Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

College Preparatory Middle School

Charter | 5-8 & ungraded | 240 students

Rigorous academic, college prep program

 
 

Living in La Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $265,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 18 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 27, 2014

College Prep Middle School (CPMS) is a small public charter school serving grades 5-8 located in La Mesa, CA. CPMS offers a rigorous academic college prep program with an emphasis on literacy. CPMS earned an impressive 941 API on the 2012-13 California Standardized Tests (CST/STAR) and, according to the most recent California Title Company report, CPMS is listed as the 3rd highest ranking middle school in San Diego County. These achievements are a true testament to all of the hard work by our students, teachers and families. We believe that this partnership is the key to our success and the foundation of our "nurturing community for the middle school learner." As a school of choice, we encourage prospective families to visit our website (www.MyCPMS.net) and blog (Tiger's Tale) to learn more about our program and to see all the wonderful things happening at CPMS in order to ensure that this school is the best fit for your family. (Please note that the CPMS is not affiliated with the GreatSchools website and does not monitor nor maintain the website or its content). Please direct any questions or concerns to CPMS: 619-303-2782. And as we say each and every day at CPMS: Take care of yourselves, each other and this place. Go Tigers!!!

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

My family is looking forward to another great year at College Prep! My child has grown so much since starting here thanks to such wonderful teachers. My youngest can't wait to become a Tiger next year. We are proud to call ourselves a Tiger Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

After spending almost two years at this school I'm glad to be out. I have never been so stressed out. Test scores mean nothing when you feel like you're going to prison every morning and feel like that is all that's important to the school. I'm glad to be at a school where I feel like they care about me and where they don't hand out lunch detentions for sneezing too loud. Your kid will hate it. I know I did.


Posted August 25, 2014

I am a happy student to leave this school. This school is not a nurturing environment it made me feel like I was in prison. What ever you do don't send your child to this school!


Posted June 27, 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you CPMS! We couldnt have done it without all of your support. My child is so prepared for the next big step to High School because of College Prep. This is the closest you can get to a private school experience in a public school setting. We will miss all of the teachers, directors and staff! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

If your child outgoing and excels in a regular school setting this is not the place for your child. 1. Expect detention several times throughout the school year for many different reasons. 2. Expect lots of homework on average two hours on average per night. I m alright with homework, but not two hours or more every night. I have not cancelled extra-curricular activities for my child, but some of the friends from the school have stopped playing sports amongst other things due to the homework. 3. Absences (for any reason) require the student to makeup all classwork & homework for days missed. Make up tests take place during lunch time. 4. Small classroom sizes 20 students to 1 teacher, but remember students rotate each period to a new teacher. Really teachers are accountable for 60 students, not 20. 5. Teacher/Parent Conferences happen only if your child is falling behind? Teachers do respond well to emails. 6. Missing Physical Activity. Not daily for 5th grade and students only have recess combined with their lunch period. 7. Location & Facilities. Students attend class in a remodeled basement. The PE/Recess area is a blocked off parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

This school might be a little strict but that is what it takes to bring the best out of your kid. They need to be pushed and know that hard work pays off. I recommend this school. Small schools are better plus uniforms can't go wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

All I can say is thank goodness my child's time at CPMS is almost over. It's been a horrible few years. I would never recommend this school to other families. I have a younger child and he will be going to a different charter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

I can't say enough great things about CPMS! With small class size, truly caring teacher and wonderful children and families, it is the perfect school for our family. It offers challenging schoolwork to prepare my child for high school and is already talking about college! I am so happy that my other child will be going there too. Please visit the school and meet the incredible staff to see what a great school it is. My child was bullied in the other school and CPMS does such a great job of taking care of all the students. I recommend CPMS to families looking for a quality education and a safe school for children to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

I have never had a school know my child so well. The teachers and directors really care about my daughter. They really support her, building on her strengths and supporting her challenges. Everyone is there to help. I recommend CPMS to every family looking for something better. We are proud to call ourselves a Tiger Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

We love CPMS. The directors and teachers are very supportive and kind. They really care about the kids and are always there to help. We feel so lucky to have found this school. A true blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Very unhappy with CPMS. I would not recommend this school for several reasons. The amount of homework is out of control and way beyond reasonable, often 3 hours per night including weekends and during school vacations and holidays. Forget trying to get away as a family during the school year. Some subjects are not being adequately taught, so we are having to teach the material ourselves at home. We are practically home-schooling our student in some instances. My student has had to drop other activities in order to keep up with the homework and maintain a 4.0. This school does not encourage students to be well-rounded but rather the only goal is to keep the high API score. Test scores are important, however when you turn the students into robots without any guidance for growth outside of test scores, something is wrong. Our family life has been severely impacted this year and my student's ambition and desire to go to college has been horribly damaged. We brought our concerns to the administration, but nothing has changed. I advise that you contact parents of current students for their assessment before you enroll your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

