Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vista La Mesa Academy

Public | K-6 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

My son has been attending this school for the last 3 years and is now in 6th grade. It's the middle of the school year and I am now looking into moving him from this school. We have had 3 different principles over the last 3 years, As I read the older reviews I've noticed that this school has had an issue with keeping a principle. We have had lots of issues with my student being picked on and bullied with very little assistance from the school in following up on our complaints. I've also had issues with the teachers communicating with us when there has been issues with my student in class. It shouldn't take me emailing them to get an idea of what's going on. This school fails all around and I am happy to be moving my student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

VLMA is an excellent school. I have 3 children going to the school kinder, second and fourth grade. All the teachers that my children have had have been wonderful. The school does a great job keeping the upper grades away from the elementary kids. They have minimal contact through out the day. I have yet to experience a problem with the office staff. They have recently added new gates and started a new system when entering the school making the campus safer for the children and staff. I would recomend this school to any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Vista La Mesa is the worst school you could send your child to. The office staff is horrible, very rude, most of the teacher's could care less of the children there. They worry more about upholding an image of this perfect school which they are not. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Initially, we were concerned about this school upon registering our daughter, for first grade. She was fortunate to have Mrs. Wood as her room teacher and words cannot even express the gratitude and appreciation we have for her dedication, commitment and patience she personifies with each student. She is a remarkable teacher who takes pride in supporting each student in allowing and encouraging them to develop their skills with comfort and ease. We strongly recommend VLMA as one of the "BEST" schools in San Diego, with a staff who remains vigilant and true to their dedication of service to our children, our future! Mrs. Wood, we as parents sincerely thank you for your day to day support and assistance with the developmental learning process for our child and all the children fortunate to be in your class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

I am a parent of a 1st grader attending Mrs. Hayden's class. I was EXTREMELY SKEPTICAL of this school at first when I enrolled my son. In fact, I was thinking of going to the district to have my son enrolled somewhere else because I didn't think this school was going to be so great. BUT I'm very glad I didn't. Since enrolled, my son, who has been enrolled in SPEECH THERAPY since preschool, is now reading .... and this is NOT A JOKE.... 38 BOOKS A DAY!!!! And all because of the reward system Mrs. Hayden has in her 1st grade class. My son made it HIS GOAL TO FINISH HIS ENTIRE READING LOG (WITH 38 SLOTS) IN A SINGLE DAY!!! All because he wanted to be rewarded with 2 new books for finishing 2 sides of his reading log. Also I received his DISTRICT TEST SCORE TODAY AND HE SCORED ADVANCED!!!! He had a 94% rating in Mathematics! This school is making a SERIOUS EFFORT TO TURN THINGS AROUND and work together to give our kids a great education. I couldn't be happier! I see a lot of parents coming to this school and getting really involved. Mrs. Hayden is top notch! She gives me calls and talks to me daily about his progress and really helps me understand any areas my son needs help in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

Hey you the one talking bad about the 6-8th graders. I am a 7th grader at that school. i understand that some kids are immature. But remember you can't protect your child forever from hearing sailor words. life as we know it is filled with people who talk bad, i hear curse words ALL the time on streets and in stores. Not ALL the older kids are rude. Remember YOUR CHILD WILL BE A TEEN SOON! Around the age 11 to 16 your child [not so little no more] will be one of those "SO CALLED BAD KIDS" Personally I HATE CURSE WORDS! Also we 6-8th graders LOVE the litter kids. they are soo cute and funny. Our 6-8thy grade teachers are HIGHLY educatded, and even the science teacher have published a book before. and went to the BEST collages! Also a other personal thing is that i dont like the new 6-8th grade classes. they treat us like we are the bad guys and they treat us like childern. Also the money is going to build a new libary in lemon grove middle school. and other money goes to less fortunate childern. Now have a nice lovely day =)


Posted February 24, 2011

This school has gone down hill alot in the past 3 years that we have attended. They brought in the 6-8th grade students for 2 years while the middle school is being remodeled. This forces the younger kids to have contact with the not so nice older kids. I hear the "F" word everyday while walking my 2nd grader into the school. I wish this school was more focused on the students instead of updating the building and the security gates! I understand that California is under a huge budget problem but this school receives federal money for each military student that attends, where is that money going????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

What can I say! this is the nbest school ever. My son has a ADD and everyone has been great with him. They are Nice and kind specially Resource staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I love this school. All of the the staff is wonderful. Pricipal Heath is truely amazing. He is so well liked by both of my children. We are is this school, because of a military move. And I do have to say, I am so glad. My plan to stay in this area, to make sure that we are still in the district to attend this school. You will love them all. Hope your experience is what mine has been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

My daughter is a military dependant who has gone to this school after relocating to CA from the east coast, and I must say that the campus was alot different than what I was use to because the schools have a open campus. My daughter kindergaten year was one with several obstacles, but as the year went on it was Wonderful to say the least. I am a very involved parent, which makes any school experience wonderful. The teachers/principal are to be commended for the endless work they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Both my parents,myself, my brother and my 2 children have gone to VLM since they were 5 years old. VLM is a school where the children come first. The parent involvement is fabulous. The teachers are highly personable, skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. We have remained friends outside of school with most of the teachers. The principal is kind and knows each child by name and is always making sure the kids safety comes first. VLM is a great Peace Building School, preparing our kids for the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

A relatively large elementary school, VLM is a sprawling campus in a residential neighborhood. Principal is very involved, if not a little overcommitted to providing oversight that asst adminsitrators should provide. VLM serves a diverse population of working class families mixed with a sizable military population. Good meal plans, lunches 1.75/day. VLM is doing their best with what they have to work with. You could do much worse in public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Vista la mesa is a good school most of the time. The new principal helped out a lot last year but they will have another new principal again this year because mr. Lewis is retiring. So my daughter has had 3 different principals so far. Still I like the school. They seem to try hard to help the students succeed. I wish they had better after school programs and healther school lunches (plus more music, art & p.E.). Some of my kids teachers have been amazing while other teachers seem to struggle to get through to the more challenged children. They did allow me to switch teachers when I was unhappy so I am fine with that. Overall I like vista la mesa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

This school is culturally diverse and has a great learning environment. Nice area and no gang influences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

I feel this school is VERY hands on with their students. My son's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Urtnowski, is extremely interested in each child and their growth. I feel that she has gone above and beyond to make sure our son knows and understands all he needs for 1st grade and more. Thank you Vista La Mesa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

My child has attended this school for two years. Having a new principal to begin the 2003/04 academic year brings hope for the kids to be in mind after the school is closed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

Vista La Mesa has a strong staff that work hard to provide the best education for all students. I have 4 children in that school ranging from 5th grade to preschool and feel very blessed that my children are a part of this school. I have two children with special concerns and the school has always helped in whatever way they could. One of my children is currently in the GATE program and enjoying it very much. The teachers work together and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

vista lamesa is my favorite school i have chosen it for my kids but now i have to move from L.A to N.Y i will miss all of the people i know in this school
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

781

Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

781

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females43%
Males39%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females54%
Males50%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females31%
Males36%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)20%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females58%
Males64%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females60%
Males54%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females60%
Males67%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females54%
Males59%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students38%
Females24%
Males59%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students49%
Females38%
Males68%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females56%
Males38%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females56%
Males46%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 51%
Black 20% 7%
White 13% 27%
Asian 7% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MaryDell Worthington
Fax number
  • (619) 825-5783

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Violet Street
La Mesa, CA 91941
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 825-5645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT