Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
La Jolla, CA

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is great, students are prepared for college education, principal attends all student activities, parents are motivated to get involved in their children education and are welcome to participate in school activities too, the school is ranked as one of the best in the nation and which is best this school is for low income families.
1 person found this helpful

Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
its great for my children they are almost ready for college just one more year.


Preuss School Ucsd 4

Posted January 11, 2012
- a community member
Preuss has a really good cause - to help first generation, low-income, minority students enter college. The school is diverse and the tens of busses that take students to and from school everyday all around San Diego county really does help the students and their families a lot. The teachers at Preuss are dedicated to their students and very encouraging. Looking back at Preuss from the point of view of an alumnus who is about to graduate from one of the top 5 liberal arts colleges in the nation, Preuss is definitely a great place to enroll and partake in. With that said, the one downfall to Preuss is that it has really strict regulations to go visit college campuses, which betrays its goals. In addition, the staff aren't always attentive to student and even teacher needs. So, although Preuss is not perfect, it is definitely a good place to enroll your child.
1 person found this helpful

Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
It helped me get to college and it is a great school that encourages low income students to follow their dream of getting to college. The students are amazing and they are one of the most hardworking that I know of. The school does not have a lot of money, and these students need it. Their main goal is to be successful and attend the college of their dreams, they just need a little help with the school budget and this would help out a lot! (:

Preuss School Ucsd 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The school is small. Everyone is together. We work as a unit. We are family.


Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
I graduated from Preuss recently. It is the best school for students aiming to attend college and succeed. In my graduating class, my peers were accepted to universities such as Northwestern, Villanova, Stanford, Harvard, UC Berkeley, MIT, UCLA, UCSD, USD, Gonzaga, Redlands, and many more. Many younger students do not understand the true mission of Preuss because they lack the maturity. As an alumni, I can say that Preuss is a great school and helped me get to college.
1 person found this helpful

Preuss School Ucsd 1

Posted March 22, 2010
- a student
I am a student here at preuss, and i ahve to say it's one of the worst attended school in the world. As you better know the school, you will know its really poor, the school is threatning to cancel buses w/ 11th and 12th graders. My GPA is 3.50(i'm proud) but it will get your childrn so stressful that your children will become emo adn be pissed off. Teachers are horrible and a

Preuss School Ucsd 1

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
They have alot to work on as far as being persistant and honestly contacting parent on a child's performance..The teacher need to really wise up on students and really encourage students more and focus time with student to assist parents in direction that they have a sense of their goals.
1 person found this helpful


Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school, the teachers are dedicated and the principal Mr.barton has provided great leadership for this school. i consider myself privilaged for having a kid in this school. Michael Million

Preuss School Ucsd 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Preuss School Ucsd
9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA  92093
(858) 658-7404
Last modified Preuss School Ucsd is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Preuss School Ucsd Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top