The administration is terribly misguided.They are not bad people, they just seem more interested in total control than fostering a love of learning.The majority of the teachers at CPMS are good to great but rarely seen.Teacher turnover rate is high.Stress is constant and our family is dominated by homework struggles and anxiety.My child s mental health is much more important to me than college preparedness and there is so much more to preparing for college than endless homework.Every move is governed and controlled, and the fear of getting in trouble consumes a lot of the students. There is a huge opportunity being lost in this small setting to educate the students about personal responsibility and decision making by communicating rather than punishing.It is a very punitive environment,not nurturing.My child is one of many students not returning next year.I would advise the administration to ask for input from the students and parents on what changes they would suggest to improve morale.My review rambled, but in a nutshell, if your child is a robot, this school would be a good fit.If they have a mind of their own or are a free spirit, this environment would be detrimental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

College Preparatory Middle School is AWESOME. I have been involved since its inception. Leaders, teachers, staff, parents and students are learning and achieving in a caring, nurturing environment. An API Score of 941 is proof positive that CPMS is doing something right!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

While schools across the Nation are searching to find new and innovative ways to help our students learn and achieve, the faculty of CPMS are already putting innovation into action daily! CPMS is a school where students and their families make a commitment to partner with teachers and administrators in order to foster high goals and achievements - all within a compassionate, safe and nurturing environment. As a school of choice, CPMS offers options and alternatives that just don't exist in other public schools - personal, supportive, academically rigorous and 100% anti-bullying! The approval rate for students and families is somewhere around 98.5% - tough to find such high marks in any school - public, private, charter, magnet, parochial! As a volunteer, I find myself Roaring with Tiger (the school's mascot!) Pride each and every day - simply an incredible place for children to learn, grow and gain the confidence needed to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

College Preparatory Middle School is wonderful. It is amazing that this school is a public school offering everything you would hope to find in a private school!! Kids are happy to be here. Teachers are happy to be here. And the Directors pay attention to not only the subjects being taught but also the individual needs of each student in a nurturing environment. So thankful that College Preparatory Middle School is here for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

I am beyond dismayed with this school. I pulled my children out of their previous school with the idea that CPMS would be able to give them a challenging yet nurturing environment in which to learn. The directors are not interested in hearing any concerns even when it comes to possible abuse of authority by certain teachers. The directors who also act as principals of the school are on the board of directors? How much of a conflict of interest is that? If you have any issues with them, there is no one to escalate to because they answer to themselves? Mountain Empire claims to have no jurisdiction over them even though they are the ones who granted their charter. The teachers at the school are forced to dole out these inane lunch detentions for reasons like "Forgot to have parent sign homework agenda." My inbox is full of notifications for lunch detentions. If your child is in need of an IEP or 504 plan, forget this school making any accommodations. They are not interested in having you be a part of this school. The focus is on their high API score and nothing else. Humanity does not exist here and their claim to be a "Nurturing Environment" is false.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

Love the school, teachers and directors!!! Thank you CPMS for making a difference. So happy to be a part of such a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

As a current student of College Preparatory Middle School, I have come to the conclusion that this school is being run poorly. I can not give my name away by writing this. If they had happened to read this and find my name, it would be marked as "disrespectful" and I would get in trouble immediately. Most of, if not all, my piers agree that the principles dishonor the rights of the students attending this school. There have been multiple incidents where teachers have disappeared half way through the school year and left the class with no-good substitutes. Another thing I very much dislike about College Prep, is the rule enforcement. The principles claim this is an environment where, people who are smart and don't fit into the "popular group" can learn. This is not true, coming from an outcast myself. The administrators have pushed the rules to the point where they make students feel alienated and not a part of the "nurturing environment" they state they have. They act fake and sweet to ours parents and convince them that, us, students are delinquents. This school THE OPPOSITE OF PREP! Do NOT send your kid here! Unless they change their ways, your child deserves better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2013

This school is good for children who don't fit into the "norm" of other public schools. I think it will eventually turn into a school of "misfits" who need the extra time and smaller class size. I do believe that small class sizes help boost academic levels. Some of the staff seems to be teachers who can't get jobs elsewhere, and are just happy to be making a minimal salary at a small school. The teachers that are good seem to come and go quickly. Math seems to be the only department that seems to be able to hold on to their quality teachers. The homework is overwhelming, too much for kids in middle school. My student has moved onto High School prepared because of CPMS however, it was a struggle to keep her happy during her time there due to such a strict social setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

My daughter just finished her sixth grade year at College Prep Middle School. It was such a success! She had one incident with a boy that was starting to harass her and a friend. We went directly to Mr. Mitch, an administrator, with it. He immediately responded, meet with the boy and the boy stopped. Mr. Mitch checked up on the girls to make sure things were better. I like that the kids wear uniforms and that the class size is a 20:1 ratio. They also offer an hour long after school tutorial Monday-Thursday. The staff works so hard. Ms. Soccoro in the front office is wonderful with the kids-kind but also helps them develop into responsible citizens. I love this school and will definitely be sending my son there when he starts fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

941

Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

941

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females89%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females78%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students98%
Females96%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females82%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females85%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females91%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females74%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students72%
Females64%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females85%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students83%
Females80%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 5%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 11%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 3:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mitchell S. Miller
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 303-3759

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 Jackson Drive
La Mesa, CA 91942
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 303-2782

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT