Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Children's School

Private | PK-8 | 245 students

We believe in educating the whole child, intellectually, emotionally & socially

 

Living in La Jolla

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $810,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 17 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2010

We have been at TCS for six years. We came to TCS for their one of a kind Toddler program. Now, five years later we are still impressed with their social curriculum, academics, hands on learning, Spanish, music, science and computer programs. This has shown to be a wonderful school where our child has the freedom to grow and learn. I am thankful for the dedicated teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

We have 3 children at TCS in 5th, 3rd and 2d grade. We have been at the school for 3 years. So we are currently immersed in the elementary program and preparing for our oldest son to enter middle school. We feel so fortunate that our son will attend middle school in a school that fosters intellectual inquiry, teaches personal accountability and respect for all individuals. Our children love the active learning environment, particularly the focus on arts and science. We are often awed by the level of knowledge and insight that they exhibit in discussions with family and friends. TCS is an exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

We could not be happier with our experience at The Children's School. We were drawn to TCS for its progressive philosophy, attention to social/emotional curriculum, and magical environment. But, we were unexpectedly surprised by how rigorous the academics are. The child-centered, hands-on approach to teaching is hardly fluff, but instead very advanced. As we hear about what the children are currently learning, we can't help but say again and again, 'If only I had been taught that way!' While our family makes sacrifices to send our child to a private school, we believe with conviction that it is absolutely worth it and that TCS sets the bar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

We now have 3 kids at the school, and while each is very different, they all love the school and are progressing both academically and socially. The best part about the school is the teachers. They have great educational backgrounds and love to teach and be with the kids. From toddlers on up, we couldn't be happier with how our children are being prepared for high school, college, and most importantly, life. If only they could build more parking spaces, it'd be perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

For us, the academics were so-so and we had to get tutoring to catch up. Maybe since they're hiring a new principal it will help? I hope things start turning around for them and they get some kids into the empty desks in the elementary part.


Posted October 22, 2009

My daughter has attended TCS for 6 years and is in the Nelson Middle Years program this year. She has thrived here and it is evident in her acadmic grades and self-confidence. The teachers have always been amazing, nurturing and positive mentors. I feel that TCS has prepared her and she can go on to a public high school with ease. I highly recommend TCS for parents that are looking for a school not only where they're child will succeed but will enjoy a love for learning, be respectful and a critical thinker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I was very disappointed in our experience at the Children's School. The art and dance programs are excellent, some of the teachers are very committed and the school is lively, but there are significant problems. I found the school academically lacking with math and science taking a back seat to art and children who are in any way outside the average seem to be lacking in support. Discipline feels chaotic. I also found the parents association terrifyingly overbearing with constant demands for donations and fundraising. Families seem ostracized if their parents don't contribute enough. I rarely saw the headteacher. The fees and donations seem exorbitant to me. While I love the concept of the progressive school, the implementation seems too vague and too based around the arts - and there are much cheaper, high quality alternative options out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My two daughters are very different from each other, but each is thriving in this special place. TCS teachers are the best and brightest applying the cutting edge in educational approaches, rather than simply teaching to standardized tests. In the four years we've been at this school, we're always amazed by the students - they all seem more confident, tolerant, intellectually curious, and socially conscious than the typical kids at other schools. i don't think that's the result of self-selection. I think it's the result of the TCS environment and curriculum. And we can't imagine any other place for our kids during the crazy middle school years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

What sets TCS apart is it's approach to teaching. The school recognizes that a 21st century graduate will be entering a world that values a different set of skills than were emphasized during their parents school years. The teachers are excellent and are regularly introducing new teaching methods into the classroom to keep our kids challenged and engaged. Class sizes are small so students get lots of one-on-one attention. The curriculum is integrated so students might be learning geography through art or history during reading time. Each 6th grader gets their own laptop to use in class and for homework. My son has been at the school for over 6 years and has thrived in this close-knit school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My children are in their fourth year at TCS and the whole family loves it. We came for preschool and frankly did not intend to stay for the elementary program b/c of the cost but it's hard to leave a place where your children know everyone, skip into school and learning in exciting, interesting ways. Faculty and staff are top-notch and the parent atmosphere is collegial, warm and supportive. TCS s approach to learning differs from traditional schools by giving kids plenty of opportunities to dig into work through hands-on projects and experiments. My children love it. The recent test scores show it s a method that not only keeps kids from getting bored or burned out in school, it s incredibly academically successful, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Confident kids and Challenging Academics. From studying science to conversations about social justice, this school has it all. Their annual Great Artists is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

We are a previous family at TCS. We thoroughly enjoyed the early years - pre-school through kindergarten. As we progressed, we found the main focus to be on fund-raising. There was a total lack of discipline in the classroom, the children were not being pushed or encouraged to push themselves. We finally removed our daughter when she expressed concern that she was behind in several subjects that would get her to the next stage. We tried several times to express our concerns with the teacher and administration but these issues were not resolved. We also tried to address the social atmosphere of the school and were just told that this how children learned to deal with problems. After discussing with parents at other children, we decided to pull her and the change has been extraordinary. She is now in a classroom where children are helped to work through their social conflicts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

Boy, our family loves The Children's School. Our two children graduated from here and have moved on to be highly successful, self-motivated and compassionate middle schoolers with a strong self image. They think critically, solve problems, and tend to question the status quo as they make decisions for themselves. Their education was well-rounded from the core academics to the extra curricular and specialty classes. And as parents, we found that everyone, from teachers to school leaders to other parents, was supportive and there for us. What more could anyone want in a school? And the faculty seem so happy with the school that not a single teacher left the school last year! The word is quickly getting around that The Children's School is the place to go for the best elementary education in San Diego. If you haven't checked it out yet, why not?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Our family has been at The Children's School for quite a few years now, and the atmosphere on campus has never been more exciting or energetic. The buzz around campus is extraordinary as everyone eagerly awaits the addition of a middle school in the next couple of years. Parents are excited, kids are excited, and teachers and staff are excited. What type of families should consider The Children's School? Families who value strong academics, a challenging curriculum, an unparalleled social curriculum, motivated and involved parents, and staff that go above and beyond to make sure every child learns. Our children love learning and we have no doubt that they will continue to be successful with the solid foundation they've acquired at The Children's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

Great school! Our child is thriving and is academically way beyond his peers that attend the local public school. He is challenged and motivated to question and think critically about things. In addition, the specialty classes are phenomenal. His appreciation for art is amazing and when we visit museums together, he usually ends up teaching me something I didn't already know. We also love the summer camp program. Quite simply, it's the best one around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

As a second year family, I can say that we are happy to be at The Children's School and are looking forward to many more years here. As another parent mentioned, there are so many great programs going on at the school. The curriculum is hands-on, project-based and integrated across the disciplines. The teachers arrive at school at sun-up and often stay until sun-down preparing for their classes. As for extracurriculars, whereas many schools are slashing programs to save money, at The Children's School they keep adding programs to enhance the students' experiences! Where else will you find music, dance, art, PE, technology and Spanish as part of the weekly schedule? If you are looking for even more variety, they offer a plethora of afterschool enrichment classes such as chess, robotics, musical theater, fencing, etc. Not surprisingly, our children look forward to every day at The Children's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Excellent academics. Superior social curriculum. Wonderful faculty and staff. Involved parent community. We were invited to The Children's School by another family that has their children at the school, and boy are we glad that they invited us. For our family, kids and grown-ups alike, being a part of this school has made learning fun all the way around. Our children love going to school and are extremely successful. They tested into our district's gifted and talented program, but there's no way we'd leave to go to public school. Why should we when they're receiving an education that exceeds what other area schools can offer?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Our child entered The Children's School in second grade performing at grade level but not really happy with school. Since entering TCS, we've seen a complete turn-around and we credit the professional, caring teachers and staff. We've seen our child blossom into an avid reader and learner who easily tackles problems with a can-do attitude. We've also seen him grow socially as he navigates the usual student dynamics that all children face. These social skills have even carried over to such activities as his play in the local soccer league! We are proud to be parents at The Children's School, and we encourage anyone looking for a new school to stop by and visit. There's nowhere else like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

Some of the teachers there are excellent, though others are very, very green. The Great Artist program is wonderful. So is the Fall Festival. But you can enjoy these events without being a student there and you may be better off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

Wow! That pretty much sums up our five years at The Children's School. Our children are challenged every day by a faculty that is professional, well-educated and well-prepared, and just plain smart. The school actually cares about our kids! I have no doubt that it is because of this school that our kids love learning. In addition, the school offers extracurricular activities that no other school around can rival. In fact, the after school classes always have kids from other area schools who attend! Finally, parents are encouraged and expected to be involved in their children's education here. We're definitely not a 'hand-off-let's-see-what-happens' kind of family. We feel extremely fortunate to have found a place where we are welcomed by everyone, from faculty and administration to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 60%
White 31%
Asian 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Summer Day Camp in San Diego (2008)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Evelyn Terry
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (858) 454-0186

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • progressive
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Green Team
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We are a community that values diversity and promotes the development of character, critical and creative thinking, communication and leadership skills, intellectual curiosity and social responsibility.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
60
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
financial assistance if qualified

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Independent - CAIS accrediated
Charter
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2225 Torrey Pines Lane
La Jolla, CA 92037
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 454-0184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




All Hallows Academy
La Jolla, CA


The Evans School
La Jolla, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT