Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


National University Virtual High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a student
The story I shared explains that the school displays the opposite attributes. The professor lied.

National University Virtual High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The teacher are incredibly effective, a personal message I sent to Mrs. Ericsson include my praise for her as a teacher in gratitude for her going out of her way to help students understand the material and give life to a passion of art. She was a very proactive teacher.


National University Virtual High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The amount is enough to put the material learned into practice without overburdening the student.

National University Virtual High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
Since it is a combination of instruction and self-learning, there is a pressure on the individual student to finish the course through their own will. it is additionally completely up to the student to reach out for help, and turn in their work at a moderate pace.

National University Virtual High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
This school respects students. At the beginning of the course we pledged to not plagiarize and that we would complete the course by spending a significant (minimum 4 hours) time per weekend on the course. We were not forced to do anything to help us keep our oath, but we kept it and there was respect between student and teacher. The student finished their responsibilities and the teacher graded accordingly and provided assistance.


National University Virtual High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The teacher is extremely attentive to her students. She answered her email, she provided guidance and help towards questions, she gave constructive feedback on our assignments and developed an intimate bond with her students. There was a mutual trust and empathy between teacher and student in response to the subjects covered.

National University Virtual High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
This school develops integrity, honesty, and fairness in students by providing assistance, paying attention to the student's individual needs, and requires critical thinking that can not come from anywhere besides the students own mind and moral perspective.

National University Virtual High School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
I was a student for Mrs. Ericsson's Art Foundations B class. It was a truly amazing experience. The class provided a vast insight on art elements, properties, and aesthetic in general. Not only did it teach the individual factors that go into art, but it provided a cultural insight going to art forms from across the globe and also brought up art forms that were more than the conventional paintings. It helped me so much learn about the different media in art, and taught me to appreciate art in a new perspective. Mrs. Ericsson as teacher did a fantastic job. She helped me throughout the course by answering my questions via email, and she guided me in the right direction helping me gain a better understanding. Mrs. Ericsson breathed life into this class by being more than a person who gave grades, she was a mentor to me and I have not found anything similar in previous online courses that were not on NUVHS. The care and attention that she provided inspired me to keep going and do my best in her class. I have grown as an independent learner, and have learned a vast amount of knowledge in art. Additionally my skills as an artist have increased through the knowledge and activities I have gained throughout this course. I am extremely grateful for this course, and would recommend any person interested in gaining knowledge about art to take this course, it is an enlightening experience.


National University Virtual High School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
NUVHS- was a great experience for my son. While it was challenging to get the class paid for and started our teacher, Ms Erikson was very responsive and helpful in getting through the class. My son is a procrastinator but she really encouraged him and got him finished on time. We plan to do the second semester soon.

National University Virtual High School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
We are in the middle of an extremely frustrating process trying to deal with an unresponsive instructor, answering machines, administrators who don't return emails, and a very frustrated, high-achieving high school student. I have spent hours over the past week, trying to get someone to let us know how to proceed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

National University Virtual High School
11355 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, CA  92037
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (858) 642-8824
Last modified National University Virtual High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top