Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Muirlands Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Peter Lawrence is the teacher I want to express my appreciation to. He teaches English and Social Studies at Muirlands Middle School. My daughter loves his classes and the technology he uses to keep her interested. I appreciate how he gives the students work that is interesting and allows her to go at a pace that works for her. She is very verbal in abilities and he finds ways to challenge her. She looks forward to his classes, and that makes her want to be at school. Mr. Lawrence is also available for questions and available via email for parents and students with quick response time. All the interactions demonstrate a highly effective as well as an optimistic teacher, which in middle school years, I think that could be tough. He is a positive influence on her, and she needs that. I think he deserves a big "thank you!"

Muirlands Middle School 3

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Behavior issues are the downfall of an otherwise good school. (Bad Language, social media issues and smart phone use in class by students playing games are examples)


Muirlands Middle School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Excelente grupo de trabajo, comenzando con el Director su planta de maestros , muy profesionales muy entregados a su profesion y a todos los ninos/as mis dos hijos estan estudiando ahi. Esta es su segunda escuela en Estados Unidos. Estamos muy Agradecidos/a por tener esta gran bendicion, Excelentes notas. Ahi se llega a estudiar. Por eso estamos muy Agradecidos se las recomiendo

Muirlands Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Richard Gray best PE coach / teacher ever! Also id like to recognize Leonardo De' Caprio for winning an Oscar and not thanking the academy

Muirlands Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at this school do ABSOLUTELY F***ING NOTHING only Richard Gray is a good teacher


Muirlands Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
I am too overloaded with so much work its terrible plus the teachers don't teach you how to do the work they ask you to do

Muirlands Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
An outstanding middle school. My child excelled in Math. The only area needing development is Music. The previous music program was excellent.

Muirlands Middle School 4

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
The school is getting much better under the new principal. It seems that the principal is building a new team that is friendly, professional and helpful. Last year, the school was horrible that the some of the administration staff were rude, unfriendly and bullying, Unfortunately, the vice principal, Nash, is till there, she is a power hunger, mean, and enjoy screwing up people's life. Can't wait to see the day she leaves the school, than the sky of the muirlands would be blue. Don't know how she get to that vince principal's position??? She is the shame of our public school system, she brings nightmares to students and parents. If she ever becomes a principal, than our public school system really fails.


Muirlands Middle School 4

Posted June 15, 2014
- a community member
As an actual former student student of Muirlands, (I graduated 2014), I feel I have more expertise to speak on the quality of the school more than these moms who feel the need to complain about the lack of a sixth-grade language program. First of all, I think the parents who believe that the eighth grade teachers are significantly worse than the sixth grade teachers don't understand that in eighth grade it is excepted that students become more independent. In fact, I actually believe the eighth grade teachers taught the material the best. Muirlands just received a new principal who seems to bringing the school in great places with the involvement of technology. Many Muirlands teachers will give additional help to students IF THEY ASK. So if your child is struggling DON'T just expect for the front office to do something about it; have your child ask their teacher. As said in a previous review, when your child reaches eighth grade they will receive the opportunity to go on the East Coast Trip. THIS IS A MUST! As for the workload, it is somewhat high. It is nowhere near the amount Bishops gets, but it is more than other SD Middle Schools. So overall, Muirlands is a very good school.

Muirlands Middle School 4

Posted May 13, 2014
- a community member
Muirlands Middle School provides a mostly high-quality education. Your experience at this school greatly depends on the teachers you have. For example, my English teacher is extremely well-knowledgable and has been an extremely good influence, whereas some of my other friends with different teachers (I am in seminar) complain about their respective teachers. Recently, we have a gained a new principal, who has already began to improve Muirlands Middle School and I believe he will continue to improve the school. Previously, our campus was extremely- there's no other way to put it- gross. Now, he has really come down on the issue and you can see the improvement already. In addition, Muirlands Middle School provides a reasonable amount of choices of electives starting in 7th grade. Many parents complain about this, but as it is still a public school, I think that it would be slightly unreasonable to expect more. Overall, Muirlands Middle School exhibits a good example of what a public middle school should be like- to a certain extent.

Nearby schools

Muirlands Middle School
1056 Nautilus Street, La Jolla, CA  92037-6299
(858) 459-4211
Last modified Muirlands Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top