Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
La Jolla, CA
Students enrolled: 1,591
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Jolla High School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Great school due to the teachers, students, parent and alumni support. Principal change was long overdue.

La Jolla High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
The best if not one of the best high schools in California!!!!! I'm a proud alumni and so glad my daughter will be an incoming freshmen(class of 2017). Great teachers, counselors, and athletic staff. Curriculum is all college prep and teaching atmosphere has always been to help students reach their ultimate goal of getting into the college of their choice.


La Jolla High School 4

Posted January 06, 2011
- a parent
La Jolla High is a great school for most students. It is an exceptional school rated against other public schools, but is not a private school. Students that do best here are the students that do best in college and the workplace; self-motivated, creative, dedicated and hardworking individuals. This is not the school for students who need to be coddled. I have had two very different children go through the system. Each got out of their experience exactly what they put in. Both got into their top college choices. One had an IEP and had the BEST support possible. Zero complaints there. Warning, there are a few cooky teachers that will be there forever - if your student is stuck with one of them, they will gain valuable experience in skills that have nothing to do with academics - such as patience, self-advocance and flexibility. All in all it is a great school, but if your child is a "glass half empty" type, or you are a parent who is wound tight, private school may be your home-sweet-home.

La Jolla High School 2

Posted August 21, 2010
- a parent
La Jolla High was once a very great school indeed, but recently its standards have been much less than satisfying. A teacher was suspended for slapping kids last school year and many teachers have said that are less than motivated about teaching (understandable due to budget cuts and students who were less than willing to learn and have no interest in academics). Recently, CST tests had proved that LJHS have been experiencing a great drop in its standards.

La Jolla High School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I love La Jolla, and it is unfortunate that we have to pull our daughter out of LJHS because she has not found the help she needed with her mild ADD. She has an IEP that was always ignored by the teachers. Teachers are good but don't care to help students, only cater to self motivated ones, which she was not. It is so hard to contact most teachers and counselors. Parents are involved in fundraising and other events, but when it comes to academics you would see 3 parents visiting the school!


La Jolla High School 5

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

La Jolla High School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
All of my children and now my grandchildren are or have attended and graduated with honors from La Jolla High. The friends made there seem to be life long. the teachers, counselors are all highly motivated and many of the students have the opportunity to take classes at UCSD. Its the best of the besr

La Jolla High School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a student
Because our school is always together and the clubs are just awesome!


La Jolla High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love La Jolla High School because there are so many unique and interesting people here. Our school is ranked high for academics, and we have so many different clubs on campus it's crazy

La Jolla High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
La Jolla High is a jewel of La Jolla. Academically we rank among many nation-wide top 100 lists and the administration continues to provide new and interesting topics which allow students to find one that truly interests them. Our athletic teams consistently win CIF, yet have always been welcoming towards new players. When it comes to school spirit and unity we go above and beyond, always putting on amazing dances and pep rallies which bring in huge crowds. Finally, there are about 50 clubs at La Jolla and each offer something unique to their members and work with the community. There is definitely something for everyone at La Jolla.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Jolla High School
750 Nautilus Street, La Jolla, CA  92037
(858) 454-3081
Last modified La Jolla High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Jolla High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top