Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Las Lomas Elementary School

Public | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La Habra

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $303,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2012

The first week of school was chaos! There is a 34 to 1 ratio. This is my sons first year in kindergarten and there was no communication from staff to parents. We parents were told that we would be able to follow our children for the first week of school and on the second day we were no longer allowed to stay with our children. There are not enough staff members at las lomas to care for the children. Some where lost in the shuffle and were escorted back to their teachers. Some teachers were not even aware that one of their students was missing. This experience was very disconcerning and I am condisering transfering my child out of the district. This was not at all how I thought las lomas would be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

The first day of school was awesome! My grandchildren transitioned from private school to second grade at Las Lomas and to observe professionalism/organization on the first day from the staff was impressive. We are looking forward to a successful year.


Posted June 3, 2008

My son was attending a private montessori school, before attending Las Lomas. My son learned so much at the private school, but due to financial responsibilities, I was forced to send my son to public school. My son's kindergarten teacher is wonderful. I have no complaints with her whatsoever, she is doing her job well. What I do have issues with is how the children are not being challenged enough academically. The standards are so low that in comparison to other children, my son is well ahead of his grade level in all subjects. I don't agree. My son is just where he should be for his age. This may have nothing to do with the school, maybe more so on the states low standards, but in comparison to his last school, I must say it is below what I expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

My son's teachers for the last 3 years have been exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

I have one in 2nd grade, and 1st grade. They both had an excellent kindergarten year. They loved school and learned a lot. The Roaring reader program, which encourages students to read more is a very good program. My older one had a great teacher during the 1st grade year, and he really learned a lot. Excel program, that started last year also seemed to have done well. Principle is awesome, and lots of great teachers and staffs at Las Lomas! I wish some parents would show more of common sense of courtesy and caring for others. I encounter quite a few who don't follow the rules that have been requested from school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Good Basic Elementary school close to my home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My son has just finished the second grade at Las Lomas and is getting ready to start at Las Positas school. While I'm excited about the new school, I will miss the attentiveness and dedication of the teachers and staff at Las Lomas. Each of my son's teachers took extra steps with all of her students in recognizing and maximizing everyone's potential. Each teacher was experienced, well-organized, and used effective disciplinary tools. Small class sizes and availability of learning resources really help. Lastly, parent conferences and meetings with teachers at Las Lomas are productive, and I always left each meeting knowing exactly how my son was progressing and where the problem areas were, as well as some tips as to what I could do at home to support his teacher's daily efforts. My only suggestion for improvement is the addition of after-school activities for music, art, foreign language, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

The teachers at Las Lomas are awesome! It has been said that children go into the school as question marks and come out as periods. This is definitly not the case here. My children have become more curious and want to learn more about everything. The teachers have inspired their curiosity and created an environment that is so enriching and comfortable for them. My children have enjoyed the learning process and still talk about the fun they had in the classroom with their past teachers at Las Lomas.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2004

My son just started Kindergarden at Las Lomas elementary school. So far so good. My concern is the CAT and Standard test results on 2003 and 2004 is much lower than neighboring city. So far, I see dedicated teachers and staffs who works hard to provide safe comfortable environment for kids to learn and assist those who are English learner. I am anxious to learn more about the school as my son enjoys going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

We have found the advancement of the daily cirriculum to be a slow process, our son is bored by the 'same old' daily classroom activities and does not feel safe going to school due to the lack of supervision on the playground. Our son loves school, learning and the challeges of a new project; however, we are displeased with the methods of instruction and the lack of parent/teacher relations that should occur. (ie correspondance, regular testing for advancement opportunites and positive/negative feedback on the behavior, challenges and coaching opportunities observed by the teaching staff. Efforts have been made by the Principal to encourage our son to point out bad behavior offenders. No feedback on reprimands of the student(s) involved has been given, with the exception of a phone call advising it is against school policy for a student to defend himself. We are totally unsatisfied with the respect given to the parents/student that try so hard to 'do the right thing' and be a good role model for others. We have raised our son to always consider the feelings of others and show respect to those around him while conducting himself in an appropriate manner at all times. Going to school should be about learning and socialization not protecting and making excuses for other students that may not have the basics of being a good person.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

826

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

826

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females58%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females71%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 87%
White 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Black 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
English language learners 51%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pam Cunningham

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Las Lomas Drive
La Habra, CA 90631
Phone: (562) 690-2353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mercy's Gate
La Habra, CA



Idaho Kiddie Land
La Habra, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT