Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maryland Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I like that my son's TK teacher cares. My son can be a handful and I need to stay on top of him. His teacher supports me by providing daily updates if needed if there is a behavior issue. I'm also a big fan of the before and after care program (ESS).

Maryland Avenue Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak for my own experience with Mrs. Goergens. My daughter was doing well all year.


Maryland Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My Daughter went to Kindergarten here and we had a great experience with Mrs. Goergens. She truly loves teaching and has a great program. Our Daughter really missed her at the end of the year. The school itself is apparently doing the best it can with its obviously limited underfunding. It's sad that CA schools are so neglected by the State. The teachers are what make it great.

Maryland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! My daughter's first year was as a Kindergartner last year, her teachers Mrs. Dullea and Mrs. Reisenfeld were GREAT! I am happy and glad that she gets to come back to this school, she enjoyed and learned so much and very quick! This year she's coming as a 1st Grader and we can't wait, what this good school has for her! Thanks for being Awesome Maryland Ave Elementary! Thanks to all the staff, Principal and Teachers!!

Maryland Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
I had the worst experience in these school. My son was mistreated in somany ways, specially when they decided to take control of his EIP hours without telling me. It wa so bad. I was so worry because they were hitting so many things from me, until I confronted them in a meeting. I'll I can think of, is that the State was giving them more money and that's the reason they took control without being upfront with us.


Maryland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My child is in kindergarten at Maryland and she loves it! Her teacher is amazing and she always raves about the staff. I love it because I've met so many other parents who are dedicated to their child's education and it is so nice having a sense of community amongst the parents. Highly recommend Maryland!

Maryland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE Maryland Avenue Elementary School. My kids love there teachers and the teachers show that they care for each and every student that comes through the door. The office staff is also very patient and some know each student by name. I wish more schools were like this.

Maryland Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
lousy. no different than any other school in the La Mesa Spring Valley School District. The Superintendant is doing a poor job.


Maryland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a community member
This is my school and it deserves a 10 it is such a great place if u are new to Vista and looking fo an elementry school pick Maryland

Maryland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
We are finding this school a delight! The atmosphere and the energy is positive, uplifting and very friendly. I have seen the principal and staff at every event and even bag groceries at Fresh n' Easy night. They are very accessible also. Each event put on by the PTA is very well attended!! The teachers are very dedicated. Our teacher has gone out of her way to help us. My child goes to school happy and comes home happy every day. That makes me happy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maryland Avenue Elementary School
5400 Maryland Avenue, La Mesa, CA  91941-5214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (619) 668-5744
Last modified Maryland Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top