Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Martin Academy

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $265,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2011

This school and the program that it embraces, Workshop Way, are both an amazing asset to any child. The school and its community coupled with its core beliefs and fundamentals provide each and every student with an atmosphere for not only excelling in academics but in skills for life! I highly recommend this school to any parent interested in a quality educational foundation for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

I've had my kids at St Martins for 7 years now, and I've seen huge improvement in curriculum and school leadership over the past 3 years. As a parent, being involved in the school is very important. St Martins provides many areas of parental involvement. Those parents complaining about lax academic standards at St Martins need to involve themselves more to see what really is going on, which is excellent teaching and students graduating with top testing marks- to get into high schools of their choice with honors! I love this school as do my children (7th grade and 2nd grade) I would highly recommend it for those interested in attentive teachers and a small but involved school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I have had two daughters go through St Martins from preschool on. I feel that this school has not only been a comfortable, positive learning environment for my children, it has empowered them to take ownership of their responsibilities and given them self motivation. I have never had to tell my children to do their homework or ride them about what they need to do. Their projects are done by themselves and not by show off, over achiever parents who have something to prove and they are proud of what they accomplish! The staff is fantastic, the principal is easily accessible and the community is first class. It has been our privelege to be a part of the SMA community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

The Workshop Way curriculum at St. Martin Academy does not properly prepare children for the realistic demands of high school and further college. It is outdated and in desperate need of revision. I chose a catholic school for strict, regimented curriculum. There is not enough homework, parents aren't kept informed as to students progress and children do not simply learn the study skills the need. Workshop Way is outdated, time to come into the present and help children prepare fort their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

St. Martin's is a great school for academics and character building. My daughter has been attending since Kindergarten and it's been a terrific learning environment. If you are thinking of a Catholic education for your child, with strong academic curriculum but are intimidated by the cost of a private education, consider this: SMA includes fine arts and computer lab in their curriculum; also, if you need Extended School Services (ESS) through the school (e.g. LMSVD), you will be paying $70/wk flat fee no matter how many hours you use it (they dismiss at 1:30 on Tuesdays so lots of people need ESS). If you bring your lunch on several work days per month and cut down on your Starbucks visits while at the office, you've painlessly covered the difference between the ESS fee of $280/mo. and the monthly SMA tuition fee (depending on the tuition plan you sign up for).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Our children have attended St. Martin of Tours Academy since kindergarten and we all LOVE it! The Workshop Way is such a powerful learning program emphasizing both academics and life skills. Homework isn't introduced until children are developmentally ready to handle it on their own. And it works - my third grader finished her Native American report on her own, complete and on time. The principal is awesome, the staff and teachers are outstanding. Our family highly recommends this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

My daughter is currently attending St. Academy and we LOVE it! It's a great small school environment. In regards to the previous reviews, I completely disagree! I think the teachers and staff are awesome and have tons of enthusiasm! As far as the Workshop Way program is concerned, it's a wonderful program if it's followed correctly. If your child is not doing his/her homework and you don't keep a close watch on their progress via parent-teacher conferences they could fall behind...but this is also true in all schools! If you want your child to have the opportunity to have personal attention, learn solid values, have religious studies, and learn to love learning this is the right school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

I agree. Both my stepchildren spent most of their elementary years at St. Martin's (one K-8 and one K-6), and were at a significant disadvantage when they transferred to public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7708 El Cajon Boulevard
La Mesa, CA 91942
Phone: (619) 466-3241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT