Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Mesa Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

I am giving one star only because negative values are unavailable. Last year, I thought this was a good school. This year, the administration is unable or more shockingly unwilling to deal with the bullies that are attacking my son and his friends at school. The Principal, Dean of Students, and Counselor seem to be unconcerned about the well-being of my son. I do not know whether my next step will be the Superintendent or a lawyer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

Best School On Living Earth. Amazing honor and noble role parties. Game rooms and Events like Evening Of The Stars and Evening Of The Arts. Lots of electives and clubs to choose from. LMMS IS THE BEST. (:


Posted July 22, 2012

I have two sons...my oldest has already went through LMMS....I love this school...starting with the principal. Beth Thomas she is amazing, she loves the students and the school. I have the utmost respect for her. Bonnie Hayman is just amazing, she goes above and beyond. I am excited for my youngest to attend I want to get more involved with this school and the staff. I love when schools have such a great close community feel....My oldest son is doing great at Helix and I owe part of this to Rolando teachers and LMMS teachers....love these two school and would suggest them to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

i just promoted from LMMS this summer and i have to say i prity much hated it there i had some great experiences and have met some great people and i don't regret it, but i feel if i went to a different school i would have gotten a better education. some teachers were great good and some even fun but most had none of the above and bearly teach you a thing and have no good teaching strategys. and the principal taking time away with endless announcements and incredible boring assemblies that make you wish you were in class.


Posted February 12, 2011

I would suggest to go else where. This school use to be very school spirited back in the late 90's but going to the school through the mid 2000's it seemed like it lacked Teachers that really cared about its students. The p.e teachers really need to step it up and show respect to students at times.. I remember asking to sit in the shade due to health issues I had as well as being in 100 degree weather towards the summer you would think the pe staff would let the students go in the shade.. but no!, I felt that alot of the Pe teachers were very loose on bad behaivior. The majority of the teachers were ok, but not extraordinary, lacks a spark that I use to get from great teachers ive had in the past. The lunches were not great either, seemed like alot of the free to reduced lunch was sitting around for days, and options to buy lunch form the other line were too expensive. I stuggled with math in high school mostly because I had a teacher that only played disney and hollywood movies, sure back then it was cool to see that a teacher would do that, but when you get older you see that you did not learn a thing...


Posted January 18, 2011

No leadership from the Principal (Beth Thomas) who apparently has little respect for her students or teachers, as she frequently interrupts class and drones on endlessly during announcements. Events don't start on time and sometimes seem chaotic. Teachers that refuse to use the internet or email, even when offered help. New band instructor can't hold a candle to his predecessor and the band's performance reflects it. I think a leadership change would go a long way towards improving things and motivating the teachers that do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

I was a 6th grader at lmms and i would NEVER recommend it. EVER. I was on the honor role every quarter and am a nice kid so i don't have any revenge issues. This is just my experience but i know many other kids who feel the same. my teachers spend most of their time playing on the computer, yelling at the bad kids ,and eating junk food in front of us as "punishment". the hallway passing time is full of cussing and fights and they would call me white girl all the time. it's not a good learning environment overall. i'm not even good in math but i got an A and i don't think they are challenging enough. i will be going to a new school next year because my mom thinks LMMS needs to change and the budget cuts will make the teachers even worse.a


Posted June 8, 2010

LMMS use to be a great school...I use the term use to. The new principle(Beth Thomas) was a bad fit not only for the students but for the parents and parent volunteers as well. She needs to be replaced for the school to get back on track...as long as she is there I would find a school elsewhere!


Posted May 25, 2010

i went to la mesa middle when i was in the 6th grade.i wished i never went there; because of them i had to repeat the 6th grade when i moved because they lost all of my paper work. if you child goes here or wants to go here, talk them out of it cause this school is the wrong choice!!!


Posted March 9, 2010

The spirit assemblys are absaloutly terrible and the children swear so much you can hardly tell they are children at all!!! some rules are very unecassary such as friday night school for giving a hug. wow!!!! Also i dont believe kids are punished enough for things that actually deserve punishment like talking back numerous times to the teacher- lying-graffiti-swearing towards other students-sexual remarks-racial jokes-harassment to 'special' students(kicking punching names)-etc.. the school also has terrible dress code rules!!! i understand no 'spaggeti'strap tank tops but no tank tops whatsoever!!!!even on blistering hot days in sandiego! the school has so many more issues and the only thing stopping me from giving a one(or zero if it were possible) is the teachers! i love the teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

im an eighth grader at LMMS and the principle ruined it. the spirit rallies are horrible and the rules are unfair. however (as frustrateing as they can be) the teachers are mostly great and really care but, the science classes are great and the lebs rock but i am looking forward to going to a christian high school because the students curse and make rasict comments.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

I really don't like this school at all! I have been going there since 6th grade and i am now an 8th grader. The principal makes ridiculous rules. Also the kids are very mean and they swear ALOT!!! If you are looking for a school for your child to attend to DON'T attend LMMS! (La Mesa Middle School)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

The band and orchestra are incredible and we are so lucky to have an excellent music program. Mr. Dyke the music director teaches students from local elementary schools how to play the recorder in 4th grade. In 5th grade they choose a band or orchestra instrument. Most of the kids wind up going to La Mesa Middle and joining the band or orchestra. He teaches 4 bands and an orchestra, and the quality is top notch. Most of the students go to Helix High School and move on to a tradition of another high quality music program. We are very fortunate here at La Mesa Middle School, we are also the only middle school in Spring/Valley School District with an orchestra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I used to attend La Mesa Middle and the teachers are fantastic. They really involve themselves with students education wise. The school overall Im afraid is far below the teachers. In other words its below average. The principal Beth Thomas creates an environment where the students are not permitted to have fun or 'be kids' the right way. Before Thomas became the principal there was many fun organized events that got the students involved and had tons of fun at school but now there is poorly planned events that rarely take place because fundraising is too much of an hassle. For an example spirit assembles were something that the entire school looked forward to but now it is dreaded. If you want your child to enjoy their middle school experience like every child deserves then i strongly recommend not sending them to La Mesa Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

The principal, Beth Thomas, is responsive, professional and warm. My child really likes his teachers and is learning so much. He used to go to a private school and this is far better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

i am currently attending la mesa middle school, it is a great school all the teachers are nice , but there are alot of kids there it is to hard to get to one room from another.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

i love this school its awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

I love this school because it is the best school.My SLC is a Jaguar,i have the best teacher of the year in 2008.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

I cannot believe how many negative comments there are about this school. I am having a wonderful time and I am lucky to be here. I love my fellow Cheetah friends and the staff are #1! I love this school i is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2007

I graduated from this school a year ago, and all I can say is that I have had a lot of fond memories there. I was in the SLC Cheetah's, and all the SLC's (Small Learning Communities- there are 4; Cheetahs, Jaguars, Panthers and Cougars) have awesome teachers who are there for the students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

855

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

855

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
46%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students86%
Females93%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females71%
Males66%
African American58%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students53%
Females56%
Males52%
African American35%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
Females73%
Males59%
African American48%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state58%

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females74%
Males59%
African American59%
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state44%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students36%
Females32%
Males39%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students54%
Females56%
Males53%
African American33%
Asian57%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to state31%

Science

All Students81%
Females82%
Males80%
African American72%
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate81%
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 44%
White 26%
Black 15%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 5%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Parks Avenue
La Mesa, CA 91941
Phone: (619) 668-5730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT