Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arbolita Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

Arbolita School was recently ranked the # 8 public elementary school in Orange County by the OC Register in an independent assessment of all public schools. The California Department of Education is currently considering Arbolita School for the Distinguished School Award. In 2014-15, Arbolita will begin offering a Dual Immersion Spanish -English Kindergarten program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2014

We love Arbolita! The staff and administration are friendly and caring. The schools location makes us feel embraced in the neighborhood and my children can walk to school! This little campus has a lot to offer and my 4 year old is very excited to start TK next year and then move into the Dual Immersion program in Kindergarten. Before I visited Arbolita I was thinking of transferring my kids into another school district. I am so thankful I didn't!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Arbolita Elementary School is staffed with caring and supportive teachers who really care about their students education. My grandson is in the second grade and each year I have been amazed by the skill,compassion and genuine effort being put into the time and truly the quality of time given to meet my grandsons educational needs. I am a proud grandma, I am proud of my grandson and I am proud of the teachers educating my grandson. I appreciate all the Teachers, Office personnel, after school programs to help the students with their homework and the Principal, Mr. Snyder. I thank everyone for the gift of education being given to my grandson. I hope my simple words carry the weight of how spectatular Arbolita Elementary School is and all the hard work does not go unnoticed or unappreciated.


Posted March 4, 2013

This school is okay it seems like all the teachers don't get along as for the principal if you have a problem he tells you what you want to hear it's very disappointing to hear the noon duty ladies screaming at the kids constantly over and over . There should be another way of disappointing kids without screaming at them. There is 1 first grade teacher that screams constantly at her students in her class you could hear it all the time. There are several teachers there that love their job and you could see it in the way they teach and how the kids excel. You could see the tension of staff members not getting along with each other as for the front desk well not always 100 percent friendly. there is a school closer but to get a inner district transfer is too hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

i am really glad that my daughter attented this school. This is her second year at this school. And im very happy with her last two teachers they were really great..The principal Mr. Snider is doing an excellent job..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

I am very disapointed with this school. The Principal has recently been changed and it seems that the entire teaching culture left with the previous Principal. I would stay far away from this school. If i could rate this school less than 1 star I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I was very glad that my children attended this school. My daughter attended this school for 3 years and loved all of her teachers. The principal Mrs. Egan is much loved and respected by all children and their parents. Mrs. Egan becomes very involved with each child and therefore develops a personal one on one relationship with each of them. I only wish every teacher had this ability to connect with each of their students. Mrs. Egan returned all of my calls whenever I had any concerns and always managed to resolve these concerns. She is an awesome and loving Principal and extraordinary lady. Arbolita is very fortunate to have her. They also have an extended care center for after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My daughter attended k-2 grade at Arbolita. As a parent I became involved with PTA and SSC. I also spent time helping in each of my daughter's classrooms as much as my schedule allowed. This gave me the opportunity to observe the teacher/student relationship. i feel that each of her teacher's did an excellent job. The principal, Mrs. Egan, is also doing an excellent job. Serving on PTA and SSC gave me a chance to work with her at school functions/activities. She is doing a great job in communicating with parents to determine what their needs or concerns are regarding their children. The last three years my daughter spent at Arbolita, Mrs. Egan, my daughter's teacher's and other staff member's I had a chance to meet were all very courteous, professional and gracious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

The teachers at Arbolita work harder than any at any school I have ever been to. The principal is an exceptional leader who is always looking to improve. The Arbolita staff has tremendous heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2003

My daughter atended Arbolita from K-2nd grade, and my other daughter attended for just kindergarten. And all I have to say is, Arbolita is definitely the most wonderful school that a child could attend! The really make the kids shine as bright as a start. The staff overflows with encouragement and structure. This school is a 5 star school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

855

Change from
2012 to 2013

+50

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

855

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+50

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females65%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females74%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 94%
White 4%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
English language learners 59%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rick Snyder
Fax number
  • (562) 697-8862

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 East Brookdale Avenue
La Habra, CA 90631
Phone: (562) 690-2352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Keiki O Ke Akua
La Habra, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT