplined. Stay away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Very nice school with great staff and teachers who really show that they love working with kids. I've seen extreme patience and kindness on the part of the teachers and have seen it come through in the interaction between the children. Personally the teachers in the infant care area are the best - they are very motherly and fun. There are even days when my daughter will cry because she wants to stay with them. It makes me feel good about my choice in sending her there. I plan on keeping my daughter in this school for as long as we can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

Its great! Very academic and friendly staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

I picked up my nieces from this 'school' today, and I couldn't wait to get them out of there. The children were all in dark rooms watching videos, while it was bright and sunny outside. I would never leave my babies there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 27%
Two or more races 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4%
Black 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Girlie Amarasinghe
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3811 Foothill Boulevard
La Crescenta-Montrose, CA 91214
Phone: (818) 249-5437

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Verdugo Academy
La Crescenta, CA




First Steps
Glendale, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT