Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ladera Palma Elementary School 2

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Test scores are extremely concerning. There was a huge nose-dive in the 2012-2013 school year. I see no real innovation inside the classrooms. I also don't see students who could be excelling get pushed to do more. This school and leadership are just okay. I hear a lot of Spanish being spoken both inside and outside the classroom. We are looking to move as soon as possible to get our student in a better school.

Ladera Palma Elementary School 1

Posted July 27, 2013
- a community member
It is unfathomable why the test scores are falling low every year in this once known as 'ladera perfect' school. This school has not shown much growth over the past few years and it is very concerning for those planning to purchase a house in this school's neighborhood (Most houses sell in the range of ~500K). Parents,do your due diligence before choosing this school for your child.


Ladera Palma Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
I'm happy whith Melody's School, they have a good rate also they give a lot Thanks miss brooks rom 8

Ladera Palma Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
Mrs. Olynyk gets my vote here as well. The school is great and the teachers are excellent. I'm looking forward to 2nd grade for my son, I've heard nothing but great things about Mrs. Varela!

Ladera Palma Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
This school is recently recognized as 'Ca. Distinguished School'. The Principal is excellent. Principal Awards are given to students who really work hard. I just hope that parents are told ahead of time so the student can be prepared nicely to be with the principal. The principal is out each day beginning & end of the schoolday to greet and supervise the students. She knows the students names very well. The teachers I've encountered so far are excellent -Mrs. Mann(K);Mrs. Olynyk(1st)-they have both exceeded my expectations on my child's learning experience. My child is in advanced reading and am really glad that he is recognized. The cons are the parking upon drop off & pick up. Wish they have a pattern for school bus and private autos. Next is that the school is only until 2nd grade. Last con is before & afterschool watch. No priority for Ladera Palma student.


Ladera Palma Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2007
- a parent
The only thing I don't like about Ladera Palma is that it is K-2. My son is going to be a third grader and I wish he didn't have to leave the school. The teachers are excellent, as is the administration. The whole experience of this school exceeded my expectations.

Ladera Palma Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2007
- a parent
My 4 kids have attended this school, I love Mrs. Varela, Ms. Mc Cully and Mrs. Brooks they are wonderful teachers. They are the reason I'm sending my 8 year old daughter there. I'm very thankful towards the teachers that lend a helping hand and show how much they care for our children.

Ladera Palma Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
Great School. Beautiful location. Great academic program (api doesn't lie) and they have a great facility. I wouldn't think of sending my first grade child anywhere else.


Ladera Palma Elementary School 4

Posted December 26, 2006
- a parent
My son attends this school and is in second grade now. I have been very satisfied with his academic achievements, and our teachers have been superb! Mrs. K is also very supportive and is an outstanding principal.

Ladera Palma Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended this school for K & 1st. This is an Awesome school. The Principal Mrs. K is Awesome, she knows all the kids names & parents. She is always available and makes herself present. Mrs. Olnyk, is Awesome she always puts her students & parents first. Always makes time for them. The teachers have a lot of experience and a great education. The class ratios are 1 to 20. The playgrouinds are new. Field Trips Awesome (Dana Point, Ocean Institute.) Lots of school extracurricular activities, Homework is good lot of variety, In K they learn to read, 1st, they learn esssay writing, Great PTA, Great Parent involvement, Teachers love parent involvement. Class parties are fun, I would like to see the lunch room offer a sack lunch too, My only complaint is the Office Lady can be rude,especially for working with Parents in a school setting.

Nearby schools

Ladera Palma Elementary School
2151 East Brookdale Avenue, La Habra, CA  90631-3267
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (562) 690-2348
Last modified Ladera Palma Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-2
Top